How I became a (temporary) orca and what that means for you

in Loving HIVE ❤2 years ago

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

Do you still remember the "marine life hierarchy" from the old days of Steem? As far as I remember correctly, it was something like this:

0 - 499 HP = plankton
500 - 4,999 HP = minnow
5,000 - 49,999 HP = dolphin
50,000 - 499,999 HP = orca
500,000 HP and more = whale

Now we are bees in Hive so this aquatic division doesn´t seem very appropriate anymore but I know it´s still used and I´m pretty excited that I just made it to another level as I became an orca yesterday :)


Orcinus_orca-Zeichnung.jpg

Image source: wikimedia.org (Creative Commons Licence)


But before you start congratulating me on this milestone, let me explain :D In fact, I became an orca only thanks to our one and only @sandymeyer, an amazing dude and one of the leaders of the thriving Swiss community on Hive. Sandy has been a fan of my initiatives here on Hive and he wanted to support my curation efforts so he decided to delegate 12k of his HP to me to round my effective HP to 50k, which is the threshold of the orcahood. Thank you so much again Sandy, I´m really honored and pleased by this nice gesture of yours and I hope I will not disappoint you :)

Talking about the orcahood, I should also mention that I could have already been an orca myself without any delegations. You might now that I have been growing my account organically and last year, I was already at some 45k HP (accumulated only from my rewards) but unfortunately, I had to do a partial power down to cover my real life expenses so I sold (with a very very heavy heart) approximately one third of my then stake. If I didn´t have to do that, my current HP would most probably be somewhere between 50k and 60k now. But that´s not important. What matters now is that my stake is bigger than it was and that´s good for you guys, the content creators! :) I have been dedicating a lot of my time here on the chain to curation lately and now I will try to further up my curation game. I think it´s fair to show you my current curation stats. Usually, I give out around 400 upvotes to some 150 - 200 accounts every week, most of them manually of course. I still do some selfvoting too, I admit, but I have reduced this to just some 5%. You can see all of this in the screenshot below that I took from my HiveTasks profile.


Bez názvu.png


So yeah, that´s some little update on my suddenly increased HP and my curation activities :) I cannot wait to use the bigger votes in my initiatives like my Saturday upvote giveaway, my photo contests etc. but of course I will be also manually curating in communities and tags that I´m interested in.

Thanks for your attention everyone and keep those amazing posts coming! It will be my pleasure to check them out and reward them :)




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Sport, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving, guys! :)

Sort:  

💪💪👏

No ale tady bude někdo brzo delfínek... ;)

Congratulations!!! I am in that club of earning my Hive! I currently went over 46,000 yesterday and I am blessed to have that much. I give most of my earnings away with the markets, but, I have enough to be happy.

You do so much good on here, that I am happy for you and your new boost! Thank you for everything you do!! Woo-hoo@ Awesome @sandymeyer !!

Thank you Denise! :) 46k? Wow! Someone is going to join the orca club soon! :) So happy for you that you manage to grow your stake somehow even though you give out so much of your own rewards in your initiatives. Your contribution to this community is just priceless. So much appreciated. Thank you!

What a fabulous thing! I think you do a great job of curation, few orcas or whales (maybe none hahaha) interact as you do with other users, either commenting, with initiatives, contests, etc., so I congratulate you and wish you more success! :D

Aww thank you Sofia but I think there are many big accounts that engage with the community on daily basis just like me ;) We grow together as a community so it´s important to interact with each other, motivate each other and help each other ;) Hive is a team project.

Then I'll pay more attention to see more big users like you hehehe
Absolutely true what you say, these are key words: Hive is a team project.

Congratulations for having the Orca status.
Just let me point out a remark, the "marine life hierarchy" (as you put it), it is not base on the HP, is based on the amount of Vests, according to this table:
Redfish: 10^5 Vests
Minnow: 10^6 Vests
Dolphin: 10^7 Vests
Orca: 10^8 Vests
Whale: 10^9 Vests
The value of Vests in HP, varies due to the Hive inflation. I explained this with more details in a post when I reached the "dolphinhood".

Congratulations!

Thanks for the explanation! So I can see that even this system is more complex than I thought haha but not surprising given that we are here on Hive :D Or maybe there was another system because I´m pretty sure there was the plankton rank as well, which is something you didn´t mention in yours. Anyway, thanks for sharing this with me and for your congratulations, I appreciate it ;)

Enjoy the power granted to you and use it wisely!
Hard work does pay off on the Hive chain!

Absolutely! And thanks ;)

Congratulations @phortun on reaching a new level 🎉🎉🥳🥳 orca is great!
It doesn’t matter that you had a little help and you had to power down before. Just great to hear you are beyond that level now. And you do a great job around here and we all are really appreciative for it!
Up to more growth together 💪🏻🐝😎
Have a wonderful day today!

Thank you for your kind words as always LittleBee :) We all grow together indeed, that´s one of the most beautiful things about Hive. Nobody can achieve here anything just on their own. It´s a team work :)

You are so welcome @phortun as always 😉😊
So correct! It is all team work 😎🤓
Happy Tuesday ☀️

Thank you and likewise ;)

Thanks 🤗🤗😁

Congratulations man! Indeed, it is not easy to grow up alone here without getting touch with others. That's why we call it Hive Community.

So it is your turn now to delegate me some HP so that I become a dolphin! Joking :)

Right :) I´m really glad that your Turkish community has been so active lately, I think there is a lot of onboarding Hive potential in your country as it´s a big one ;) With your increased posting acivity, you will be a dolphin in no time! ;)

Wow this is huge and congrats on the delegation and like you said your doing well to actually reach the goal of 50k without the delegation which I believe with your hardwork you can achieve it. Congrats once again it is well deserved.

Thanks man :) Yeah, I could have already been an orca myself if I didn´t have to cash out last year so it´s definitely possible to reach these goals organically without investing your fiat. But it takes time, effort, persistence and dedication of course ;)

Your right it takes time persistence and dedication in achieving the goals

Wow, that's great, man. I think soon you'll be able to orca organically too. Time to reward some good writers!

Well it may take me another year or so to become orca on my own but that´s ok with me, I almost was there already and I´m patient and persistent enough to make it happen on the second attempt :) Thanks for stopping by!

I think you'll be an orca sooner than that. I'm close to being a minnow and I can't deny @macchiata's contribution. My goal for now is to become an organic minnow 😂.

Usually, I cannot grow much faster than 1k HP per month so that would be a year but we will see what happens :) Anyway, good luck reaching your goals!

Win win for all, you as the curator have a chance to really make a difference with your vote. And also for sandymeyer who know the stakes is being used wisely.

Supercool!

I think that´s why he did it :) Not everyone here has the time and capacities to be curating on the chain every day of course. Thanks for your positive feedback Karin!

Well, you deserved to be an orca even if your HP is below 50K... It´s the fun challenges you are initiating here and the interaction of Hivers in your contests that is not only good for Hive´s ecosystem but also good for newbies out there who are just learning the ropes here in the blockchain.

Thank you! I have been always trying to increase the engagement on my blog (and Hive in general too of course) and I´m really happy to see the results of my effort :) Thank you again for your kind words and support of my initiatives!

Congratulations. Another milestone in long journey that deserve to be celebrate after a lot of work and hardship. Again, congratulations

Thank you my friend! :)

untitled.gif

Gratulace! :)

Btw neměloby to bejt na Hive něco jako vosa > včela > sršeň > čmelák? :D

Dík! :D Jako jo no, hmyzí rank by teď dával větší smysl, ale zas nevím, jestli by třeba někdo chtěl mít status masařky nebo hovada :D

Hovada by mohli bejt notoričtí spammeři :D

:DD

50k+ HP isn't a joke but a great achievement which is a prove of hard work and excellent spirit. Enjoy your new level on hive. Be bigger than better.

Congratulations

Thanks but my credit in this particular milestone is not really big, I was just trusted :)

All the same thanks. Not every one could be trusted. Trust in this our generation is very expensive as only a few people could be trusted.

Even if temporary... congratulations for the milestone!! I hope to see you as a big fat permanent Orca in a near future. 😉 Cheers! !BEER
Ps. Are you going to Hivefest?

Thank you my friend! :) Big fat permanent orca sounds good :D HiveFest? Probably not. Are you going?

Seriously considering going. Missing travelling and would love to meet some of the people I've been interacting here for ages in real life!

Yeah, that´s right :) I actually got to meet some familiar faces back in 2018 in Krakow as I stopped by for just one night to say hi (my Czech hometown is just some 3 hours train ride from Krakow) and it was amazing :) Will see if I can make it to Amsterdam this year...

.

Thank you! We all grow together on Hive, like one big crypto family :D ;)

.

.

I actually grow my Leo stake just like I have been doing it with Hive: organically. The problem with Leo is that I only started doing so a couple of months ago :D

Ať už s delegací nebo bez ní, je to zasloužený a vydřený úspěch. Věřím, že za pár měsíců budeš kosatka i bez delegace.
GRATULUJI :-)

Děkuji :) Jestli si pamatuješ, tak nějaké "kosatkovské plány" už tu jednou byly a úplně to nevyšlo, tak bych nerad předbíhal :D Ale vidím, že ty jsi na své "delfínství" dosáhl už dávno, gratuluju :)

Jo, plány. Většinou raději neplánuju :-)
Bylo to někdy začátkem roku. Díky :-).

You’ll make a fun orca with the initiatives you run. Congrats! I hope you get to keep the delegation for longer:)

Thank you! It surely is a good news for the participants of my initiatives where I reward the winners with upvotes :)

Gratuluji! Jak dlouho Ti to trvalo od začátku delfína ke kosatce? K velrybě by to mělo jít rychleji. Když se říká, že každý začátek je těžký, tak by z toho mělo plynout, že konce jsou lehké...

Tou kosatkou jsem se teď stál víceméně náhodou. Jen dočasně a s dopomocí. Bylo mi delegováno. Jinak jsem jí ale mohl být už dávno, kdybych loni na podzim nepotřeboval vybrat asi třetinu své tehdejší HP. Od delfína ke kosatce? Nevím, kdy přesně jsem dosáhl na prvních pět tisíc HP a nechce se mi to teď hledat, ale obecně se dá říct, že posledních pár let rostu tempem zhruba tisíc HP měsíčně...

Já si Tvůj článek přeložil. Teoreticky bys měl růst parabolicky, tzn. Tvůj růst by se měl zrychlovat. Záleží na tom, v jaké části paraboly teď jsi...

Teoreticky ano, ale těch faktorů je víc. Teď mi třeba nedávno vypadlo (z různých důvodů) několik pravidelných podporovatelů. Taky dost záleží na tom, co a kdy postuješ. Já si (jako spousta dalších lidí) vystřílel svůj nejlepší matroš (z cest) hned během prvních měsíců, kdy mě tu ještě nikdo neznal a nepodporoval. Teď bych za ty stejné články dostal úplně jiné ohodnocení. A dalo by se pokračovat...

Hive je svým způsobem zajímavá strategická hra. Jako ostatně celý lidský život...

!BEER

Thanks & cheers! :)

🐋

:)

Congratulations @phortun! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 52000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 54000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022

Hey @phortun, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @phortun, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Oh really? I thought the different levels always started with a five. I mean 500, 5k, 50k, 500k... Then I´m not an orca yet and this post is all just fake news! :D :(