#BeerSaturday Humble Forager Elevated Perspective

in BEER4 years ago

IMG_20200404_200714.jpg

Tonight's pick is a new one for me. Hailing from Madison, Wisconsin is a new double IPA I managed to get as a carry out from a nearby restaurant this evening. The brewery is called Humble Forager, and is an extension of the Forager Brewing Company located in Rochester, Minnesota. My guess is that the Madison brewery is a copacker that is helping out smaller breweries who can't afford economies of scale.

IMG_20200404_200756.jpg

The hop bill on this one includes Galaxy, Vic Secret, and Sultana hops. Per the description on the can, no hops were added in the brew kettle (curious...), but were instead added during the whirlpool.

IMG_20200404_200728.jpg

This one is pretty good...at a solid 8 % ABV, there isn't much booze taste in the feel of the beer. This one almost has a wine/subtle sour taste going on, which I would guess would be these hops (I'm not familiar with either Sultana or Vic Secret, to be honest).

IMG_20200404_200748.jpg

Untappd has a rating of 4.08 / 5.00...I concur, and gave it a 4.0. Not a bad beer, although I feel like I could get some heartburn after a few of these. Still, not a bad quarantine beer for a Saturday night. We grilled a few grass fed ribeyes on the charcoal tonight, so this beer is the perfect after dinner drink.

Hoping everyone out there is safe and having a good weekend. Thanks for reading as always.

Sort:  

Vic Secret is an Australian hop, similar to galaxy, but a bit more subtle. Can't say I've ever heard of Sultana Hops, and unless they taste like Sultanas then it seems an odd name for a hop.

That makes sense...I did think they imparted some wine - fruitiness in the taste of the beer. Fun stuff, finding new world hops all the way over here in a flyover state -