It's all gone organic with #BeerSaturday

in BEER4 years ago

There's very much an organic theme to my weekend both in regards the beer that I'm drinking and the food that we are taking from the garden.

Screen Shot 20200620 at 18.16.58.png

Let's start with the beer - a moto I always try to live by! It's a Danish organic pilsner and it's really very quaffable with an extremely light and refreshing taste. This is the perfect beer to enjoy in large quantities on a warm summers evening (some might argue that any beer is worth enjoying in large quantities on a summers evening) and I can definitely see myself buying more of it. Rating 9/10

The Brewery has a great back story of 2 friends who started out home brewing while still in high-school and have now gone on to found their own micro-brewery producing dozens of high-quality beverages. The grassroots origin of the brewery is summed up by this exert from their website

Back in 2005 the founders of To Øl, Tore Gynther and Tobias Emil Jensen, were young guns studying at a direct democracy based high school in Nørrebro, Copenhagen – Det Fri Gymnasium. They pirated the school kitchen facilities during closing hours and began turning it into a brewing lab.

There you have it, kids, if you ever do get to go back to school then the licensing laws of your particular country need not stand in your way of enjoying good beer!

Beer isn't the only organic produce that we enjoy in my house, the kids and I love to maintain a few borders of fresh fruit and veg. As most of my day is spent behind a computer screen looking at complex immigration laws and regulations, the chance to do a bit of light gardening during the long summer evenings we get here in the UK is most welcome and definitely helps me unwind. This year we've got...

Screen Shot 20200620 at 18.19.45.png

Broad Beans and Peas. In fact, we've just enjoyed a plate of the peas as part of our dinner. Straight from plant to plate that is real organic produce and it tastes great!

Screen Shot 20200620 at 18.25.50.png

Spring onions and in the background rosemary and sage bushes. Then on the right, the courgettes are starting to flower along with tomatoes and chillies. With the current good weather all 3 should fruit nicely this year

Screen Shot 20200620 at 18.30.03.png

Then we've got loganberries which for those of you who don't know are a cross between raspberries and blackberries. My youngest son loves to eat them straight off the plant but the elder one wasn't too keen until I started putting them in smoothies which have since become a staple of his diet. On the right are blackcurrants which I'll be making into jam over the next couple of weeks.

So a weekend of excellent fresh organic beer and wonderful homegrown organic produce. What more could you want?

Sort:  

You don't want anything else to be honest 😀
I used to enjoy long and pleasant english summer. I still remember the fresh fish off the lake and home made chips that we used to enjoy near the east coast of Great Yarmouth.

Sounds good how long were you in the UK?

Enjoyed three english summer during my university days in Norwich.

Ah you were a student. The University of East Anglia I guess, nice. You remember the winters as well then 😰

Yeah. I was a student at UEA many years ago. The winter in Norwich is nothing compared to where i am now. I would have love that less than a cm of snow tbh.

!BEER

What do i do with the beer? I don't even know how to collect this 😂

 4 years ago  

Hey @rmsadkri, here is a little bit of BEER from @talesfrmthecrypt for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.