Homemade Dulce de Leche

in DIYHub11 months ago

Hi Lovelies!

Do you like caramel? I LOVE everything caramel and caramel-like flavor. Brown sugar, I love. Maple syrup, I love. Palm sugar, I love. Dulce de Leche, I love. Butterscotch, I love. Hmm what else, lemme think 🤔 Basically I just love anything sweets, I guess 😁😆😆😁

Anyhoo.

My coworker asked me whether I knew this caramel flavored sweetened condensed milk, which then I made sure whether she meant Dulce de Leche. Yep. We both have one thing in common turns out. We love dulce de Leche 😁. However, she doesn't like the commercially available ones. She loves super thick dulce de Leche. I told her, hey I make those once awhile, esp. back then when I was still doing cakes. Long story short, I made her one on the weekend. Boy o' boy. She was overjoyed big time 🤩

20230605_094534_1687194719069.jpg

If you love it as well and would like to make it yourself, here is how I make mine. Super easy to make and you can spoon it as is, spread over cake layers, fill up cupcakes, or even turn it into pie and/or any other type of desserts 🤩

20230605_094713_1687204403021.jpg

1 can of sweetened condensed milk
A lot of water
Medium size but tall pot, for boiling

Peel off the paper from the milk can, then submerge the can in a lot of water. You want to make sure the can is totally under the water and some more.

Bring to boil for 5 H (for thick result), 3-4 H for store bought- like texture.

20230603_082516_1687204709349.jpg

20230603_082529_1687204453689.jpg

You want to keep adding hot water while boiling, whenever the water in the pot is going low. Again, the can needs to be totally covered with water.

20230603_084029_1687204680364.jpg

20230603_183332_1687204781033.jpg

Once 5 H marked, turn off stove and take out can off of pot. Let cool to room temperature before opening.

Enjoy 😍

Sort:  

Looks like something J would enjoy XD

Yaaasss!! I love this big time, i can just spoon and spoon and spoon and gain weight 😅

Interesting. I have never heard of this. I might have to put it on a list of things to do.

It is soooo good. You can get ready to consume ones at grocery stores btw!

Yum yum! A friend of mine who used to make cakes also used to make her own dulce de leche. I haven't tried it myself, but like you, I'm a huge caramel lover... I wonder why I haven't bothered to make this..? It's far easier than the hours I've spent over the stove making caramel sauce. 😅

It's so good to see you are still active in the space! I've been away for a couple years, but working to get back into the blogging thing. Looking forward to seeing you around again!

Long time no see, lady! Hope youve been well!

Wow, I have seen how they prepare dulce de leche with whole milk and sugar, and even cooking the condensed milk without stopping beating but I had never seen this technique, it looks super useful and an amazing result

Give a try 🙃