The Curse of Being Too Selfless

in Hive PH10 months ago

The Curse of Being Too Selfless

THE CURSE of BEING TOO SELFLESS_20230908_100426_0000.png

"Your child is never going to be successful. She is too kind" I heard the exact same words came out from the mouth of an old shaman my mom hired when I was a kid to look at my palm and tell her my future. The man didn't even flinch nor shy away from my eyes saying it, like it was an ultimatum.

It never came to my mind until later in life. When I pondered the reason why mom kept asking me weird questions throughout my childhood.

"Oh, did you give it again to someone?"

"Oy, I gave you money did you let someone borrow it?"

"Is it that hard to say no?"

When she would ask me these kinds of questions, I would usually shrug my shoulders and get on with my day. I never thought something out of it. After all, my dad was to blame for my kindness. He was the one who drilled me to helping others; to think others before myself. That an open heart is a treasure desired by everyone and so it stayed with me.

Now, I kinda understand where my mom is getting. I may took kindness to the extreme. There are a lot of my co-workers and friends who borrowed money from me without ever paying. Most of the time I can't also say no to people when they ask for favors even though it would be hard for me to accomodate them.

After remembering what the old shaman told my mom when I was a kid. I kinda had nightmares about it for a while. I couldn't change myself over night. And what am I supposed to do? Be bad and evil all of a sudden? It was mind buggling honestly.

I retraced my memory lane of how many times I refused to say no just because I didn't want to hurt someone's feelings or because I badly wanted to help. But now I realized that the shaman wasn't wrong in some point, I do struggle most of the times with finance because of my selflessness.

I came to a point in life where I started learning how to say "no". No means no. No means a limit to where my kindness should be. I started to learn that saying no doesn't mean I am not kind anymore. Kindness and intelligence should come hand to hand so you wont be abused. That kindness must be separated from stupidity.

Today, I still have my nightmares about the old shaman saying I won't be successful in life. But I came to a conclusion that my fate in life won't be based on one person's words but with me, with my actions. It is me who would curve my path and only me. And that monetary isn't the only measure of success. I can be successful whatever my status in life is. We choose our own happiness, our own success.

97a5d3a219ab2178bb2edcd783b919c5.gif

a6361b0bd660bbb5b892db292ece74d3.png

A/N : I have been away for quite a while. I hope I can write the reason in another time but for now here's something my head keeps pondering these past few days. See you sa next article.

Sort:  

Being too kind, dyan ka talaga masasamantala ng ilan. Some you treat as a friend na kapag makitang you are so kind, talagang sasadyain pa nag magsamantala. Good thing I not kind, diko naranasan na mahiraman kaso wala naman ako maipapahiram, lol.

Anyways regarding dun sa shaman thing, that's right, don't let her words affect you. Ikaw ang gagawanmg kapalaran mo so follow what you desire.

Hayyyyyy nakooooo mahirap kapag sobrang naniniwala ang pamilya sa pamahiin

Totoo rin lahat nalang nakalalay sa mga pamahiin aguyy

There's no wrong for being kind however, may mga tao lang talaga na abusive which is toxic kaya dapat iwasan.

 10 months ago  

It’s not wrong to say no. Sometimes it helps that person actually. So don’t hesitate to say no when you can’t really give or handle it anymore. You’re still kind even when you say no. 😊

Congratulations @creepymeow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The countdown to HiveFest⁸ is two weeks away - Join us and get your exclusive badge!

It’s okay to be kind to others but please be kinder to yourself. Nothing wrong with prioritizing yourself before others. 😁

aww hirap talaga maging selfless huhu minsan wala pang nakaka appreciate ng mga ganyaan hayy hugs for the both of us 💛😭