You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's 2020 and they still blame sexual harassment on women's clothing

in Hive PH4 years ago

Good day brother. Sorry, miss understanding. That is not the argument and that is not my point. Read so that you can understand, please...

Earlier today I was waiting for my computer desk that I bought to be delivered at home. I was wearing this yellow top with no bra because basically, I'm at home.

Looking over at the street, waiting for the delivery guy and to make sure I see him first so he won't have a hard time, mom noticed me and said:

"Are you not gonna wear a bra? You should cover up when receiving deliveries!"

I just frowned and said, "Why would I?"

She didn't say anything after that, but I know what she's trying to say: If I get harassed, it's going to be my fault for not wearing a bra.

Fucked up, right?

That was she said and my answer was only for that... No other argument, that is the reason I did said in my comment about 1 Timothy 2:9-10... Am I wrong about that? What do you think?

Sort:  

Yes I think you're wrong because you're focusing on the wrong problem and using the Bible to justify an illegal action makes it more disgusting.
The problem is not how she dressed, the problem is the person that thinks it is right to molest or harrass her based on how she's dressed.

Even if a woman walks around naked, no man has right to her body. Getting aroused by her is fine and natural but attempting to force yourself on her while claiming it is because of how she's dressed is ridiculous.

Going by your logic,it can be compared with saying because I bought a new car, so it means car thief's are justified for trying to steal it or take it by force. The people raping don't rape because of how she's dressed, they do that simply because she has a vagina.

I think brother, you did not get the point? Look at this message of her mother for her. That is a sign of care and love. Read...

Looking over at the street, waiting for the delivery guy and to make sure I see him first so he won't have a hard time, mom noticed me and said:

"Are you not gonna wear a bra? You should cover up when receiving deliveries!"

I just frowned and said, "Why would I?"

Is it right to frown to your mother like that? The mother is just worried about her and that is for her own good. Again brother, don't jump to another conclusion that can make another discussion. Thanks be unto God, brother. I am happy that you have your point of understanding. By the way, I'm not a pastor nor preacher, I'm just an ordinary member of our church. (^_^)

No, that's not being protective, that's being oppressive. Protection and oppression are two different things. Don't try to disguise it and say you just want to "protect" someone.

And what's wrong with frowning to your mother? So you're saying you can't frown to injustice? Just because someone is older than you, doesn't mean they are ALWAYS right. Adults can make mistakes too. Eradicate that toxic trait. Parents should learn to respect their children too.