My Golden Tree - and how it helped me through some tough times

in Art4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180515_001401.jpg


This is quite an old picture of mine, I painted it about five or six years ago.
My life was a bit troubled at that time.
I had just begun a new full time apprenticeship, which was unpaid, so I had to work on the weekends and in the evenings. Also I was in a quite difficult relationship, that took a lot of my energy.

And in those times, I started painting this tree, mainly to decorate one of the white walls of my new apartment.
But it turned out that painting this really relaxed me! I painted over the golden lines of the branches again and again, I think it had more than a dozen layers in the end!
But it was like meditation for me.

And after I had decided, that it is finished, I put it up on the wall opposite to my bed and every night when I couldn't sleep because I was too stressed, I looked at it, and followed the lines with my eyes, to slow down my restless thoughts.
And it helped (sometimes).

The picture is not perfect at all and if I should paint anything like this again, I would paint it differently.
But I have a special love for this weird alien-like tree, because it reminds me of some troubled times, I had to go through, to get there where I am today.


Love, Ana <3

Sort:  

I know all about the healing powers of art, although in my case it has mainly been filmmaking and writing.

I made drawings almost daily as a kid and teenager but, back then, I was still pretty happy. Depression came later.

This is an amazing little story and a beautiful piece of personal art. Thank you for sharing this with us, Ana

🤗

@creativemary @kristyglas @clareartista meet this awesome creative woman. I'm sure you'll like her work :<)

hey Vincent :-) Thank you so much for your kind words and your support! I'm so happy to be finally able to share my work and my stories <3
Have a beautiful day!

You're very welcome, Ana.

Seems like that moment has finally arrived.
I hope, no I trust that it will bring you many good things ✨

Thank you very much for the mention! :D

Sure thing
I like to connect awesome people ;<)

This is beautiful and I can totally see how following the branches would be relaxing ^-^ I'd love to try painting for some gold paint, maybe in the near future. It looks really cool!

Thank you :-) I love to use gold in my pictures, it gives the painting kind of deep and precious look, I think ^^

That's great artwork!!

Wow, thank you so much! <3

Congratulations @anafae! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!