Something old made something new

in DIYHub2 years ago (edited)

It’s always intensely rewarding to be able to breathe new life into an old piece of furniture that has been discarded by its previous owner. Here is a small project that I undertook this September…

When I was busy building our cabin nearly two years ago, a friend brought a chair along with him one day. He had fallen off of a ladder the previous day while painting a wall and decided that his old chair was a safer option for extending his reach. After looking at this sad chair sitting on our wooden deck for 18 months, I decided to give it a new lease on life this September.

The seating area had a rather interesting “butt biting” crack in it.

The first step was to find new material for the seating area. I had some old tongue-and-groove flooring plank off-cuts lying around which looked as if they would work. After scratching around amongst the various offcuts of wood lying in the yard, I found enough to make a new seat.

The first step needed was to clean the tongues and grooves of a year’s worth of dirt.

The next step was to pour cold glue into the grooves and clamp all the planks together to make a solid base

Once the glue had set, I marked out the new seat using the old one as a kind of rough template.

The shape was then cut out with a jigsaw…

And finally sanded with a sanding disc on a small angle grinder.

After securing the new seat to the frame, the final step in this process was a couple of quick coats of yacht varnish.

I’m quite happy with the results. An old chair has been given a new lease on life using (other than the yacht varnish) reclaimed materials.


It saddens me to see how often we as a species readily discard items that we see as old, damaged or irrepairable. Often all that is needed is a little patience and tlc and new life can be breathed into something that would otherwise end up on a landfill.

It is my hope that this simple little project inspires you to also breathe new life into some old relic that is just waiting for a second chance at life.


50% of the rewards of this post will be shared with @ivangeevo for managing my account.
Sort:  

Looks really good man, kudos!

 2 years ago  
Thank you for sharing this post in the DIYHub Community!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator elizacheng & you just received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative. Your post will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you. Much appreciated:-) Hope to share more soon.

Congratulations @ekim01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I know this type of chairs, these were very popular years ago, you could find these in any office.

However, congrats for giving it a new life. I'm a huge fan of recycling, especially furniture and you did a great job. The photos are amazing.

I see someone else is managing your account. I don't know what that means, I hope you're writing the content and in that case, maybe you could be more active as I see you haven't been lately. Hive is an amazing platform, where you can not only learn a lot but make new friends as well.

Anyway, I hope to see more posts from you :)

Hi erikah! Firstly, thanks for your support and feedback on this post. Yeah, these chairs are somewhat ubiquitous. A few weeks back I actually managed to pick up another one that had been dumped on the side of the road. It's going to be a far more challenging job as there are some critical structural pieces missing which will need to be made from scratch. There are some old oak beams on our property that should work as replacement material after some judicious sawing and shaping... Hold thumbs!
To answer your question regarding my account being managed by ivangeevo. This basically means that I create the content and give it to him to post and "manage" my hive account on a daily basis. I left social media a couple of years ago due to a desire to spend more "deliberate" time in the real world. Whilst I view HIVE as a different animal from traditional social media and I believe that is a concept that can and should yield nett positive results whilst adding value to the community, my lifestyle does not allow me to regularly check in on the community. That's where Ivan comes in. If there's something I need to know, he will involve me. He and I are also chatting about supporting other content that we like. I have been building up some material over summer which I will be working on over winter and releasing as it becomes available. So please watch this space,😉 Thanks again for your support.

Looks like you don't get scared when things look difficult to fix, which is good. Challenges make us better and the more you adventure into the unknown, the more experience you accumulate.

I asked about the account as it's a bit confusing when I am writing to you and someone else is replying to me, or I am not sure who is replying to me. Also there's the engagement part on Hive, which is very important. I understand you wanted to quit social media more than you think as I'm only using Twitter and that is mainly to stay informed about what's going on in the world and especially in the crypto world.

However, as you mentioned, Hive is different. It can't be compared to other social media platform as it's way more than that. I hope to see you more active in the future and I'm looking forward to checking out the other chair :)

I wholeheartedly agree with your sentiments with regard to facing challenges and indeed to overcoming adversity. The content that I am working on at the moment is part of a larger project. I'm hoping to inspire people to take control of their own destinies and live more fulfilling lives. Apologies for any possible confusion as to who is replying to your comments ☺️ In this case this is me, the content creator, Ekim. As far as the other chair is concerned... it may unfortunately be a fairly long wait as there is much to do before I get to that project 😃

I wholeheartedly agree with your sentiments with regard to facing challenges and indeed to overcoming adversity. The content that I am working on at the moment is part of a larger project. I'm hoping to inspire people to take control of their own destinies and live more fulfilling lives. Apologies for any possible confusion as to who is replying to your comments ☺️ In this case this is me, the content creator, Ekim. As far as the other chair is concerned... it may unfortunately be a fairly long wait as there is much to do before I get to that project 😃