Hive: Alchemist - Our Journey

in BDCommunity4 years ago

Hive: Alchemist - Our Journey

This is sort of a follow up to the previous post I had which people liked. I am unsure why, but I am free to guess. I am thinking that most people, who liked it, felt the same way I felt at least during sometime along their Hive Journey. Recently I have been out on vacation and had time to think about a lot of different things. At the same time I was reading a couple of books, The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho and also a books by Haruki Murakami, The Hard Boiled Wonderland & The End of the World. The later I am still not finished, and struggling with it a bit, but the former is one of my most favorite book and I have read it a number of times, and it is an exceptionally easy read.

Perfect_Light.JPG

I was recently been to Mt. Rainier National Park area, and the picture above in Bench Lake within the NP. That rock outcrop overlooking the lake below is one of the best spot is sit down, relax and read your favorite book. It requires a bit of a walk to get there, but it is not bad. So as I were sitting there and reading The Alchemist, with my kids went down to the outlet stream by the lake to play with dragonflies, world takes a calm content feeling. I was not too far from the nearest paved road yet miles from the civilization. I kept thinking there are some honest people who spend 4 years plus of their life here on hive. There are some honest developers who are building hive daily. There are some web developer, game developers, working on the second layer solutions. There are some talented gamers who are playing different blockchain games, writing reviews of other PC/console games. There are honest bloggers, artists, singers, photographers... and all other kinds of content producers who are trying honestly to put something out there for the rest of us to consume. Why?

No I refused to believe it is JUST for the money. Rewards are a by-product. It is an incentive. In some cases, in the developing world, it may even be a life support, especially under the current circumstances. But no, I don't believe majority of us are doing it just for the money. Call me naive, but I like to believe that.

So What? We make Fire... then we make Pizza? :)

No, not really. But look we did make a fire. We did make a community project. Yes, not everything is good about it, and there is things that can be improved. I get it. But look even if you say, we copy-pasted a blockchain; go try it, its not that easy. Notice, others have tried it too, but I think we got the right people

Fire.JPG

That is the fire I made by my backyard of the cabin I was staying at. As you can perhaps see it is late burn. I enjoy staying by the fire when the flames are gone. Damn I just thought about a podcast called Slow Burn! Oh that first one on Watergate was good! I digress!

But anyways, I was thinking while sitting by the fire, when rest of the family went to bed, are we doing this right? Is there going to any light at the end of the tunnel. I like to think so. Then I thought, we are positively changing people's lives already. I personally know multiple individuals who are currently living off hive income, even at these low prices. For a successful content creator it is already possible in the developing world. So why not in the developed world in future. Mind you, they are not rich or anything, but they are using hive as their single source of income. I think that swells.

chair.JPG

The following day, I had time again to sit my the river at dusk. Dusk is a quite time around there, other than the sound of water and a few birds, there are no other sounds. Definitely, no human sound. Times like this you consider can you be Santiago, and turn yourself into the wind? Hey, maybe I did, may be that is why you don't see me in that picture sitting on that bench. :)

Sort:  

Which would be worse: To live as a monster, or to die as a good man?

like you dada, I too refuse to believe that we can not change. We cant be those who kills the monsters and still live as a good man.

While growing up, Ive seen hypocrisy, betrayal and self proclaimed sovereigns fall. Ive seen people who are inherently evil lived a life that i used to fantasize about. And Ive seen them getting chased away by the few good peoples of our society. Still, both exist on broad spectrum. Because, unless there's evil, we cant compare and call its counterpart good. And we have to live with that. But at the end of the day, its our morale, our conscience and philosophy is what lives on. Shows the way to those who are lost.

Akashlal na thakle Shomoresh আট কুঠুরি নয় দরজা likhten na, ar amra revolution ki tao chintam na. You are our Akashlal dada. :)

What it takes is only one motivated Santiago to burn a torch. And the rest is written in maktub

When I was your age I used to think it must to one or the other. But with age I think our realization changes.... these days I ask myself what’s really the difference between a monster and a good man? A monster have some goodness in him/her and I know for a fact all good person does have a monster within.

I mentioned this before perhaps: someone’s terrorist is the other persons freedom fighter.

You can say the above all you want but you will never realize until you actually meet, talk and be friends with one Sakib. I have, so I know.

There is a reason I find depth is somethings in a kids movie maybe... and that’s why I say

“Mohisasoor sotti, Honuman sotti, captain spark sotti, ononyodev sotti, Tarzan sotti....”

:)

Notice, others have tried it too, but I think we got the right people

We absolutely got the best people around, the other projects have very little talent in the background.

I'm glad people are using Hive as income, and people like Marly have done the same in the past, in the developed world - these success stories are important I think.

Thanks for the thought-provoking posts, once I complete your latest recommendation (been so lazy with this one!), I will order The Alchemist for another read.

You were having an excellent time! Books you can always read when you get back to Nottingham. :) I read a bit while on vacation... it was so relaxing to get out of Houston.

We did talk about the retirement you know, decided that we want this terrible year to pass and perhaps go to Hawaii and make a call while sitting near another volcano

You know dada, during my stay at Hangzhou in china, when I needed to get away from all the chaos of managing hospital shifts and classes, I used to go sit on a by the west lake and just watch the sunset.

That last image made me wish there was such a bench there. Well, there were a lot of benches and that area used to be swarming with people. But on the side of the lake I used to sit was usually empty, no people around. Neither were there benches. Maybe that's why that part was always so empty :)

perhaps it was a blessing that there was no bench by that lake, maybe that's why you have that solitude. Hangzhou is a populated city, and I think perhaps it is not easy to find a place to yourself over there.

I enjoyed that bench... I think quite simply that bench was certainly one of best memories of this trip.

It is quite densely populated. But finding solitude was never an issue for me ;) I knew places! I had an e-bike and I used to venture out on it looking for places people don't frequent, like the part of the lake I mentioned :)

I think quite simply that bench was certainly one of best memories of this trip

There is something about the ambiance of the bench, I can't quite put my fingers on it. Maybe reminds me of simpler times, who knows :)

It did remind me of simpler times. You know I have a quite strange and bizarre life. I am not complaining, mind you! I won't have it in any other way. However, what I have saying from where I started and where I am not in my mid life is so different that I had no idea that I will be here looking back when I was a young adult.

So often, I do miss the simple things of life, which I can still get today... but I have to put effort into it. Earlier it used to come naturally :)

I don't wanna go all emo/cliche by saying this, but I do think when it comes naturally we often tend to just go with the flow, and only begin to actually appreciate it when we have to put an effort for. I know I'm saying this now, but I'm sure 15 years from now, I'd be craving for what right now I'm thinking to be a not so simple time :)

My favorite part of the wilderness is being self reliant. It unleashes the other senses.

agree, especially for a city dweller like me, I get tried of the confinement.

Congratulations @azircon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 250 posts. Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I read quite a lot of books, but passed Paulo Coelho, and... it seems I read some of Haruki Murakami...
After reading such a warm post, I felt some inconvenience that I am unfamiliar with their work. :-|

On the topic of the second part of the post, I can add that the main motive and magnet is money. And that's normally. Another serious incentive is attention of the viewers, readers, colleagues, competitors and others

So this is to be interesting to someone.

Well it is never too late to read. It is not that they are going away :)

Se ve que fue un hermozo paseo y lo has disfrutado mucho, me agrado las fotos, gracias, por compartir te sigo.

Rewards are a by-product. It is an incentive.
But no, I don't believe majority of us are doing it just for the money.

Right Dada. These are eye opening words. I believe so. Not everyone here is working to get rewards only. The satisfaction of doing a good job works more. When I write a new article and after publishing it, I feel like I have created something and that feeling is difficult to express in words.

Times like this you consider can you be Santiago, and turn yourself into the wind? Hey, maybe I did, may be that is why you don't see me in that picture sitting on that bench. :)

And on that day, you have transcended mortality.

Oh, I probably have done that before :)

Hello sir @azircon I really enjoy the beauty of the view that you shared, thank you very much for entertaining us here ..

Stepping away from it all and soaking up some good Ol’ nature is a great way to get your perspective back in line. Going out fishing last weekend sure did wonders for me. Despite the little catastrophe that happened. I feel as though I have been going non stop for months on end but being on the calm waters of the Columbia River was the medicine I needed

Beautiful pictures!

Alchemist is indeed a nice motivational read. If you like Paulo Coelho, I recommend you go for "The Winner Stands Alone".

May be I should get back to reading too. It's been a year since I read the last novel, feels like a century.

Looks like a very interesting read though I've got a headache so I can't focus on it at the moment, so I have bookmarked it and mentioned it in my blog tonight. 😀