Tasting of Belgian beers [ENG/ESP]

in BEERlast year (edited)

Tasting of Belgian beers.

Cata de cervezas belgas

Yesterday I attended a Belgian beer tasting. The tasting took place in the bar where I go on weekends, Bar Atrio in Zaragoza (Spain). This bar is characterised by its music, usually heavy metal and rock, both national and international. People usually consume pitchers of beer and calimocho, for those who don't know what calimocho is, it's a mixture of red wine and cola.

En el día de ayer estuve en una cata de cervezas belgas. La cata se realizó en el bar donde frecuento los fines de semana el Bar Atrio situado en Zaragoza(España). Este bar se caracteriza por su música, normalmente heavy metal y rock tanto nacional como internacional. La gente consume de normal jarras de cervezas y calimocho, quien no sepa que es el calimocho es una mezcla de vino tinto y refresco de cola.


(Image courtesy of Bar Atrio. Imagen cedida por Bar Atrio.)

I only found out about this tasting this week, so I ran to the owner of the bar to ask him to sign me up, and I had a holiday at work the next day so I could drink at my leisure.

De esta cata me enteré esta misma semana, así que corrí a decirle al dueño del bar para que me apuntase, además me había cogido fiesta en el trabajo al día siguiente para poder así beber con tranquilidad.


Let's get started! The first beer is the Super 8 Flandrien, it is a blonde beer of 6.4 degrees of alcohol, it is very smooth and easy to drink despite its alcohol content. I would drink this beer as if it were a regular beer but with more quality and alcohol to give a premium touch to your beer hours.

Comencemos! La primera cerveza es la Super 8 Flandrien, es una cerveza rubia de 6´4 grados de alcohol, es muy suave y entra fácil a pesar de su graduación. Esta cerveza la tomaría como si fuera una cerveza cualquiera pero con mas calidad y alcohol, así darle un toque premium a tus horas de cerveceo.

And let's go for the second one! The Tripel Karmeliet is a golden bronze colour beer and a bit opaque in the light, it has 8.4 degrees of alcohol, in the following beers we won't go below 8 degrees either. I loved the taste of this beer, it reminded me a bit of wheat beers but without being one of them, although it had a lot of alcohol it tasted good and was easy to drink.

Y vamos a por la segunda! La Tripel Karmeliet, es una cerveza de color bronce dorada y algo opaca a la luz, tiene 8´4 grados bastante graduación, en las siguientes ya tampoco bajaremos de los 8 grados. El sabor de esta cerveza me encantó me recordaba un poco a las cervezas de trigo pero sin ser una de ellas, aunque tuviera mucho alcohol tenia buen sabor y era fácil de beber.

And that's two! Now is when we took a short break, people went out for a smoke, others stayed and talked about beers. I'm not a beer connoisseur and I don't know any technicalities when it comes to explaining beers, so I'll tell you about it like a normal beer drinker.

Y ya llevamos dos! ahora es cuando hicimos un pequeño descanso, la gente sale a fumar, otros nos quedamos hablando sobre cervezas. Yo no soy un entendido en cervezas ni tampoco se de tecnicismos a la hora de explicar las cervezas, así que os las contare como una persona cualquiera que bebe cerveza.

Let's go for the third! / Vamos a por la tercera!

The third one is called Charles Quint, an authentic red beer, a touch sweet with fruity aromas, it has 8.5 degrees of alcohol, another great beer with a lot of alcohol. It's quite good and I'm not a big fan of red beers, but I would order this one.

La tercera se llama Charles Quint, una autentica cerveza roja, toque dulce con aromas afrutados, tiene 8´5 grados de alcohol, otra gran cerveza con mucho alcohol. Esta bastante buena y eso que no soy gran fan de las cervezas rojas, pero esta si que me la pediría.

And we've already had three beers, the mixture of different beers begins to affect the members of this tasting, the volume of the voice increases and the laughter can be heard from every corner. The aim of this tasting is the same as always, to find out how beer is brewed, its main ingredients, an explanation of each of them and above all to have a good time.

Y ya llevamos tres cervezas!, la mezcla de diferentes cervezas empieza a afectar a los integrantes de esta cata, el volumen de la voz aumenta y las risas se oyen desde cualquier rincón. El objetivo de esta cata es el de siempre, conocer como se elabora la cerveza, sus principales ingredientes, explicación de cada una de ellas y sobre todo pasárselo bien.

We only have the last one left, the Gouden Carolus Classic. A very dark amber colour, with a powerful and fruity flavour, Strong Ale style. This beer made me doubt if it was the one I liked the most of the four because it was a great beer, I fell in love with it, it also had 8.5 degrees of alcohol. We were all in high spirits by the time we got to the fourth beer, some of us couldn't finish it as it affected them a lot.

Solo nos queda la ultima, la Gouden Carolus Classic. De color ámbar muy oscuro, con sabor potente y afrutado, estilo Strong Ale. Esta cerveza me hizo dudar si era la que mas me gustó de las cuatro porque era una gran cerveza, me enamoró, también tenia 8´5 grados de alcohol. Todos ya estábamos super animados al llegar a la cuarta cerveza, alguno no se la pudo acabar ya que les afectó bastante.

The first two made me hesitate but I could only choose one, the Tripel Karmeliet, but the fourth beer I tasted could also have taken that prize. They are amazing beers.

Finalizando la cata os resumiré cuales han sido mis favoritas en orden, las dos primeras me hicieron dudar pero solo podía elegir una la Tripel Karmeliet, pero la cuarta cerveza en probar también podría haberse llevado ese premio. Son unas cervezas asombrosas.


Instagram


All my photos are my property and are taken from my xiaomi Poco F3 mobile phone and may be posted on one of my social networks.// Todas mis fotos son de mi propiedad y estan hechas desde mi móvil xiaomi Poco F3 y pueden que estén publicadas en alguna red social mía
[//]:# (!pinmapple 41.64125 lat -0.88795 long d3scr)
Sort:  

Never tried an evening out tasting like this with beers, looks and sounds great fun!

!BEER

It's very very fun, you should try it!

When I find beer crafters that offer I will be first in line for !BEER tasting session. 😇

I doubt I'll have an easy time sourcing any of those four beers, but I can probably try making some calimocho with cheap red wine and expensive stevia-sweetened cola.

You have to try the calimocho, it is a very popular drink in Spain, it must be because we have a wide variety of wines and at all prices. Thanks!

I've always wondered what the Belgians add to these magical concoctions they produce, "every kilometer" so to speak. 😄 And why can one get seriously drunk from only 4 beers. Now I understand - 8.5% alcohol! Is that vodka or beer? Now seriously, I love Belgian beer though, because of the huge number of breweries in the country, the thousands of types of beer, and their unique names.

The Belgians are experts and they know very well what they are doing. And if with 4 beers of these you can leave very happy. Thank you very much for commenting!😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Creo que está es una iniciativa bastante completa y que genera muy buen entorno en el tipo de clientes que capta, te felicito y deseo el mayor de los éxitos me da mucho gusto ver cómo has evolucionado en nuestra plataforma.

muchas gracias por comentar cómo siempre 😋

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @vonjerico.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Que plan más bueno amigo una cata de cervezas! 🍻🍻 De seguro la diversión está asegurada!

te lo pasas genial y encima se bebe buena cerveza

Congratulations @vonjerico! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the last day of the group stage.
Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-11 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!