You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to the Art Community! Seeking professionals to the crafty to the non creatives!

in Art4 years ago

I already subscribed last night and I just reblogged this.

My father was the professional artist and my sister got most of the talent. When I do art it's usually computer generated.

When I save up enough money for a 3D printer and can print the parts for a MakerScanner I might try making physical 3D models to scan.

Sort:  

Welcome! I always wanted to try a 3d printer, looks like a lot of fun. The last time I checked them out they were still pretty expensive?

The price of 3D printers dropped quite a bit around 2018 when several major patents behind the technology expired. The one I am looking at getting is around $250 USD. It can't print objects bigger than around 4.7 in. X 4.7 in. x 4.7 in. (height could be increased to around 6.2 in. with modification to the printer) but there's always the option of printing several small pieces that snap together to make a larger object.

I do get 2 hive like it mentions above for being one of the first 10 subscribing and reblogging, right? I am trying to fund a meme tribe on hive and every little bit helps. :-)

Thats not a bad price for what it can do. If you get it definitely share here what you make with it, I'm curious to see.

I'll send the hive soon, don't worry unless i simply make a mistake i am a man of my word, just working right now. Later today it'll all get sent out to every1 and I'll catch up on everything else like comments and whatnot as well.