Beer Saturday : Surly Fest

in BEER3 years ago

PXL_20211002_212651447.jpg

It's Oktoberfest weekend here in Wisconsin, so I ventured across the river, yet again, to snag myself some Surly Fest. It's the perfect #beersaturday beer for Oktoberfest weekend here in Wisconsin.

PXL_20211002_212612703.MP.jpg

I managed to go out for the tapping of the Golden Keg yesterday with frends from my old job, and I have to admit, it wasn't the same. The La Crosse area Oktoberfest is now primarily run by Sam Adams, and the feel was very corporate. It used to be a big deal, the tapping, as it was sponsored by the local brewery I worked for. Like everything else, the times have changed...

PXL_20211002_212811702.jpg

So for today, we decided to do our own fest in the backyard. It began with the Surly Fest.

PXL_20211002_212827643.jpg

I even cracked out my festbier mugs for this one; Surly Fest is a solid beer. It comes in at 6% ABV with low hops and a solid lager yeast taste. I do appreciate a marzen type beer done right. I've had a soft spot in my hear for Fest beers; some are downright awful, but when you find a good one, they are worth it.

PXL_20211002_212927821.jpg

You are probably wondering what else we did for our own Oktoberfest party? Well, I hinted at it last month, but we decided to grill up some bratwursts from our local meat CSA. You can't go wrong with local brats, you know?

PXL_20211002_214942495.jpg


PXL_20211002_223106473.jpg

Yum...beer and bratwursts, round two this fall. I don't know if I mentioned this before, but I think bratwursts and kraut are my most favorite meal of all time.

PXL_20211002_224052527.jpg

So I could be cliche and say "Prost!" It's always a good last weekend of September here when the fest kicks in. Who knows, maybe next year you'll happen to be here too; if so, let me know and I will meet up and buy a few beers for you!

PXL_20211002_214102461.jpg

Happy Oktoberfest to all! Hoping everyone had a wonderful Saturday too~!

Sort:  

Sauerkraut yes! Perfect on a wurst!

I was looking on the head of that beer and wondering why someone would do that to a beer. Then, I noticed how damn big the glass is and how I had to pour one this eve to fit my big mug.

IMG_2325.jpg

beerologistapproved.png

I like it! I had a little patience, let the head settle, then cracked another one to fill the glass up. I can't be running around the backyard with a 2/3 rds full fest mug, you know?

Yes - create your own festival it will be way more fun

The brats were much better than the fest ground's too!

Looks delicious. !LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@sagesigma, you've been given LUV from @presidentx.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

Thanks, an easy enough Saturday afternoon!

Prost to you too my friend!

This beer seems to me to be very good, is it more hoppy or more malty?

Definitely more malty on this one - are you a festbier fan too?

Yes I love beer I will even try to make it for my personal consumption.

I even planted hops to reduce production costs

nice! I used to homebrew years ago, but ended up selling most of my equipment when we moved. Now i just go to the store, haha

Yes I also often go to the store. I like amber beers and also suptile hops

Thanks, they (more than one, lol) went down pretty good!

Go on the Oktoberfest!!

Those sausages look the job and sweet looking beers too...

Pity the tapping has gone all corporate eh...

Reading this makes me hungry and thirsty.
!BEER

 3 years ago  

Hey @sagesigma, here is a little bit of BEER from @ynwa.andree for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.