MTG: Arena Quest back up to Mythic from bronze (With strategies and bounty awards)

in Magic: The Gathering2 years ago (edited)

image.png
image.png

Literally restarting from the bottom up after years of not playing to go back to mythic.

Before I did 3 of the decathlon sealed events and didn't do so well barely making 3 wins in all 3 tries and realized it was a phantom sealed so was not worth it for me. (For those doing decathlon though I'd recommend paying in coins instead of gems)
image.png

image.png

One is a competitive draft and 1 is the decathlon so simple mathematics would literally mean you just lit 500 gems on fire if you were to have paid in gems vs coins.

image.png

This was not quite the result I wanted as it nets me a 100 gem net loss, but you can't always run good. But in terms of packs you should almost never buy pack bundles but draft or play sealed provided you are moderately decent at the game. That means I just netted 6 packs for 100 gem. I even choose to raredraft at times as my decks are almost complete or if the card I am picking doesn't add enough value because after 4x copies you receive gems for those cards.(I just wish it implements a real drafting atmosphere as you play some pretty broken decks in this format that are not of your draft pod)

In a normal situation I would hate draft to ensure I don't go against certain cards or have sideboard ready cards, but that serves no purpose for Mtg Arena and these best of 1 drafts and I don't like grinding out the 2/3 ones as there is a great deal of rng in limited as it is.
If you guys would like me to go more indepth in terms of the strategy and how I came to decide how what to draft let me know and if enough interest I'll consider a more intensive post or direct my content in that direction.

You can download and play this game for free here https://magic.wizards.com/en/mtgarena (It is not a NFT or P2E game)
If you guys meet me in a game and beat me you just have to comment on 1 of my posts and I will reward you with 100 ecency points must have a screenshot to prove it is you and the win
Also if anyone would like a deck review or something feel free to post it here and we can discuss. Also in a way to help promote Magic the Gathering subsection as it doesn't seem to have a lot of users I'm going to be boosting with 100 ecency points each 3 post to qualify you just have to tag me in the post and we can review your deck/cards

Sort:  

!PGMBOOST1

Hi, your post has received PGM token, thank @zottone444 who has enhanced your post

image.png

To buy the PGM token click here

Discord group image.png

Thank's I'm not fully sure what all that means just yet, but I appreciate it <3
!PIZZA

AHAHA , you received the token number in PGM

ohhhh ic cool thank you. So pgm is given by pgm holders as a tip or is it just a command that distributes from a pool like pizza

NO NO DISTRIBUTES like a pizza pool but it is a command let's say for curators :)

okay sorry I will do a little more research on this as I am big into gaming just been busy and crazy deep dives after another.

But yes there is always time to catch up ;)

Orzhov is always a fun color combination! I need to get into drafting again. It's so much fun!

Haha yeah its my first time in who knows how long. Ah I can tell you played a lot during ravnica block if you are referring to bw as orzhov haha. I don't even know all these new guild/clan names.

Mine was always dimir from that set on, but before was Azorius cause swords of plowshares and all the counterspells were some of my favorite spells
!PIZZA

Yeah, I just can't get used to the strixhaven names. Silverquill? They're both good names, but yeah the Ravnica names are seared into my brain. XD

Yeah I played during that block a lot more. I actually had to look up uw as I forgot even azorius as I don't recall as much about dissension. Omg I was playing this 2nd draft and realized they reprinted thalia... that is insane. Although drafting nowadays feels far more luck sacky as the power creep on this game is insane.

I was surprised hey did-- the Eldritch Moon version I think? I have an Eldritch Moon FNM promo of her somewhere. She is such a great card.

I can't actually recall the set without looking on that one, but I believe that sounds about right as that was a set based on human's and werewolves (It was actually the dark ascension one). Which is really interesting as it seems to almost be the recycled story here, but I guess innistrad did have quite a bit of that. I don't believe they made that card into an fnm promo though but after seeing that one is dark ascension I think the one you are referring to is the 3 drop

I'm a bit embarrassed to say, I'm not sure which version they reprinted. I forgot since haven't played any standard since Crimson Vow came out. There's One from Dark Ascension:
Thalia.jpeg

And then they made a different version of her in Eldritch Moon:

Thalia Heretic.jpg

My memory is a bit fuzzy on the special art variant (The card doesn't have a promo watermark).
It's possible it was a box topper or some other LGS promotional item.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @infinitytcg.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
infinitytcg tipped sketchygamerguy (x1)
@infinitytcg(6/12) tipped @zottone444 (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @infinitytcg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

So cool, I probably have 4gb+ of updates queued since I haven't opened MTG:A since two rotations ago, but I always love seeing a nice Orzhov deck climbing well. That said, it looks as if black is really just a splash, perhaps you could get away with less swamps and still not be mana-screwed? Just a thought, you probably know way more about magic than me, I don't even ladder lol.

Hahaha yeah it was quite a bit of rotations for me and I think I had over that of updates. Oh I only play limited (drafts and sealed) I mean I do well in constructed and reach mythic there when I play as well, but the gaming environment is a bit stale for me. So there is a dual colored land so it is 8, 8, 1 which you can't see and the reason I do that is cause I have hero's downfall and hitting my 3 drop is really critical here. Let's say my splash was later in curve like turn 4-5 then I'd put 5-6 swamps only but since 3 is a major pivot point of the deck to drop 1 of 3 desperate farmers we want to be able to cast that on turn. In also only 1 card require double white early but that card is a turn 6+ play for optimization anyways. We only need 1 effective mana of each color to open up utility. Thanks for stopping by.

lol, I know the feeling, and ah, I didn't realize you played limited only, makes sense now. Also, the 8-8-1 split makes a lot of sense too, especially considering your curve and the importance of turn 3 for your deck, thanks for the explanation and wishing you a great holiday season! 🙏