Diary of a Student: Part 2 - Chess, Art, and Research Proposals

in Hive PH7 months ago

Good day, Hivers! I am now creating part 2 of my diary as a student. Today, we will discuss what happened from Wednesday to Friday and the experiences I had. I'm ready to share them all with you.


image.png

WEDNESDAY

image.png

Early in the morning, I traveled to our school and arrived around 7 o'clock because my class was scheduled to start at 7:30. When our class began, our professor suddenly gave us a quiz about our last discussion, and I was happy to get a good score on the quiz. Afterward, she discussed the topic of IoT (Internet of Things), and I was excited because it might give me ideas for a research title. Following the discussion, our professor assigned an activity related to IoT. By the way, IoT refers to things like smartwatches, smart homes, smart cars, and other devices using technology. After submitting our work for the activity, our teacher grouped us together, and she mentioned that by the end of the semester, we needed to create something related to IoT.

image.png

After our class, we had lunch, and then we returned to school for the next subject. After the next subject, I needed to go to the library to practice chess because I was selected to represent Cebu Technological University at an event held by CTU – Danao. Before we started practicing, our teacher informed us about the requirements for participating in the event, emphasizing the importance of maintaining good grades. We also discussed our jerseys and the practice schedule. Afterward, we played to refresh our strategies, and after our practice, I went home to rest.


image.png

THURSDAY

image.png

Today, I also needed to arrive early because if I'm late, I'll have to choose from three punishments: dancing, singing, or push-ups. After our class, it was lunchtime, but I wasn't able to join my usual group of classmates because they left in a hurry, and I didn't notice. So, I decided to join some other classmates whom I'm also close with. After lunch, we rested and waited until it was almost 12:50 before returning to our school.


image.png

We arrived at our classroom, and the activity began, which required us to draw objects based on what our teacher instructed. We were tasked with drawing the 7 wonders of the ancient world. In our group, we chose to draw the Taj Mahal, while others drew the Lighthouse of Alexandria and other 7 wonders of the ancient world.

image.pngimage.png

image.png

When we started drawing, it was challenging because we had to cooperate with each other to determine how to begin our art and what needed to be done. In our group, we started by creating guidelines to find the center and draw the Taj Mahal with straight lines, so we needed a ruler to ensure accuracy. As time passed, we almost completed half of our artwork, while other groups focused on outlining or coloring their pieces.

ezgif.com-animated-gif-maker (3).gifezgif.com-rotate (1).gif

We truly enjoyed this activity as it allowed us to find peace and enhance our imaginations. I particularly appreciate the subject of art appreciation because it helps us release stress. The stress we initially felt transformed into happiness as we watched our art come to life based on our imaginations. After an hour, our time for the subject was up, and we were happy that we finished our artwork. After our class, I went home and rested. After resting, I ate some fruits and then prepared my research titles for the title hearing scheduled for Friday.


image.png

FRIDAY

ezgif.com-animated-gif-maker (1).gif

Good morning! Finally, it's Friday, and I'm excited yet a bit nervous because there's a chance our professor might not approve my proposal. While on my way, I was amazed by the beauty of what I saw, and I couldn't resist taking a photo. It felt like a sign of a promising day ahead. When I arrived at school, I prepared for our proposed title presentation. Since it was individual and presented alphabetically, I was second in our order.

image.png

When my classmate entered, I felt extremely nervous because it took so long for him to finish, and there were rumors that he also consulted other professors, which added to my anxiety. When he finally came out and his title got approved, I went in next. I presented my three titles to the professor. Unfortunately, my first and second titles were rejected because there were existing proposals. As for my third title, it was also rejected because the professor deemed it difficult to defend, emphasizing the need for it to contribute to the community. I felt really disappointed because I had prepared diligently, but my proposals weren't accepted.

Later on, I decided to accept it and thought maybe I could come up with something better aside from what I presented to our professor. As the hours passed and all the title proposals were done, only four were accepted. I wasn't as saddened anymore because I realized that rejection is part of the process. I told myself that I would make up for it next time.


image.png

After that day, since we only had a half day, I grabbed a meal before heading home. Upon arriving, I experienced a severe headache due to the day's events, so I decided to rest and clear my mind. The lesson I learned today is that one should not give up easily; one must continue to fight through life's challenges, and allowing yourself to be defeated will hinder your growth. Thank you for reading my blog. As a student, I hope you enjoyed it, and I wish you all a pleasant day.

Sort:  

Good to see you're doing great in school. God bless on your research journey, @johnfritz246! It'll be a long journey ahead, however just take everything one step at a time. Kudos to all of us, working hard for the future! By the way, chess is such a nice game which I know nothing about hahaha. I only know its moves but I got no tricks and strategies coz I'm really not into it. I say chess players are wise people. Continue doing well! 👏

Thanks a lot for your kind words and encouragement @jeannmazing! I appreciate your support on my research journey. And chess might not be everyone's cup of tea, but it's never too late to learn some tricks and strategies. Keep thriving! 👍

Can't wait to play and test how good you are at playing chess.

Do you have lichess account te? we can play thru online.

I used to play chess through an online game, but it's not lichess. I somehow deleted it because my phone ran out of storage, but I'll try reinstalling it.

I have finished downloading the Lichess app. What's your account name? Just add me, k-gimenez11. Thank you.

Done te. My Ign: AibeFritz

Wishing you all the best for your research journey ahead! I have full faith in your abilities and I am confident that you will be able to overcome any obstacles that come your way. With your dedication and hard work, I am sure that you can do it until the end. Remember to take breaks when you need to, and don't hesitate to seek help if you need it, I'm always here for you. You've got this!🥰

Yaysss HAHAHA. Thank you always @mxrvieee. I will always remember this❤️.

I remembered how my suitor (now is my boyfriend) taught me how to play chess since he's a chess player (national player) before, I was amazed how he taught me with patience knowing that I have 2% knowledge in chess with no interest before I met him. The funny moment is how I consumed 10 minutes when we were playing while it only took him 20 seconds to beat me haha
Anyways, break a leg on your upcoming competition! I'm rooting for you and looking forward for the upcoming post about it soon. :)

Wow, regards to your boyfriend. I'm not a pro like him, but I will try my best to win the event.