College Life Before the Pandemic – The Things that I Miss the Most

in Hive PH3 years ago

They said that college life is one of the most memorable experiences that an individual might encounter. But what if instead of the supposed to be campus life, you need to spend your college life in the four corners of your home?

In the Philippines, as a preventive move against the fast-spreading coronavirus disease COVID-19, classes in both public and private schools around the country were canceled in March 2020. I was just a sophomore back then. My innocent mind was even happy for the sudden suspension of classes because, during that time, I was feeling stressed with my academics. What’s the harm with a few-day cancellation of classes, right? (I thought that it would only last for a few days! Silly me). I am now in my senior year and guess what? Up to now, we’re still stuck doing online classes.

My first two years in the university as a BS Chemistry student has been a roller coaster ride. One minute, I cannot contain my happiness, the next minute, I am bawling my eyes out for failing my exam. Nevertheless, within these two years, I have met new people, been to places I thought I couldn't reach, and experienced things that I couldn't do before, but then Covid-19 came and attacked the whole world. No one ever expected or imagined that things would turn out this way. Looking back at my first two years in the university, here are the things that I missed during the conduct of face-to-face classes.

Spending Time with My Friends

The thing that I missed the most during face-to-face classes, is the bonding with my friends. College is not as easy as one two three. You will face hardships that will test you, not just physically but also mentally and emotionally. You can never survive college alone. For that reason, I am so lucky to have a great circle of friends as my support system. I miss our bonding during lunch, our escapade every time we feel stressed, our karaoke session every end of the semester, and many more. Oh, we also do Monito Monita (Filipino tradition of giving gifts during the Christmas Season).

hataw chemeruts.jpg

Real Classroom

I miss the feeling to be inside a real physical classroom. Virtual classrooms can never be compared to the feeling when you’re surrounded by your classmates while listening to your professor teach in front. Communication became a hindrance in this online setup for it limits the teacher-to-student interactions and even the student-to-student interactions. I also miss the sudden adrenaline rush every time I participate in class and during written exams and oral recitations. It was all like a beautiful dream. Today’s online setup is a nightmare. You only see your classmates and professors inside a screen. How lonely is that?
class pic.jpeg

Parties

College is not complete without parties! Our university often has freshmen welcome parties and it is one of the most awaited events every year. I miss dancing and singing my heart out without the thoughts of academic responsibility. If only I knew that it would be the last university party that I am going to experience, then I would’ve enjoyed the moment more.

Our university still conducts parties though, but only virtually. Kudos to our student council for exerting effort for the student’s entertainment amid the pandemic.

splash party.jpg

Laboratory Experiments

I miss laboratory experiments! I miss wearing my lab gown! As a BS Chemistry student who needs hands-on laboratory experience, it is sad because we didn’t fully mold our laboratory knowledge because of the pandemic. In online classes, instead of doing the actual experiment, we only watch virtual experiments. How can we hone our skills if we can’t use laboratory equipment in person?

lab.jpg



Covid-19 took lives, opportunities, and life experiences. I am already in my last year in college. What I only hope for is for the world to return to its normal state. Even if I cannot experience the “normal” college life again, at least the lower batches can.

Sort:  

I hope soon will be back to normal because I don't experience real college life because of pandemic that happened

Yesss, I hope so too so that you can experience the "normal college life" that you deserve :)

The thing that I missed the most during face-to-face classes, is the bonding with my friends.

Bonding with friends, or simply being with friends in college is one of my sought-after times when I was studying. COVID may have taken that from you, but who knows, it is a blessing in disguise.

Yess, college life is not complete without friends.

Indeed (^_^)

I too hope that I could at least experience college life in a faraway region. I have spent 2 years studying Civil Engineering in my room, and I have to say it is really draining. With chores and a very uncomfortable study environment, it really makes me pray that covid will go away soon.

Online class means dealing with both school and family problems (at the same time). Yup, it is really draining. I even feel like I'm losing my motivation to study:( But, all we can do is just hope for the best.

It really is. I wish you all the best in your studies!

Yes, you too. Good luck future Engineer!

Congratulations @kiantheconqueror! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you

You're welcome @kiantheconqueror.

BTW, it would be much appreciated if you support our proposal on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner so we can continue our work!
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/147
Thank you!

Great post i miss my college life..

Thank you for the appreciation :)

Reading at your blog made me reminisce my college days.
I hope to see your future blog regarding your graduation🙂

Hopefully! But of course I still have thesis and ojt so we really don't know what will happen but I'm just hoping for the best 🥺

I know you can do it! Good luck on your studies.