Food Prep To Save Some Cash!

in DIYHub β€’ 2 years ago

The Winter is so frightful
But the fire place in front of me is delightful
Since we've no place to go
Let's chop some onions

🀣

It is -25 C outside, friends. Been cold since yesterday and the day(s) before. It's been inside day(s) for the boys' school, which has been nice. I drop them off, and off inside they go, instead playing around outside waiting for the school bell to go off πŸ₯Ά

Today my husband and I made the boys cried. I wonder if we did illegal thing πŸ€”

😁😁😁😁

I love getting potatoes, onions, carrots and/or other produce and fruits! Like apples, in big bag(s) rather than small ones. The price is almost the same, yet we will get bazillion of them, right. But the problem is....if am not cooking/baking daily, I'd waste them and that is sad crazy.

I mean....you have in mind to save some $, but what's the point if they go to waste. And with the prices going up how at the stores, buying in large quantities are the better option in a way or two.

Sooooo....meal/food prep to the rescue!

Like the other week, we got 2 big bags of apricots. I made them into jam and spread. Which later I used for baked goods (I still have to edit the vids! Gonna share it soon 🀣).

But earlier?

We chopped bazillion onions 😁

20211205_134835_1638740506068.jpg

My husband called the boys down to the kitchen and asked them to try the new chopper. I love this chopper, but I've gone through like 3 of them for the past 2 years. They are handy, but keeps breaking! Wtf!

This morning my husband got a new one. Different brand but all in all the same as our previous one.

20211205_133740_1638740570316.jpg

Anyhoo.

My youngest chopped once and he...of course...started feeling something in his eyes πŸ˜…

He said...why my eyes hurting, like something in my eyes. I think I feel like crying.

My husband giggled, ladies and gents.

That was his intention for calling the boys to the kitchen πŸ€£πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ˜…

I got 1 huge bag red onions, and a couple of bags of regular white, smaller ones, onions.

20211205_133732_1638740527411.jpg

My oldest explained to his brother that onion has acidic compound that irritate the eyes hence he cried.

Now...when the boys were little, one of the bed time stories from Indonesia that I told them, was the story of Bawang Merah, Bawang Putih. Literally translated as red onion and white onion - but the actual story is about shallots and garlic.

Apparently my oldest remembered the story, so he chose to chop the white onion...not realizing the story was about garlic instead. He thought, chopping the white wouldn't make him cry, because in the story, white onion a.k.a garlic was a kind girl, unlike shallots who are mean and would make other cry with her words and attitude.

So he started choking and about to cry too as he chopped the white onion πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ˜…πŸ€£ He said....whaaa.....it's white onion, it shouldn't have affected me. 🀣🀣🀣🀣

20211205_141045_1638740596868.jpg

Anyhoo.

These onions are going into the freezer 😊 Should last way longer now rather than just hanging them in the kitchen. They will either go moldy, rotten, or dried up and unused.

I chopped the red onion using the bigger blade (the chopper comes with 2 blades. One with bigger holes than the other), while the white smaller onion with the smaller blade. With the smaller blade, I got chopped onions that are similar to the frozen chopped onions you could get at grocery stores btw!

20211205_140520_1638740656888.jpg

20211205_133549_1638740548520.jpg

They are good for indefinitely supposedly, when stored properly in the freezer, but for sure 6-8 months!

Obviously you can always grab a smaller bag should you know you will go through them quickly. But if you'd like to safe some $ by getting larger bag, you can prep them for the freezer and use only as much as you would need each time πŸ˜‰

See you around!

Sort: Β 

That's a great idea that we're too lazy for XD

And also we'd need a better freezer, the chest freezer that we have loves infecting everything with frost, we mostly keep pet food and stuff that is going to go in the oven and a bit of extra moisture won't hurt x_x

Awesome idea! I'm always throwing an onion out at least once a week. I will be doing this from now on!