If you like piña coladas and #beersaturday

in BEER4 years ago

"If you like piña coladas
And hashtag beer Saturday
If you're not into Facebook
If you have half a brain
If you like earning from your beer posts
On the greatest blockchain
Hive is the place that you’ve looked for
Write on it, and escape"

Screen Shot 20200627 at 17.53.23.png

I completely accept that I may be flagged to oblivion for putting this tune in your head. It’s been stuck in mine ever since I picked up a can of beer in my fridge, read the description and saw it was piña colada inspired. However, I defy anyone to not hear or read the word "piña colada" and not automatically think of that song!

Potentially useful fact for people like me who enjoy a pub quiz is that the name of the song is not “piña colada“ it is in fact “escape” and the lyrics outside the well-known chorus which I’ve amended above detail a man who wakes up one night determined to leave his girlfriend for a fellow lover of coconut-based cocktails that he finds in the personal ads section. For those of you generation z types out there, personal ads are how horny people hooked up with similarly horny people before the advent of tinder, grindr or whatever else you crazy kids are into!

I’ve got to give it to the guy in the song, he is clearly more comfortable with his sexuality than I am! I have never drunk a piña colada let alone had the balls to walk up and order one in a bar. I can imagine that if I tried to do so in some of the local pubs I frequent it would be like one of those scenes in a movie where an outsider goes up to a bar, says something he really ought not to have and the music comes to a sudden halt and the whole place falls silent in shock at the taboo that’s been broken. I’ll just stick to pints with cocktail umbrellas in them thanks.

image0 8.jpg

As you can see from the picture above, I’ve tried to get as involved in the whole cocktail theme as possible by jazzing up my beer!

As for the beer itself, the first thing that hits your taste buds is the fruity flavours. There is definitely a hint of coconut but the flavour comes through later and produces a smooth finish. My immediate thought on reading the can was that it would be sickly sweet but that is certainly not the case and the coconut flavours blend nicely with the hops to make this a very drinkable beer. rating 8/10

It's brewed by a Belgian company called Earth Station. I have to say when I think of piña coladas Belgium probably isn't one of the first countries that springs to mind. I think of white sand beaches, swim-up bars and beautiful women in bikinis (I don't need piña colada to think of them) and while we might be short on those here in Old Blighty (yes that is a photoshopped thumbnail) we have been in the midst of our own mini-heatwave with temperatures above 30 degrees for most of the week leading to my boys spending most of their time in the paddling pool!

image0 9.jpg

My advice order yourself some Earth Station, fill the paddling pool and wack on some Rupert Holmes - you know you want to!

Sort:  

Hi @talesfrmthecrypt,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

After 559 upvotes and 1 comment, I came in, saw pics, read the blog, clicked the video thumbnail, went to the fridge, brought a beer can and voila, a beer Saturday 😇

Great. Where's the post about? Show me the !BEER

I thought you might be drowning your sorrows after United's late winner

I should start writing these Saturday beer posts for sure. Can we please not think about Farke and the company? Can we please go back to times when we were scoring goals and pumped about getting back to the top flight? We need a miracle.

 4 years ago  

Hey @rmsadkri, here is a little bit of BEER from @talesfrmthecrypt for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

As such gimmicky beers from the home of classic beer style - Belgium sacrilegious?

Haha, maybe! It's certainly different. I think I've probably overstated the gimmickyness of it though. Unless you actually read the back of the can you wouldn't know it's got a pina colada kick. The coconut flavour is subtle and more like coconut milk which gives it a smooth finish.

Thanks for stopping by !BEER

 4 years ago  

Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @talesfrmthecrypt for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.