Remember, Remember, the 16th of December

in Hive PH3 years ago (edited)

My husband asked me if I wanted Puto Bungbong for our food trip tomorrow. Naturally, I got excited. Puto bumbong is my favorite holiday food. And every Christmas it is always nostalgic to me. All because this season is the one season I have always looked forward to during my younger years. I still do right now but for different reasons.

Simbang gabi

Back in the day, I am very much excited about the 16th of December because of Simbang Gabi. Although the Christmas season starts in our country as early as September, the holiday officially starts at the point of Simbang Gabi for me.

This is when I and my friends would wake up early in the morning, dress up, and get ready to walk with each other to the church. We make sure that everyone sleeps early and even if we didn't, we will still wake up as early as possible. The church is brightly lit with sparkling Christmas lights, the decors are on point, and what's more, is there are lots of people. It is during this season when you see the church jampacked with churchgoers. Whenever my mom joins us on simbang gabi, we surely are going to be seated (or standing) inside the church. But if it's just me and my friends, we will content ourselves to be seated outside. My mom doesn't like that but you know how the youth are.

After the Simbang Gabi, our next stop would be the Goto stop right near the church. Goto is a famous early morning dish in my childhood. It's still is amazing at any time of the year but this is extra special during simbang gabi. Aside from the early morning church with my friends, our breakfast is the perfect way to give our morning the best start.

Caroling & Puto Bungbong

December 16th also marks another start of one more tradition that brings back a lot of memories to me. Christmas caroling. The same set of friends I had during the Simbang Gabi gather together to sing carols from house to house around the neighborhood. I remember every one of us would behave very well in the house for days not only to make sure we get a nice present on Christmas but also so that our parents would allow us to get out of the house at night. Those were the days when the neighborhood was safe and it's absolutely fine to just let the kids out, and not get too worried.

We have a strategy each night, we would go from one street to another making sure we don't go to the same house twice in the next few days. It doesn't matter if our rhythm is good, or our tune is on point. As long as we sing merrily, and we get a few changes at the end of every "We wish you a merry Christmas", we're good.

At the end of each caroling session, we split our collection and before we go home, we stop by at the street vendors selling puto bumbong. We don't see this on other days of the year so this season makes it even more special.

Exchange Gift

Every year since I can remember I have always been part of an exchange gift. This year though, I am sure I won't have that many Christmas parties to attend or exchange gifts to join. My friends and I leave very far apart from each other. Annually, we get together but with the situation, we have right now, I'm not sure we're going to see each other anytime soon. It's alright though, we can still go ahead and have our Christmas party online. Thank you zoom!

23 Years of Friendship

One more thing that makes the 16th of December special is that I and my high school friends are celebrating 13 years of friendship. We've had our ups and downs but they are my sisters from different mothers.

It's funny how one food could remind us what we have loved for a long time. This is why I love Puto bumbong. It reminds me of a lot of things back in my childhood. The situation right now kinda sucks but at least our family is still whole, and somehow we will still be able to observe some of our traditions.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

Sort:  

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 65000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal #2

This would be my 16th Christmas away from home. It's true when they say, "iba ang Pasko sa Pinas". Here, I only feel the Christmas spirit when I attend the Simbang Gabi. It is where I hear Christmas carols, see Christmas decors, and yeah, food too (but no puto bungbong). Now the Simbang Gabi is virtual, it's just never the same. Hayy,, nakaka miss.

 3 years ago  

Nakakamiss talaga. Dito s amin, mahigpit ang social distancing protocols but still marami pa rin daw tao sa simbahan. Although kapansin pansin na iba talaga ang christmas ngayon.

Simbang gabi this year is just different due to COVID-19. It feels different not seeing crowds of happy church goers and vendors during this time of the year but it doesn't stop us from celebrating what really is important and making things as significant as they used to be. Advance Merry Christmas po!

 3 years ago  

It is indeed so different from the way it used to be. It's the 17th already but there are no carolers roaming around. The nights are way too silent and the early mornings are far from merry. I'm just glad to see my neighbors put up their decors, atleast on our hallways, there's still some twinkling lights.
Merry Christmas din and thank you for dropping by. :)