#Beersaturday in Nashville along with a few distilleries

in BEER2 years ago

So for this #Beersaturday I went to Nashville, Tennessee with my wife and two close friends. We had been planning this trip for almost a year and were really looking forward to it. I am still currently suffering from long COVID and cancelling the trip meant losing some money. So I told my wife I would just have to take it slow.

IMG_6329.jpg
This photo is of Broadway and all the Honky Tonks.

About a year ago I went to Nashville, Tennessee for work with one of my coworkers for the first time. We had so much fun, I told my wife we needed to go.

We arrived in Nashville, Tennessee on Friday afternoon. Our plan was to go to the Ole Smokey Moonshine distillery the first night because like everywhere else in Nashville there is live music. Ole Smokey distillery is located at 6th and Peabody in Nashville. The location houses the small distillery, Yee Haw brewery, taco shop and a hot dog stand. There is an outdoor area that has cornhole along with other games to play.

IMG_6349.JPG
This is a photo of the still at Ole Smokey in Nashville.

image.png
image.png
These two pictures of Ole Smokey are from their website and I put them up since you have probably seen their jars in stores.

The hot dog stand is called Daddy’s Dog and my last visit there when I was there for work, my coworker and I ate here. They serve very large hot dogs and one was plenty to fill me up. The hot dog I had was the Music City dog which has bacon, cheddar cheese, onions, and barbeque sauce.

hot dog.png

image.png
These last two photos are from Daddy’s Dog website.

This time around we decided to eat at the taco shop which is called White Duck taco shop. I had the duck tacos which were delicious. My wife had the Bangkok shrimp and steak / cheese. I tasted hers as well and were equally delicious.

duck taco.png
This photo is from White Duck Taco’s website.

Now to the main reason we were at 6th and Peaboy, Ole Smokey Distillery. They were offering 6 Moonshine samples and a Yeehaw beer for $10. The 6 samples the samples they choose for that day. The beer you are able to pick from and I choose Yee Haw IPA.

yeehaw.png
Photo from Yee Haw Brewing website.

The Yee Haw IPA is brewed by Yee Haw brewing and comes in at 6.7%. IPA beers that are not from the west coast tend to be much less hoppy then their west coast counterparts. Most IPA beers from the eastern side of the United States are similar to a pale ale with a slightly stronger hop smell. The Yee Haw IPA is slightly more bitter then most other IPAs I have had from this area but still not as strong as west coast IPAs. This beer is a beer that you can drink all day long.

at the bar ole smokey.JPEG
This is us with the tasters the little white cup in my hand is one of the moonshine tasters.

I will now talk about the Moonshine tasters. We started with the Ole Smokey Blue flame which is a traditional moonshine flavor and it has some bite. The next sample was Apple Pie, again traditional Moonshine with apple and cinnamon flavors added, these go down smooth. The next sample was the margarita and it had a good traditional margarita taste. Then we get to the Moonshine pickles. These sound a little strange at first but they take dill pickles and soak them in Moonshine which lets the pickles soak up the alcohol. These pickles taste great and make a great pickle back shot. For those of you who have never tried a pickle back shot it is usually dill pickle juice and whiskey. They sound strange but they are very tasty. The second to last taster was Peanut Butter Whiskey. I have had Peanut Butter Whiskeys in the past and they are good but after tasting Ole Smokey’s Peanut Butter Whiskey the others had a fake flavoring taste. Ole Smokey uses real Peanut Butter in the Whiskey. The last taster was the Key Lime Pie and was like drinking a desert. My wife not being a Moonshine fan loved the tastings at Ole Smokey.

ole smokey.JPEG

ole smokey 2.JPEG
These two photos are inside Ole Smokey and Yee Haw brewing.

We spent all of #Beersaturday on Broadway in all the Honky Tonks listening to the live music. If you love country music as much as I do then the Honky Tonks of Nashville are a must. The Honky Tonks are amazing there are four or five blocks of them, with each of them being 3, 4, or 5 stories high. Each level of each Honky Tonk has a different band playing and if you are lucky some of the big Country Music stars will show up and play with whatever band is playing. I had always heard Nashville was amazing for it’s Honky Tonks but until you see it for yourself you can never understand the energy and excitement that is occurring inside. Just a walk down the sidewalk will have you hearing twenty or thirty different bands all playing and unlike most places that play music the bands play all day and night here. This place is #alive!

IMG_7128.jpg

band.PNG
These two photos are inside Ole Red which is Country Music star Blaek Shelton's Honky Tonk.

So my wife, friends, and I started at the Honky Tonks about 2 in the afternoon and didn’t head back to the room until about 2 in the morning. Not very good for someone suffering long Covid and I paid for it the next day, but I am still #aliveandthriving. We walked from Honky Tonk to Honky Tonk listening to the different bands and I was enjoying two different IPAs from Tennessee. One of the IPAs I was enjoying was Yazoo Brewing Hop Perfect IPA and the other was Tennessee Brew Works Hippies and Cowboys.

The Yazoo Brewing Hop Perfect IPA was my go to beer in Nashville. Almost everywhere sold it and it comes in at 6.2%. This IPA is closer to the west coast IPAs that I am use to. This IPA has a strong hop smell and taste, but yet is easy to drink all day long.

yazoo.png
This photos is from Yazoo Brewing’s website.

Every once in a while I would have a Tennessee Brew Works Hippies and Cowboys IPA. This IPA is not as strong on the Hop smell and flavor as the Hop Perfect IPA. The Hippies and Cowboys IPA comes in at 6% and can also be drunk all day long. It is a very easy drinking IPA closer to a Pale Ale. Both the Hippies and Cowboys IPA and Hop Perfect IPA are great examples of Tennessee’s IPA.

hippies and cowboys.png
This photo is from Tennessee Brew Works’ website.

The long weekend was amazing and we saw so many good bands. We also visited President Andrew Jackson’s Home and it is great to see that it has been kept as it was when he was alive. We also went to the Jack Daniel’s Distillery tour in Lynchburg. We finished off our weekend at Cooter’s Museum before getting on the plane. I just wanted to talk a little about Jack Daniels and Cooter’s to finish this post.

Jack Daniel’s distillery is the only place that Jack Daniel’s whiskey is made. The reason it is only made in Lynchburg, Tennessee is that all the water used in the whiskeys comes from a small spring on the property. So yes, Jack Daniels is probably the most distributed whiskey in the world and every drop comes from that small spring. The spring is located in a limestone cave and the water flows down a small creek and into the distillery. Below are a few photos of that spring.

IMG_4024.JPEG
This is the entrance to the cave.

IMG_4021.JPEG
This is inside the cave and the water used in all the whiskey sold all over the world.

IMG_4022.JPEG
This is the creek that runs from the cave to the distillery.

The Jack Daniel’s tour was great and I highly recommend it. The grounds the distillery is on is beautiful and has been used since the 1800’s when Jack Daniel’s was making and selling his product himself.

IMG_7144.JPG
This photo is a tank in the area where they create the charcoal that mellows the whiskey.

IMG_7145.JPG
This is the only pictures I could get of the stills which are located inside the tallest narrow spot in the building. They do not allow you to photo inside due to the alcohol vapors present. Next to the building behind the fire hydrant and bush is a pond that collects the water from the cave spring.

We ended our trip with a trip to Cooter’s Museum. If you don’t know who Cooter is, he was the mechanic in the TV show The Dukes of Hazzard. The Dukes of Hazzard was my favorite TV show growing up and I still watch it when I find an episode or play my collection of them. Many of my friends have nicknamed me Cooter, since I was an automotive mechanic for over 19 years. I raced cars and built cars much as Cooter did on the show. So it was special when my wife found this place directly across the street from The Grand Ole Opry. Inside they had all the cars from the show along with every collectible that was sold. Walking through the museum took my back to my childhood and it was awesome.

IMG_4074.JPEG
IMG_7150.JPG

IMG_4069 (1).JPEG

Nashville is an amazing city and I hope you get a chance to visit.

Thank you for reading this and hope everyone stays healthy.
#alive
#aliveandthriving
!PGM
!BEER
!PIZZA
!LOLZ

Sort:  

Wow what an adventure! Thanks for sharing the experience with us :) not only did the beer festival sound like lots of fun, but the distillery and museum visits were pretty interesting.
An advance happy weekend!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #AliveAndThriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving.
!hivebits

Thank you it was very interesting and just a blast

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

@scoutroc! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (1/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

wow! great photos. looks like you had a great time. Those hotdogs remind me of the german bratwurst!
Thanks for sharing!