"Respect"

in Hive PH2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, it's me again. It's been awhile since the last I made a post here, due to busyness. Anyway, how was your day so far? I wish you are all doing great and having a productive day. However, wherever you are and whatever you were doing right now, please do stay safe.

Today I just wanted to share some thoughts about my past experience. I just stated it as "Some", because this is just about how much I care about my own stuff, I mean personal stuff to be specific.

So before I start, allow me to tell you that I have this kind of personality, so called territorial. But not to the point that I am being selfish nor greedy. I just want some respect, specially when it comes to my things; My things, my rule's., what's mine, was mine . I really have that kind of attitude. Am I bad?

However you can still use my stuff, I mean I would willingly allow you to borrow my things but make sure I give you my permission. But don't expect that because you know me or we we're siblings etc., you had the authority to use my things in anytime that you wanted and anytime that you needed it. I'm still the owner and so the decision must still be done by me .

domo-0e-DMty4U6A-unsplash (1).jpg
Source: Unsplash.com

I'm kind of sensitive when it comes to my stuff. I don't like it when someone broke it or someone made a mess on it, because I really take good care of everything that I have specially if I bought it. Perhaps I would say I value my things a lot, weather it was given to me as a gift.

Do you somehow value your things too, like I do?

I remember when I was doing my training in Manila. I am staying in the accomodation together with the other applicants, when I meet this girl who thought she knows me a lot. We're good, because we are at the same group. I respected her, and always approach her nicely. But I don't consider her as a friend. She's still stranger to me, specially that I just meet her for the first time.

In the accomodation each actions/task has a designated time. For example; the time when you can only charge your mobile phones and other devices was only during night time after you finish all your tasks, which means before you go to bed, and if you forgot you have to wait for the right time to charge your device, or else the staff will took away your device from you. It was their way to discipline their applicant and be a responsible to follow the rules.

Because of that I always charge my mobile phone and power bank together, so the next day my phone has enough battery for the whole day or else I can't use it to do some research.

But one morning I woke up and found out that my power bank was missing, but my phone was still charging. I know for sure that before I go to bed I charge it beside my phone, and so when I didn't see it there, I immediately look for it. I asked my fellow applicants if they saw someone took my power bank but unfortunately they says they didn't as they just woke up.

I keep on looking for it for almost two hours and I'm getting impatient. I still needed to prepare myself and do my morning task before the class started and so I'm also feeling mad.

Since I am running out of time, I just took my towel and went outside the room to take a bath. While I was walking to the bathroom, I'm still thinking about my power bank. Then I came across to a group of girls and I immediately notice that one of them is holding my power bank.

I don't know the girl, but I know for sure that the power bank that she was holding was mine, and so I got confused. How she got my power bank?
So without a second thought, I politely asked the girl who gives her my power bank and why she's using it. The girl was shocked and she got confused, but she immediately pointed my group mate who's sitting next to her. She say's it was her who gives the power bank to her and she thought that it was hers and so she just use it.

I really felt disappointed to my group mate . She has no rights to take my things and so why did she took it without my permission? So I asked my group mate and I was disbelief when she told me that I am still sleeping and her friend forgot to charge her phone and so she took my power bank and allow her to use it as she needed to use her phone to contact her family.

I shook my head and took my power bank with disbelief. I don't wanna argue,but before I left I told her how disappointed I am with her attitude. I smiled bitterly while reminding her that respect still do exist and so she must consider it's existence and be responsible with her actions. If she wanna help, she must do it accordingly. Not because we're in the same group she can take my things anytime that she wanted, she's being disrespectful. If she wanna help others, let them use her own things, not the things of others, then I left.

Good thing, she runs after me and asked my forgiveness, and so I forgive her. Who am I to judge and hold a grudge on her, right? I just told her that I'm not selfish, I just want respect and if she wants me to respect her, she must also learn how to respect others as well.

After that incident, I distance myself from her. She broke my trust and I cannot trust her again. It's not that I am judging her, I just don't like people who likes to cross their line.

Closing thoughts;

Sometimes one of the reason why a misunderstanding was being formed was because sometimes we invalidate someone's privacy. We need to remember our place, and we also had to consider respecting others to avoid any conflicts, to keep our peace.

Respect start's from us, not from others.

.. thank you for reading..

Disclaimer;

All the information contained herein are solely written by truly yours. This content was made for educational purposes only.

Sort:  

I also don't like the idea that someone will use my things without permission. I mean, I would allow them to use my things though as long as they will ask permission first.

That's actually disrespectful, and I think no one would like to have that kind of attitude ☺️

I agree my friend, they're so insensitive on the people feelings if they will like the action that they did on not askinh for permission. It's like stealimg.

My dear Garreth, I value very much to my stuff, like you, and have my rules about them. I really believe to what you said...

Valuing our things are actually natural. Thank you dear 😊

I respect you, sis!