#BeerSaturday Surly Furious

in BEER4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200321_201533.jpg

Tonight's entry is a new can / package design for a Minneapolis/St. Paul favorite: Surly Brewing Company's staple Furious IPA. I've drank this beer quite a bit in the past when it was packed only in 16 oz industry standard cans, but I found this new 12 oz industry standard today while grabbing supplies for next week.

Surly's Furious, officially, is an American IPA that comes in at a solid 6.7% abv, and 100 IBUs.

IMG_20200321_201541.jpg

Untappd currently has it rated at 3.89 out of 5. That seems odd to me; I feel like it used to be over 4.00 solidly.

IMG_20200321_201600.jpg

This one is a malty one. Most certainly a refreshing break from those NE style IPAs. The description indicates its very citrus-like in taste and aroma, but I pick up more of pine taste. Not a gin-like pine, but most certainly a nice piney sensibility on the palate. The alcohol is there too, but the malt covers up any booziness in the beer's taste. There is a nice dry, hop finish in each drink too. Dangerous, because these can go down in a hurry!

IMG_20200321_201708.jpg

I feel like the 16 oz cans had a mildly better taste, but I might be imagining things with the repackage. Still, this one is a solid Midwestern USA IPA, and I'd give it a 4.00 yet, despite my sense the recipe has changed.

If you have tried this one before, let me know your thoughts. I hope everyone out there is safe tonight, and settled in for the next few weeks. Happy Beer Saturday, everyone!

Sort:  

Looks like a good brew - going by the colour it has a good malt bill in there.

very potent malt bill on this one - delicious caramel, I think

Looks delicious! I love this type and Portland sour brews.

Glad to see you on Hive. Join me in creating an enduring community here.

For sure - loving this opportunity on hive. I love those Portland sours too...it's been a while since I visited, but I loved going to Cascade. I think there was another I liked that was in the basement of an office complex, but that was maybe 10 years ago