#Beersaturday, Hanging around the house with a Lagunitas IPA sampler pack.

in BEER2 years ago

image.png
This #beersaturday, the wife and I had to clean up the backyard from some strong winds that blew everything around. My wife went to work early as she usually does and arrived back home shortly after lunch. She told me that she was bringing me home something I will like. What she brought home was a 12 pack sampler of the IPA's from Lagunitas Brewery, which is not to far from our house. The 12 pack had three of each IPA that Lagunitas regularly brews which are the "Hazy Wonder", "Daytime", "Little Sumpin", and their most popular simply called "IPA".

Lagunitas Brewery started as a little home brewery in Forest Knolls and moved to Petaluma, California where it has become famous for it's original IPA which was born in the 1990's. Lagunitas Brewery has really grown since it's early years and now has breweries at Petaluma in California, Seattle in Washington, and Chicago in Illinois. Lagunitas now distributes throughout the United States.

I put the 12 pack into the fridge in the bar since I had already opened my first beer of the day which was a Belhaven Black Nitro Stout. In my bar fridge their is always Belhaven Black and Guinness to be found, two of my favorites. The Belhaven Black is a great tasting stout that is similar to Guinness except you can taste the grains more in the Belhaven Black. Both being Nitro beers either of them are hard to beat and I don't think I can say one is better then the other. The Belhaven Black brewery is near Dunbar, Scotland, so I am glad to see local liquor stores near me carry it.

image.png

My wife and I had raked, swept, mowed the lawn, and cleaned everything we needed to do for the day. Our yard is on a hillside with a creek at the bottom. The bar is at the top near the house and the yard is terraced down the hillside, with the goats and sheep enjoying the lowest parts of the yard. So one of the other weekend chores is checking to see that all fences are up and our goats and sheep have not got into any of our fruit tree areas. I also have to check the outer fences since we have coyotes, mountain lions, foxes, racoons, deer, turkey, and skunks that frequent the creek.

On my walk around the lower portions of our yard I drank the Lagunitas Hazy Wonder. The Hazy Wonder is 6% beer and being a Hazy version of an IPA is doesn't disappoint with the fruit flavors from the selection of hops. The hops used in this Hazy are Sabro, Citra, Comet, & Cashmere hops which give a citrus tropical flavor.

image.png

As I was nearing the end of my fence check I was also quickly getting to the bottom of my Hazy Wonder. As usual my goats and sheep followed me around the yard. Most of the goats and sheep follow but keep a little distance, except for my smallest goat Oliver. Oliver is a little pygmy goat that I taught to shake hands like a dog would. Oliver will jump up onto a retaining wall or structure I built for them and start shaking, like a dog when he wants a treat. In this case Oliver wants some beer, which he has tried before, so he begged and begged until I finished it. Once I have finished I will let Oliver lick the can or bottle and he gets a little of what is left. I have a few pictures of Oliver getting a the last few drops of beer.

image.png

image.png

image.png
Next time I will post of video of him shaking for a beer.

Back to the bar for the next beer which was Lagunitas first IPA and the beer that really made Lagunitas what it is today, simply called IPA. IPA is 6.2% beer and is brewed with Cascade, Centennial, Chinook and Simcoe hops. This is just a great example of what an IPA should be. This beer has plenty of hop flavor over the caramel flavor of the barley.

image.png

The next beer I tried was the Little Sumpin Sumpin Ale. This beer comes in at 7.5% and is brewed with 50% wheat and 50% barley for it's mash bill which does give it a smoother flavor. The hops used in this beer are Willamette, Santiam, Amarillo, Cascade, Centennial, Chinook, and Columbus hops. This beer is smooth and has many fruit and pine flavors.

image.png

Alright after four beers going onto the fifth one I may have been getting a little fuzzy like the picture I took of my fifth beer between my plum trees. The fifth beer was the Daytime IPA and it comes in at at only 4%. The Daytime beer is a lighter beer, which is lighter on hops and alcohol making it a very easy drinking beer. The hops used in it are Centennial and Citra hops.

image.png
This picture looked much clearer when I took it. Oh well were all still #aliveandthriving.

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekends.

!BEER
#alive

Sort:  

Lol! Oliver surely wanted to drink more! would want to try the beer with the fruit flavor though!

Yes he did, he loves it and when there is nothing left in the can he tries to grab the can out of my hands.

Wow lovely story. I find your goats amusing esp Oliver. The beers look yummy. We get a few imported beers here and there at the local supermarket. There are also special locally brewed ones that we could order directly from brewers. Lovely place you have there too. Happy midweek and thank you for sharing your story.


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #AliveAndThriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving.
!hivebits

@scoutroc! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (1/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <><

What's the HBITgame? | Card 2 of 4

Awesome looks like a pretty perfect weekend have the best day
@scoutroc !ALIVE 😎

@scoutroc! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @benthomaswwd. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations @scoutroc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 21