K-Drama Review: Twenty Five Twenty One

in Hive PHlast year

I just finished watching the full episodes of Twenty Five Twenty One on Netflix. Yes, a little bit behind the fad but on my defense I don't like following the trends and when something is at the peak of its popularity, I don't normally follow.


Spoiler Alert:
If you haven't watched the drama, this write up may contain bits and pieces of the scene that might spoil your excitement so read at your own risk. :)


About Twenty One Twenty Two

This K-drama tells about the life of young athlete who won't give up on her dreams after her school decided to remove her fencing team in response to the IMF crisis (financial crisis that hit the country) in Korea in 1998. She then met a young lad who is trying to stand on his feet and rebuild his family after they went into bankruptcy. They formed a bond with three other students and together they tried to figure out their way through phases of life (friendship, victory, failure, love, sorrow, and other issues about growing up.)

SDD 2521 1.png

Why watch Twenty Five Twenty One

1. The visuals

The Actors
There is no denying that the actors who played the characters of the k-drama are visually pleasing, especially the lead actor, Nam Joo-Hyuk (Baek Yi Jin). I have watched him in a couple of shows but I think he is extra charming in this one. Kim Tae Ri (Na Hee Do) and Bona (Ko Yu Rim) are also perfect for their roles. Hee Do with a bubbly personality and the sweet and prim Yu Rim.

SDD - 2521 2 .jpeg Photo source: https://www.pinterest.ph/pin/918452917729350027/

The Setting
Speaking of their visuals, the drama is set in the 90's and you can see it through the character's fashion statement. I am a 90's baby myself so seeing how they don themselves in the show is just so nostalgic. Even the gadgets they used (beepers/pagers, telephone booth, TV, radio, cassette tapes, old cellphones), it just takes me back to my childhood days.

SDD - 2521 7 .pngSDD - 2521 10.png
SDD - 2521 8 .pngSDD - 2521 13.png
SDD - 2521 12 .pngSDD - 2521 11 .pngSDD - 2521 9 .png

The Location

SDD - 2521 5 .pngSDD - 2521 3 .png

The main reason why I started watching K-drama is not really the actors but the filming locations. Jeonju, Seoul, Gangwon, Gyeonggi were just some of the places in South Korea that was featured in this series. I made a promise to myself that I will go and visit these locations when I had the chance to go back next year!

SDD - 2521 6 .pngSDD - 2521 4 .png

2. The Relationships, Feelings, and Emotions

Friendship
Probably my most favorite relationship shown in the series was the bond between friends.
SDD - 2521 16.pngI love the friendship between Moon Ji-Woong & Ji Seung-Wan, and the strong bond that formed between Hee do and Yu rim, from being a fan to becoming rivals to becoming the best of friends).

SDD - 2521 15.pngSDD - 2521 14.png

Family
The show also portrayed different kinds of families. The sweet and caring family of Yu rim. The loving family of Yi Jin. The professionsl (cold and warm) mom of Hee Do.

SDD - 2521 17.png
The cool mom of Seung-Wan and how she treats Ji Woong as her own (eventually extending their family to the main characters). The characters also showed how far they can go for the sake of their family.

Young Love
One of the focus of the drama is the romance between Yi Jin and Hee Do who started out as pals. One of the things that I looked out for was the first kiss. Their chemistry is just so strong that I really anticipated the first kiss. (Just like Hee Do, I was surprised though by Yi Jin's reaction.) Oh, let's not forget the love that blossomed between Seung Wan and Yu Rim.

SDD - 2521 18.png

Perseverance
I am not just talking about the trainings that athletes (Hee Do and Yu Rim) showed during their trainings. It was about how determined they are to reach their dreams despite the backlash and rejections. They have a goal and they work hard for it. I believe the drama was able to deliver this message across successfully to the audience.

SDD - 2521 19.png

Comedy
The reason why continued watching this series was the dose of entertainment it provides. The innocence of Hee Do was really hilarious. The duo, Moon Ji-Woong and Ji Seung-Wan was also something I look forward to in the show because their interactions and conversations are just funny.

SDD - 2521 20.png

Drama
But wait, it is not all fun. I shed a few tears especially with the scenes of Hee Do and Yu Rim. The first time I cried was the scene when they found out that they were actually each other's online friend who they turn into during tough times and to celebrate their wins. Another scene that made me cry was when Yu Rim was heading to Russia and when they met again at Madrid to compete with each other for gold. Let us not forget, the new source of my heartbreak, the break up between Hee Do and Yi Jin and their final goodbye. I had high hopes that they will end up together... I need to move on from this heartache.

SDD - 2521 21.png

Final Thoughts

Twenty Five Twenty One has the balanced elements of comedy and drama. It gives you a trip down memory lane with its setting and visuals. It shows the exciting experiences of being a youth, the friendship we make and keep, the romance of a young heart, the struggles of being a teen, the pursuit of dreams, and wins & failures. It teaches about building lasting relationships, going after the thing that makes you happy, the importance of distance, the complexity of becoming an adult.

Twenty Five Twenty One is about the celebration of life. It is about loving and leaving. It is about the grieving the loss and embracing what lies ahead. It is about finding your path in the crazy roads of life.


Photos are taken from Netflix.


Sort:  

This was a great k drama that I watched, one of my favorite. But the ending is so hmmm.... Do nalang me mag talk

And the setting is similar to Reply 1998!!! Status trying to move on

I still didn't watch this Kdrama but I think I will anytime soon.

Hope i did not spoil it much. Have fun watching!

You didn't po. Thanks a lot.