I traveled 5 hours to attend the second hiveph meet-up.

in Hive PH21 days ago (edited)

Image created using CANVA.

I don't really meet other people. I was scared of meeting the people that I had just met online. When I was in high school, I also had some online friends because group pages and clans were very trendy. But I never experienced meeting them in person. In the previous years that I was writing blogs on the other microblogging website, I also found some people that I could consider an 'online friend' but, unlike here on Hive, we never organized an event to meet each other.
So, I really consider this meet-up to be my first trip to meet other people that I just met online.

Now that I am 23 years old, I also like to experience and explore things. So, when I knew that there'd be a second HivePH meet-up, I decided to go and meet the other members of this amazing community.

But before the meet-up, I also experienced a lot of dramatic and difficult situations before I was able to attend the community meet-up...

When I asked my mom for permission about the meet-up, she told me that I could go with my grandparents. She told me to go with my grandparents because my grandpa has a rich brother living in Manila. However, my grandpa told me that he doesn't have a brother anymore, and it's been a long time since they considered themselves enemies. They are fighting each other because of the land. So, my mom told me to go with my sister's lesbian boyfriend instead.

I talked to my sister's lesbian boyfriend, and we planned a lot and agreed to go. However, when this month came, her schedule told me that maybe we couldn't go because she has work in the municipality and she also has training in her TESDA course. I really don't like it when my companion is not sure of their schedules, so I decided to go on my own. I told this to my grandparents and my mom, and at first, they were okay with it. As long as I have some money to buy the things that I need. So, when the time comes when the community staff needs to collect a payment for the share of the venue, I double check and ask my grandparents again for the second time if they will allow me to go alone, and they say "yes.". So I give my payment for my share to the staff. So that's final, and I can't change my decisions.

While the community meet-up date is not yet near, I decided to spend my time writing blogs here to earn HBD and hives so that I have some extra money to use for traveling to the meet-up place. I also spend my time doing side hustles like washing clothes in the other house, cleaning the house of my aunt, who is living abroad because they have a visitor, doing hair and makeup for events like weddings and JS prom nights, and teaching my grade 3 cousin about her assignment and activity because her parents (both mom and dad) are busy working. Despite the fact that I was tired and experienced body pain doing those jobs, I can say that it was worth it because I could save some money and be able to attend the meetup.

But things became complicated when my grandparents always kept changing their life decisions. They will say yes and no, which is making me feel embarrassed for the staff and other members of this community who will attend the meet-up because my grandparents are complicated to understand.

My grandparents give me the condition that I can go if I have a companion; if I go alone, they will not allow me to go. So looking for a companion is my priority, even though I don't like to have a companion because I can't enjoy going there. It is a good thing that my aunt is willing to accompany me. But the problem is, where will she stay? Because I calculated all the money I saved as the extra payment for her share in the meet-up, I don't have an extra budget anymore because I bought things that I will need because, at first, I was planning to sleep or spend a night at Demo's place after the meet-up.

But what made me grateful is that there is this amazing woman in this community who can understand and is willing to help me fix my complicated situation with my grandparents and aunt and that is Mami @romeskie. And of course, I am also thankful to the other staff as well as to our handsome lead, @artofadamada.


Before we traveled yesterday, on the other day, I traveled first to go to Urdaneta, the city where my aunt lives. We decided that on the day of the meet-up in the morning, we would wait in front of the CB MALL Urdaneta for the bus that would go to Pasay City at 11 a.m.

1000027560.jpg

However, when the day and time came, our plan didn't go exactly as planned. Instead of going to Pasay, we decided to ride a bus that would go to Cubao since Demotry said that we could also ride that and he could wait for us at Sm Hypermarket because our drop-off is in the Edsa bus carousel.

Finally, when we saw a bus that we could ride to go to Cubao, we didn't waste our time but went inside because it's hot and we don't have a choice because buses to go to Pasay take a long time to arrive. And we will travel for 5 hours.

1000027561.jpg

While traveling to Manila, my mind is debating whether I will continue to go or not. I can still shout "Para po" because the bus is still not far away from Urdaneta. Can you blame me? I was nervous. It's my first time to meet the other members of the community—the people whom I have known virtually for 1 year 8 months.

But still, I continue to go. I couldn't do anything about it, and I think about the days that I have been through just so I can go to the meet-up. Anyway, since our travel is 5 hours, I couldn't do anything but sleep and eat, then repeat.

1000027566.jpg

When I saw this, I thought it was a sign that we were nearing our destination. We are already near the drop-off area. It's just a few minutes away. And because of that, I feel nervous even more.

But things didn't go as planned because we didn't drop off in the same area, and @demotry was in 40 minutes. Away from us. So, we decided to find some other public transportation that could make us drop off in the place where Demotry is. One thing that I realized while we were in the middle of traveling was that "it's hard to commute here in Manila." Because the public transit where we rode to go to the location was full of people inside, and we experienced standing while holding a lot of things.

When my aunt and I arrived in the area where we could meet Demotry, he said that he was at the McDonald's Araneta Cubao LRT station. But when we arrived there, there were two McDonalds.

My gosh! Who the hell built two McDonalds in just one place? Charought! I don't know which McDonald's I should go to, left or right. Lol, but I am glad because demo comes where we are.

At first, I was shy around him, but later on, I became comfortable and talked to him like I talk to him virtually. I guess we didn't change our attitude toward each other.

Anyway, I know that he is taller than me, but what I also didn't expect was that he is not that taller than me because I can still reach his head. I based his height on the Jollibee stand in front of the Jollibee restaurant, and I was right. He is that tall.

1000027581.jpg

Demotry booked a Grab car as our transportation to go to the venue. and in the room inside the car, Demotry and I still communicate via phone. Hahaha but when I talk with my aunt, I can't help but speak in our provincial dialect, which is Ilokano. I was so embarrassed by Demotry because he didn't understand what I was saying.


When we arrived at the venue, the first person who welcomed us was @wittyzell . I was so very problematic when I saw her because I didn't know what to say—should I say hi or hello? But then, I am glad because she is the first one to hug me, and I hugged her back.

When we entered the gate, there... I saw someone unfamiliar. A man who looked professional and serious at the desk. I don't know him because I never saw him, but I have a feeling that he is that person—the person about whom I am worried if he will go or not. Judging by his looks, he looks calm. I can't look directly at him very long because I am shy. Even when checking my name and my aunt's name at the attendance check. The pen that I am holding slips, and I can't hold it properly because I am nervous.

When I entered the room, I saw a lot of members who had arrived. But the first one I noticed that I am familiar with is @tpkidkai and @romeskie. So, I said hello to them and smiled. I even shake hands with the people with whom I am familiar.

Sorry, but it's my first time attending an event like this and getting to know the people whom I just met in person for the first time, so I don't know how I can start a conversation. But thanks to the people who started the conversation first and tried to communicate with me.

The event started, and I didn't know what to do. Especially during the game part of the event. I was worried that I couldn't do well because my self-confidence was so low. I have a lot of "what if's" inside my mind. What if I can't answer the questions well? What if I make a mistake? I was worried about what they would think about me. Well... I am sorry if I have a lot of negative thoughts. You can't blame me because I don't have a lot of social experience. I lived my life after I graduated shs, just staying inside my room.

During the game event, I had a lot on my mind. I was nervous, and I can feel my heart pound, and because of that, I can't even properly answer the one simple question. I feel sorry because I didn't answer the question well. Then, when I sat on the sofa, I regretted not answering the question, and I started to blame myself already for my stupidity. My God!

But I was thankful to them because they still guide me and understand my situation. I can tell that they are all kind.

My Tita told me when we were eating that I should go to them and spend my time talking with them. But I was embarrassed. Starting a conversation is not really my thing because I am shy. But when I saw @cthings, I decided to go to her and talk with her, even though I am shy.

1000027611.jpg
The first time that I saw her, I was amazed by her beauty. That's why I think I need to cover my face when I am beside her. Talking with her made me feel comfortable. I shared a lot of things with her and enjoyed talking while eating beside her. Thanks to her, because I already feel that everyone is nice, and I should not worry about how I can communicate with them.

1000027612.jpg

I also enjoyed talking to the person next to her. We talked about some random things and I never feel embarrassed anymore because C was there.

Then, when I saw Ate Witty beside us, I didn't hesitate to call her and just say, "Ate Witty ang ganda mo!". Then there is this moment that I never forget, and that is "I laughed," or should I say, we laughed at each other because of something. 🤣

Then here's @akumagai. He is talking with me, but I don't understand what he always says because he speaks English. Charought! I was scared that when I talked with him, my grammar would be wrong, so I told her to speak Tagalog with me instead. Glad that he speaks Tagalog! Many people have told me that his energy is so high, and I never thought that it was real because he stayed awake, and when I went down again from the second floor, I saw him still drinking alcohol with Ate Rome and @scion02b . Wow!

1000027613.jpg

I also got a chance to talk with Ate Lhes, and I found her sitting on the sofa. I rubbed her belly and asked if she'd be okay or comfortable sitting like that on the sofa. Later on, I didn't notice that we had already talked a lot. Then Auncle Aku comes to us and starts another conversation. They both tried to speak Bisaya, and here's me: As an Ilokana, I didn't understand what they said, and they told me that it's a Bisaya song.

My first impression when I saw Lhes was that she was pretty. I mean it! She's a mom now, and I see her as not different from when I first saw her in her blog posts in the past. I also noticed while we were talking that she's also soft-spoken.

The event starts at 7 p.m. and some of the other members leave early, which I didn't expect because I didn't get a chance to talk with them, especially Kuya @tpkidkai, who is one of the people I want to meet in person, but I was afraid to approach him because my first impression was that he looked "masungit." But after he sang at the KTV and rapped, when we were on the second floor with Ate Rome, I tried to talk to him and say, "Rapper ka pala kuya Tp?" 🤣 because I was amazed that he could rap and get a perfect score. I can tell that he's a kind person naman. It's just that I can't help but feel scared because of his facial expression.

I also finally had a chance to meet @intoy.bugoy in person. He's so handsome pala. His cheeks were round, and I found him cute. We also get a chance to talk with each other a little. I also like to talk to him more, but I feel shy.

@scion02b is not familiar to me because I never got to know him on the Hiveph server or on any other Discord server. I felt sorry for him when I mistook him for another person while we were playing games. Huhu

Finally, I got a chance to meet the person that I like to meet. I am not curious anymore about his looks or how he was in person.

1000027633.jpg

I can't believe that his voice was the same as what I heard for the first time two years ago. I thought he would still be strict in person, but that was just a thought.

When I first saw him, I felt shy and embarrassed because I never thought that he looked handsome and young.

Photo from Ate @wittyzell 's phone

I stayed awake until 3 a.m. in the morning. I enjoyed playing games, drinking, and talking with the other remaining members, who stayed the same as me.

But...

There are a lot of things I regret. There are a lot of things that I just hope I never do or say. If I can only turn back that time, I will correct those embarrassing moments that happened. Until now, I was still in shock. Thinking about those things that happened makes me feel like I don't have to face everyone now. Hahaha

This blog was supposed to be published on April 28, but my mind is debating whether I will write a blog or not about my meet-up experience with them. But I decided that I should because I like to thank everyone who I get a chance to meet and talk with.

20240430121224514.jpg

Thanks for the mug @cindee08 even though I didn't see you that day. I hope I can meet you in person if Lucifer will give us a chance! Charought

20240430121313883.jpg

20240430121054327.jpg

These are all the things I brought home. Thanks to all the sponsors and kind people who gave me these things.

I also enjoyed the delicious food! There are a lot of foods that I like to eat, but I am already full because my aunt and I keep eating inside the bus, and we also ordered Jollibee before meeting with Demotry.

I would like to thank everyone who took care of me and my aunt on that day. especially to Ate Rome, who let my aunt stay inside the venue and demotry to pick us up and accompany us to the venue.

I'm sorry, and I apologize for the things I did wrong during that time. Thank you very much, and you gave me the opportunity to be with you and to meet you personally.


PUBLISHED BY: @xanreo
DATE: April 30, 2024

Sort:  

Wow sir @intoy.bugoy representing Hive Cebu, one of the most approachable and helpful person in the platform. First time I met him he seemed so shy and silent but when I get to engage and socialize with him he is also a fun person. So happy to see all of you united there and wish we were able to join! ☺︎♡ Have fun and keep safe!

representing Hive Cebu, one of the most approachable and helpful person in the platform. First time I met him he seemed so shy and silent but when I get to engage and socialize with him he is also a fun person.

Yes. Sobra. Akala ko din shy type person siya pero habang nagtatagal ayon nakikipagbardagulan na din. REPRESENTING CEBU @intoy.bugoy nakakaproud. Pogi din po kasi niya sa personal. Cute pa 😁

So happy to see all of you united there and wish we were able to join! ☺︎♡ Have fun and keep safe!

You can. If they will organized another hiveph meet up again next year. Hehe join ka don. 😊

That's the story behind the Hiveph Discord. Now I know. Thank you for sharing. @xanreo

What do you mean, story behind the hiveph discord po? Hehe thank you for reading din po!

Ayan Nakita mo na sla hehe...Lalo na si A. Hehe

 21 days ago  

Naku ang dami nyang kilig sis! Haha.

Kaya nga po ate jane! Ang babait nila sobra. Naenjoy ko ang meet up kasi ikaw ba naman magnomnom ng 7 pm to 3 am aba HAHAHAHA 😂

 21 days ago  

But when we arrived there, there were two McDonalds.

Buti nga hindi 7/11 meetup place nyu every corner meron hahaha

I based his height on the Jollibee stand in front of the Jollibee restaurant

bakit naman nadamay si Jollibee na walang malay hahaha

he looked handsome and young

Lagi may kasunod na handsome uwu

The first time that I saw her, I was amazed by her beauty.

Sobrang ganda talaga ni C in person ang sarap nya sabunutan hahahah

 21 days ago  

Yung kahabaan ng Pedro Gil marse, bawat kanto talaga literal, mqy 7/11. Hahaha

Ang kilig nya marse, nag uumapaw! Ilang beses ko narinig yung "Ang pogi nya po!"

Ang kilig nya marse, nag uumapaw! Ilang beses ko narinig yung "Ang pogi nya po!"

Dili nalang ako magtalk ate rome 😂 sana pala hinanaan ko juskooo nakakahiya tuloyyy nadinig kalandian ko. 🤣

Buti nga hindi 7/11 meetup place nyu every corner meron hahaha

True mamsh! hahahah 🤣 andami ko napansin na 7/11 jusmeyo. Kainis si demo sa magkatapat na mcdonalds pa talaga nya kami pinunta HAHAHAHA tawa ako pagkadating niya eh. Pinalo ko nga sa braso. 🤣

bakit naman nadamay si Jollibee na walang malay hahaha

Eh kasi naman un sabi niya sakin noon, kaheight niya lang yung standee ng jabee. 😂

Lagi may kasunod na handsome uwu

Totoo naman kasi to. Ang handsome niya sa personal. 🥲

Sobrang ganda talaga ni C in person ang sarap nya sabunutan hahahah

Halla ate @cthings oh. 😂 Malay mo naman maganda ka din sa personal ate Cindee. Pakita kana saken. Gagawin kong La Union to Urdaneta ang lugar mo 😂 tsarot

Happy to see you in person @xanreo, di ako sanayna mahiyain ka in person, sa discord anglakas mo makipagbardagulan

Masaya din ako makita ka pogi. ☺️😍 HAHAHAHA mahiyain talaga ako. Makapal lang mukha ko pag comfortable na ako sa kausap ko. Nahihiya ako makipag usap sayo ng matagalan. Next time ulit! Tatagalan ko na 😂

 21 days ago (edited) 

There are a lot of things that I just hope I never do or say. If I can only turn back that time, I will correct those embarrassing moments that happened.

Don't beat yourself up too much over it. Those are learning opportunities. You said it yourself, you are not yet used to meeting new people. But I can see yiu have a lot of pent up energy that's waiting to be let out. So go out more often, meet new people, widen your circle of friends, learn from them.

Glad you had so much fun. Your tita looks like she had fun too. Please send my regards to her.

Hope to see you again Jam. :)

Thank you ate rome. Hehehe nahihiya padin ako sa actions ko. Pero salamat po sa pagintindi palagi. Hayaan nyo po at magpapakamature na po ako sa mga susunod na taon. Aayusin ko muna sarili ko and yeah I will try po makipag meet sa madami pang mga tao sa paligid. 😊

Edit: Opo. Tuwang-tuwa po siya sa pag eemcee ninyo ni ate witty! 😂 and andami niya pong impressions sainyong lahat.

See you soon ate rome! 😍

 21 days ago (edited) 

Awww, a lot had really happened but I am glad you arrive in the meeting spot safe and sound. Pero about sa pabago bagong decision ng oldies mo, medyo nakaka ano nga lalo if naka plan na. Alam na ng lahat, but thabks heaven all things end well.

so I don't know how I can start a conversation

This is me when I meet a person after a long time of not meeting them. It's awkward and not so a
Sure how to act. But buti at nauna silang mag initiate ng talk. Hive PH member is really a warm people ano. And ayiehhhh, uwu, uwu, feeling ko narining ni doc adam tibok nong puso mo nong nag selfie kayo, uwu. Rinig mo ba po doc @adamada ? Hahaha. Pero nakakainggit talagaaaaa, when kaya maka join, sana kaya ko lakas ng loob mo. Never pa ko nakipag meet ever, lalo if sa malayuan. And i'm almost 30 na but not sure if papayagan ba ko ng oldies ko, wari ko hindi, huhu. Saduuu

Awww, a lot had really happened but I am glad you arrive in the meeting spot safe and sound

Muntik na kami maligaw hahaha pero salamat doon sa mga napagtanungan namin, nilagay kami sa tamang lugar 😂

Pero about sa pabago bagong decision ng oldies mo, medyo nakaka ano nga lalo if naka plan na. Alam na ng lahat, but thabks heaven all things end well

Kaya nga ate. Nahiya ako tuloy sa mga ibang members na aattend :< pero true! Nakapunta din sa wakas!

This is me when I meet a person after a long time of not meeting them. It's awkward and not so a
Sure how to act. But buti at nauna silang mag initiate ng talk.

Oo lalo na si kuya Akuma! Sobrang kulit nyan. Hahaha 😆 pinapakanta ako pero ako itong shy! Diko kaya. Hahaha

Pero nakakainggit talagaaaaa, when kaya maka join, sana kaya ko lakas ng loob mo. Never pa ko nakipag meet ever, lalo if sa malayuan. And i'm almost 30 na but not sure if papayagan ba ko ng oldies ko, wari ko hindi, huhu. Saduuu

Ipon na madami daming hbd at hive. Punta ka sa next meet up ate! Don't worry! Mababait sila. 😊 papayagan kana nila ate. PWEDE mo naman sila isama din para makapasyal din kayo sa Manila.

First meetups are always difficult but as you've realised now, you have absolutely no reason to be shy or feel uneasy. Everyone who joins a Hive meetup is always there to make friends and build a community. I'm sure this won't be your last meetup and you will enjoy the others more

I'm sure this won't be your last meetup and you will enjoy the others more

I hope so. Because I have plans that when I will graduate to my month(s) tesda course, I will go to where my Mom and Sister was next year and find some work.

Ang tagal ko naging inactive and wow may hiveph na Naman pala na nangyari. Sana all nagkita-kita na.

Bawi kapag may susunod. Hehe ngayon lang nga po ako nakapunta. Baka next year was nanaman ako 🤣

Usually Luzon kasi.. nasa Mindanao Ako hehehe

Ay naku po! Ang layo pala.

Ou nga eh heheheh

Sm Hypermarket because our drop-off is in the Edsa bus carousel.

I actually live very near here haha, sayang dapat pala naisabay ko kayo.

@scion02b is not familiar to me because I never got to know him on the Hiveph server or on any other Discord server.

Sorry, I'm not that active sa discord. hahaha

I'm sorry, and I apologize for the things I did wrong during that time. Thank you very much, and you gave me the opportunity to be with you and to meet you personally.

Salute to you for pushing through with the meetup despite the travel and costs. I hope you enjoyed your stay and I guess naka-"quota" ka naman na :P

I actually live very near here haha, sayang dapat pala naisabay ko kayo.

Haha nahirapan po kami. Pero okay lang next time kapag meron alam na 😂

Sorry, I'm not that active sa discord. hahaha

Ako din dina active don. Haha so ano, parehas na po tayo HAHAHA

Salute to you for pushing through with the meetup despite the travel and costs. I hope you enjoyed your stay and I guess naka-"quota" ka naman na :P

Hayy jusko. Nakakapagod magtwerk kasi diko alam na pupunta ako 🤣 nabigla ako e. What quota? 🥲

Dami worries si jammuuu ganyan tlga pag first meet nyahaha

Dami freebiessss

Madami talaga jud. hahahaha jusko. Sana andon ka 🥲 gusto kita makita at makabonding :<

True. Salamat sa mga sponsor. 😍 sinuot ko yung earrings na watermelon nun. Cute e! 😂

 19 days ago  

Kuya @tpkidkai, who is one of the people I want to meet in person, but I was afraid to approach him because my first impression was that he looked "masungit." But after he sang at the KTV and rapped, when we were on the second floor with Ate Rome, I tried to talk to him and say, "Rapper ka pala kuya Tp?" 🤣 because I was amazed that he could rap and get a perfect score. I can tell that he's a kind person naman. It's just that I can't help but feel scared because of his facial expression.

Hahaha fierce naman pala eh 🔥🔥🔥. Iba lang ang focus mo sa chismisan Jam and that is fine. It ws nice meeting you irl cheers to the next years pa na meet-up.