Beer Saturday: I take it black

in BEER3 years ago

The other day I had another beer that my daughter got for me from Southsea Brewing. This is something different in being a 'black IPA'. IPA stands for India Pale Ale and this is anything but pale.

Can

I had it with my fish and chips on Friday. That also needs some bread and butter on the side. You can see the beer had a good head on it, so I could not pour it all in to start with. Those are some of my orchids in the background.

Dinner

To me it had an 'earthy' taste, but they describe it as 'roasted' and I guess that is in there too. It is not an unpleasant taste for me, but definitely not what you usually get from an IPA. It is one of those beers that I can happily drink one of, but that would be about it. It might be too much for some people.

You may notice that this is not a beer to keep for too long as the best before date is only next month. It is fairly strong. Given how dark it is I would say it is more than 'hazy'.

Can rear

So far from this selection I have had a real mix of tastes. I have a couple more to try that I will report on in due course.

This post is for the #BeerSaturday challenge by my friend @detlev.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Oh Yeah.. They can be a bit weird to say the least. Those dark malts really are a bit funny when mixed with the floral citrus notes of the traditional IPA. I have had a few .. some okay and others blah! So I agree.. One and done for me too. 😁

I see your happy Orchids back there (Behind the fish and chips???) as @bozz pointed out. 😍

Cheers! I am always up for trying different beers. I've been missing beer festivals recently.

The orchids are fine. My mum was admiring them and she has been cultivating them for a while.

!BEER

 3 years ago  

Hey @bdmillergallery, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This beer looks really good. My favorite beer is Franziskaner, but I don't know if it's known in your area

I don't mind a wheat beer now and then. I am sure I must have had that one some time. You can get it in supermarkets here.

Hmm, I have never seen a dark IPA like that before. Sounds interesting. I might have to keep my eyes out for one! @bdmillergallery would be proud of your orchids!

There are all sorts of variations out there. I had a white mild at a beer festival that was odd, but nice.

I love a good black IPA - need to see more of them.

I don't know maybe I'm old school but once my beer starts to tell me about the gluten in it im out... Jk 😄

You give great beer reviews dude. I do enjoy them. Roasted is usually earthy in my experience unless aged in special oak barrels, then I get that roasted taste. The french fries looks amazing too!😄

untitled.gif

Gluten may be an issue for some people. I don't have allergies or other food issues, so I guess I'm lucky.

!BEER

untitled.gif

 3 years ago  

Hey @dynamichivers, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

$WINE


Hi @theguruasia, You Already Utilized Maximum Calls Of The Day.
Please Try Again In 24 Hrs.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINE Token Discord Channel
WINE Current Market Price : 0.270


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.