The Weekly Turni—Issue 73

in BDCommunity2 years ago (edited)

Monday, February 21, 2022
সোমবার, ৮ই ফাল্গুন, ১৪২৮


image.png

dada.png

রবিবার ২০/২

"আমার ইটালিয়ান পাসপোর্ট!! " এইটা, এই মজার ভিডিওটা অনেকেই দেখেছে মনে হয়। এটাতে মজা পাওয়ার যেমন বিষয় আছে, তেমন একটা ভাষা এবং বর্ণবিদ্বেষ জড়িত বিষয়ও আছে।

আমি যখন শেষবার রোম এ গেছিলাম। দেখেছি যাবতীয় ছোট মুদিখানার মালিক হল বাংলাদেশী বাঙালি। এরা সকলে চমৎকার ইটালিয়ান বলে। অবশ্যই চমৎকার বাংলাও বলে। কিন্তু রোমের রাস্তাতে যত হকার তারাও সবাই বাঙালি। সমস্যাটা এখানে। প্রথম কথা এরা সকলে এখানে, মানে রোমে, আইনত ভাবে নেই। অধিকাংশ মানুষের কাজ করা অধিকার নেই। তার ফলে যা হয়, তা হল, ভ্যাটিকান এর সামনে বেলা দুইটার সময় হঠাৎ দেখি সব কাল চশমা বিক্রেতা বাঙালি ভাই দৌড়াতে শুরু করেছে। কেন? পুলিশের তাড়া।

সমস্যাটা শক্ত। যারা রোমে বেড়াতে যায়, তাদের রাস্তা থেকে কিছু কেনার দরকার নেই। রাস্তায় চোর-পুলিশ খেলা দেখার দরকার নেই। এটা রোম দেখার অংশ নয়। তাই তারা এই বিষয়টাতে বিব্রত। তারা অভিযোগ জানায়।

কিন্তু সেই বাঙালিরা ওখানে পেটের দায়ে গেছে। কিছু একটা ছোটখাট কাজ করতে চায়। ভাষাও শিখতে চায়। কিন্তু এরা কি কোনদিন ইটালির অবিচ্ছিদ্ধ অংশ হবে? আমার জানা নেই। কেন দেশে থাকার চেয়ে বিদেশে গিয়ে পুলিশের তাড়া খাওয়া ভাল, তাও জানা নেই। সমস্যা আছে। সমাধান করা দরকার। হয়ত আপনারাই সমাধান।

সম্পাদক


-- Artist @kinab


We're not made up of rainbows and sprinkles. A perfect amount of good, a dash of bad, and a whole lot of fire in our veins. With that keeping in mind, let nobody ever walk all over you and make you feel insignificant.

You're Beautiful.
Author - @martinlazizi I am beautiful ❤️


We are also delighted to announce two honorable mentions of the week.



-by @simplifylife

I uttered these words first when I was asked to give a speech at one of the 21st February programme at my school. Being in the school debate team for nearly 5 years by then, it was almost a given I had to give speeches at most school events.

Coming back to the lines above, I Don’t remember how I came up with these, or was it my dad who came up with the lines…but the truth us I didn’t really “fully” apprehend the depth of the words then. And yet these two lines remain the only two lines I remember from that speech. Later that day when we went out for lunch after the programme ended, my dad said that was by far the best speech I had delivered (and he has been to every single one of them over the course of my 5 year debating career), I remember none of it. Just the two lines that I didn’t understand much of.

But did I really not…? Or did I subconsciously know exactly what I was uttering and hence the strong imprints of “ভাষায় হাসে জাতি, ভাষায় কাঁদে জাতি” roamed free in my mind. Theories are up for debate, the fact remains.

Very soon after, I moved abroad for my undergraduate. I think that is when I truly started to “feel” the depth of the lines. On one of hose deep nights where you have those deep আড্ডাs with your mates…I uttered another line as we looked over the gorgeous midnight silence of the campus lake, “এসব সুখ দুঃখের কথা ওসব ইংরিজি ফিংরিজি দিয়ে হয় না ভাই।” And with an eureka moment of my own, I fully apprehended what “ভাষায় হাসে জাতি, ভাষায় কাঁদে জাতি” truly was all about.

To me, language is a means of getting closer to people, connecting with people on a level much deeper than the soul can touch.


-- by @notacinephile

I first came across Sapir-Whorf Hypothesis from a sci-fi film by Villeneuve called Arrival. The film was a tremendous success to me, but more so for how it predicted the possible response by humanity if we somehow establish the first contact with an extraterrestrial civilization. And what left a long-term impression was the Sapir-Whorf Hypothesis, also known as the linguistic relativity theory.

According to Sapir-Whorf—an individual understands reality based on the language they speak. Each language affects its speakers differently and their thought processes become unique, quite unlike speakers of other languages. And when a person learns a different language, they start to acquire unique characteristics, behaviors, thought processes that come with the language.

The film, Arrival, took this hypothesis to the extreme, where the alien civilization can write what they want non-linearly (unlike us). Their written communication is all at once. And when the protagonist starts to learn the language, she also starts to adopt the skill to see past, present, future all at once.

Now, even if we want to be disbelief at the length the film takes us, I feel like the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis is not baseless at all. English is my second language and I'm almost bilingual. And I have faced situations where I thought of some expressions in particular situations that can only be expressed in English. And no matter how hard I tried, I couldn't do that in my native tongue.
I'm learning French institutionally and this time around I'm actively monitoring how my thought process changes everyday anent French and nuances differ from the two languages I already know. I'm pretty sure there is some alteration that happened already.

The hypothesis is of course a hypothesis, not a theory and there is no tangible evidence to back this up. Still might be a great read for any interested body.

Read more on Sapir-Whorf hypothesis here!

And the film link is here!

{Image Source - Screenshot taken from the film }


-- by @surrealfia

Language plays a very important role in our lives.
The need for language arose from the need to communicate.

Yes, I have crossed the lines above. Those lines were nothing inappropriate but when it came down to writing something about language, those lines felt too ordinary and uninspiring. Nonetheless, we always demand to communicate through language, verbally, non-verbally, or in any other means. It's surprising there are so many mediums and platforms to communicate, so many different languages with innumerable words to express exactly what to want. Perhaps the most important function of language is communication, or maybe the only function. And, I believe that "expressing oneself" falls under communication as people will want to express themselves to someone. How good it feels to be able to express ourselves - that's not something we think about every day.

But something that is easy to do often becomes tough to accomplish.

In a perfect world, we speak freely and we find it comfortable to communicate without any hindrance, but how many others can understand! Choose a few people from different languages and try to communicate with them by means you're at ease. Is it as easy as it's portrayed to be? The diversified language comes with the big baggage of the language barrier. As When we're conversing with someone from another country of origin, we lean towards a common ground, a language we'd all understand. The hardship doesn't end there - a lot of gaps remain and there's also a big question about vocabulary. Often we fail to express and understand the other person.

Can you imagine how many people are capable of effortlessly communicating in a foreign language? Oh, I guess I can point a finger at myself while I write this whole piece in English. We'll get to pointing me later. Conversing in a second language is difficult. Think about how many blunders can be made (in English) just by not using appropriate punctuations besides grammatical errors - terrible, terrible blunders. Well, the phrase walking on eggshells seems fitting but misunderstandings are unavoidable. One can be proficient in expressing while the other may simply not realize what s/he is stating.

Learning a second language is excruciating. I remember back when I was just a kid, I hated learning grammar and it appeared to be useless and time-consuming - you won't hear me say that now. I can't give you tips on how to converse better or to learn a foreign language easily. To be honest, I'm not that good at English or any other language not native to mine. I can keep up a conversation and write a few lines but if you ask me about vocabulary, I politely decline. My vocabulary is very simple and somethinthat doesn't feel much of an inconvenience to relay my message. Language plays a vital role in putting your words together that makes sense to you but the message that you wish to convey relies on you. You can choose words that are fancy and yet you may sense a nagging feeling that they have failed to exhibit your point by a long shot. Speak freely how you wish to and also keep in mind that you also want to be understood.

Keeping it simple.


-by @zayedsakib

কোন ভণিতা ছাড়া সহজ সাবলীল বাংলায় আমার জন্যে লেখা বেশ কষ্টসাধ্য। ছোট্টবেলা থেকে
বিভূতিভুষন আর শীর্ষেন্দু পড়ে পড়ে যে মগজ ধোলাই খেয়েছি তা আমার বাংলা লেখায় বেশ প্রকট। সে জন্যে আমি বাংলায় খুব কম লিখি। আমার চেনা মানুষজন এসব পড়লে কী মনে করেন না করেন সেই ভয় সবসময় থাকে। লিখলেও নিজের জন্যে কদাচিৎ দু এক বাক্য লেখা হয়। আর তার অবস্থান সংকুলান হয় আমার গুগোল ডক্‌স এ। আজকেও লিখতাম না। একটু আগে ঘুম থেকে উঠে আমাদের শ্রদ্ধেয় সম্পাদকের এই বারের তুর্নির জন্যে লেখা সম্পাদকীয় পড়লাম। এখন কিছু একটা লেখার বীভৎস এক কুড়কুড়ানি মনের মধ্যে ঘোরাফেরা করে। দাদা যা লিখেছেন তা বেশ কয়েকটা পরিচিত অসংগতি নিয়ে কথা বলে। এর সবই আমরা জানি। কিন্তু এসব নিয়ে ইদানিং আমরা কেউ আর কথা বলি না।

সম্পাদক সাহেব আমাদের থেকে সাড়ে আষ্ট হাজার মাইল দূরে থাকেন। বিদেশ বিভূঁইয়ে তার বসতির সিলভার জুবিলী হয়ে গেছে। আপেক্ষিক দৃষ্টিকোণ থেকে দেখলে তাঁর সন্তান, স্ত্রী সহ তিনি নিজেও পশ্চিমা কালচারাল মেল্টিং পট এর অংশ হিসেবে এতদিনে অফেরতযোগ্য ভাবে বাংলা বিমূখ হয়ে যাবার কথা, তাই তো? কিন্তু সম্পাদকীয় এর ড্রাফট এর ছবি যা আপনারা উপরে দেখে আসলেন, তা এর বিপরীতে কথা বলে। অসংগতি অদৌ ধরতে পেরেছেন কি? পারলে আপনার জন্যে এই লেখা এর পরে আর পড়বার প্রয়োজন নেই। না পারলে বাকিটুকু আপনার জন্যে।

আমরা বাঙ্গালী। আমাদের সব বাংলায় হয়। প্রেম নিবেদন থেকে ভরপেট খাওয়া শেষে বায়ুত্যাগ পর্যন্ত। কিন্তু জাতি হিসেব আমরা অদ্ভুত রকমের মাতৃভাষা বিমূখ। এই ভাষার চর্চা হাতে গোণা কয়েকজন বাদে এখানে কারোর নেই বললেই চলে। একটু গায়ে লাগার মত কথা বলে ফেললাম তাই না? তবুও এ এক মারাত্বক রকমের শক্ত সত্যি। যেই বাংলায় আমরা ভাত খাই, সে বাংলার ভাত কমে গেছে। এর পেছনে কিন্তু আমাদেরই দোষ। আমাদের স্কুল কলেজে মায়ের ভাষার থেকে অন্য ভাষার চর্চা বেশি। এমন না যে এটাই সমস্যা। কিন্তু সমস্যা ‘বেশি’ তে। ফলস্বরূপ দেখবেন যে বাংলায় ভালো কিছু হচ্ছে না। ভালো সাহিত্যিক গত বিশ বছরে তেমন কেউ আসেন নি। বাংলায় ভালো চলচিত্র দশকে একটা আসে। আর আমরা বইমেলায় যাই ছবি তুলে সামাজিক মাধ্যমে দিয়ে খ্যাতি খোজার জন্যে।

হাইভের কথাই যদি বলতে হয়, আজ থেকে এই দু বছর আগেও এই প্লাটফর্ম এ বাংলার কোন চল ছিল না। কেউ বাংলায় লিখতেন না। আবার বাংলায় লিখলে ডাউনভোট খাবার সুযোগ ও নেহায়েত কম ছিল না। সেখানে আজকের হাইভে বাংলায় সাহিত্য চর্চার সুযোগ রয়েছে। অবাধে প্রবন্ধ লেখবার সুযোগ রয়েছে। বাংলাকে তুলে ধরবার সুযোগ রয়েছে।

মায়ের ভাষার থেকে মনের ভাব প্রকাশের আর কোন সহজ মাধ্যম নেই। আমি নিজেই মানুষ মনে করবে তার থোড়াই পরোয়া করে হটাৎ হটাৎ লিখে ফেলি। আজকেও লিখলাম। যারা পড়ছেন, আপনারাও একবার চেষ্টা করেই দেখুন। সাড়ে আট হাজার মাইল দূরে পঁচিশ বছর ধরে থাকা এক বাঙ্গালের ভাষার প্রতি দরদ আপনার থেকে বেশি হলে তা থেকে লজ্জাস্কর আর কিছু হতে পারে না। একটু অপমান করে ফেললাম, কিছু মনে করলে করতে পারেন। যার গায়ে লাগবে, এসব কথা সেই গায়ে লাগানো ব্যাক্তির জন্যেই। নিচে কয়েকটা হাতে লেখা ছড়া দেয়া আছে। বাংলা ভুলে গিয়ে থাকলে এখান থেকেই আবার শুরু করতে পারেন।

image.png

image.png

image.png


-- by @riz611

Language to me is freedom, whether it be our own language or any other that we’ve learned along the way. Language gives you the freedom to express yourself to the fullest, especially when it’s your mother tongue. No matter how good you are in another language. Don’t matter how many languages you may speak, you might even be really fluent too. Yet, your mother tongue, your native and local language will forever hold the power of true expression.

Even if we talk about a foreign language, a language that you’ve learned along the way in life. A language that you might have fully mastered. These languages that we learn as we grow up act as more of a bridge I believe. A bridge that connects us.

Many see language as a tool, a medium that simply is used for communication. However, I believe it is quite more than that, it’s not as simple to me. Even though I can’t truly explain what it really is. Even if I found out its true "meaning" and gave it a "worthy" definition, that would just be my own perspective I believe. I believe we all have given language a different and unique definition in our minds.

For example, most of us began learning English at an early age through media such as our schools, movies, and television shows. For many of us, English is the first language we learn, but we may subsequently choose to learn a different one based on our personal preferences.

If I'm being honest, I can say that I've attempted to learn quite a few other languages. The majority of it was taught in school at the time, therefore it was a necessity to explore and learn.

In fifth grade, we were exposed to French as a foreign language. Even while I found French fascinating, especially when it came to speaking, I didn't find it as fascinating when it came to writing. That's why I'm leaning more toward our second choice, which was Chinese. At the time, I reasoned that concentrating on Chinese speakers would have been a wiser move, given China's expanding dominance and rapid expansion. In addition, the majority of our family business's suppliers and manufacturers were from China. Because of this, the decision was nearly unavoidable.

Yet, no matter how good I got in these other languages, English always came out on top, after Bangla of course. I guess it was just the dominance of English all around me, almost 24/7, hand in hand with our local version of Bengali that was used all around me.

However, after learning and building up on my “English skills” for over two decades now. I can still never express myself to the fullest in English, at least when it comes to the spoken aspect of languages. I might get close, yet most of the time something would still be missing. Unlike Bengali, my mother tongue. Other languages can't even come close to the freedom and flexibility that Bangla gives me when it comes to expressing myself.

No matter who you are, wherever you are, if given the chance, you will surely choose to speak in your own native language. You won’t even have to try, it will just take control when given the chance. At a certain point in life it truly becomes innate, inherent. That to me is freedom, being yourself, to express yourself and feelings to the fullest.

And I guess the part about freedom I mentioned earlier is simply present, because of our own mother tongue and how we fought for it as a nation. To me it’s freedom because it’s all hardwired into me that way from a young age. Since language has always been an important part in our culture here.

A nation that fought for its rights to speak its mother tongue. That is why I believe my mother tongue, Bengali and langauge itself, is freedom. I believe it is the same when it comes to any of us and our mother tongues. Every other language, to me all of it simply functions like a bridge, one that brings many of us together. A bridge that helps to us to communicate, know one another and grow as human beings.


-- by @chrysanthemum

ভাষা আমার কাছে এই আমি বোধের পরিচায়ক। বাংলার রুপরসে তিলে তিলে এই বাংলার অহং বা বাঙালিত্ত্বর বড়াই শুধু বেড়েছে; কমেনি একরত্তি। সেই আধো আধো বোল আর আমার পুরোটা জুড়ে থাকা স্বপ্নের শব্দময় ভালোলাগার উচ্চারণ, সে বাংলা ছাড়া আর কোথায় পাব?

রক্ত দিয়ে যে ভাষার মান রেখেছে আমার ভাই; আজ সেই ভাষায় কতশত কবি, সাহিত্যিক, লেখক, শিল্পী, গায়ক আর নচেৎ কোটিখানেক সাধারণ আমজনতা (এই আমি-আপনি আরকি) প্রাণ খুলে মনের কথা অকপটে বলে চলেছি। আমি, আপনি, কথার পিঠে কথা চড়িয়ে গেঁথে চলেছি কথার মালা।

অবাক লাগে, বাংলা মাতৃভাষীরা খুব সহজেই অন্য ভাষার সুক্ষ উচ্চারণ বিধি খুব সহজেই আয়ত্ত করছি। এর কারণ বাংলা ভাষা তার ধ্বনিভান্ডারে আনেক সমৃদ্ধ, অনেক ধ্বনি অন্য ভাষায় পাওয়াই যায় না। তবে, শব্দ উচ্চারণে যেসব স্বরযন্ত্রের প্রয়োজন হয় তার বেশির ভাগই বাংলা বিভিন্ন ধ্বনি উচ্চারণে আমরা ব্যবহার করি হরহামেশাই। এই চর্চা এই কঠিন কাজটাকে করেছে আরো সহজ।

উদার এই বাংলা ভাষা বিভিন্ন কারন বা অকারণে আপন করে নিয়েছে বহু ভাষাকে। দুপাতা মধ্যযুগের সাহিত্য ঘেটে আসুন, অর্ধেকের বেশি পাবেন ফারসি, উর্দু, হিন্দি অথবা অন্য কোন ভাষার শব্দ। সমগোত্রীয় তো বটেই সাথে অনান্য ভাষা থেকে বহু শব্দ চলে এসেছে এ ভাষায়। ইন্দো-ইয়োরোপীয় ভাষাগোষ্ঠী থেকে এই বাংলা ভাষা-নদী কত শত পথ পরিক্রমায় এই আধুনিক বাংলায় এসেছে তা অতি চমকপ্রদ। সে কথা অন্য একদিন বলব।

তবে "প্রমিত" বাংলাই যে শুধু আমার অহং বোধের কারণ তা নয়। উল্লেখযোগ্য কিছু ডাইলেক্ট বা উপভাষা; বাংলার সহোদর বলতে পারেন, আমাকে যারপরনাই আকৃষ্ট করে। অঞ্চলভেদে বাংলা তার বিচিত্র রুপ জাহির করতে এতটুকু কার্পণ্য করেনি। জনপদ থেকে আরেক জনপদে এই বৈচিত্র্য হয়ে উঠেছে আরো অনন্য।

বাংলা সাহিত্য বলেন আর শিল্প বলেন, বাড়িয়ে বলছি বলতে পারেন, তবে আমার কাছে তা; আহা, যেন পেয়ে গেলাম তারে; আমার মনের মানুষ যে রে! এই আনন্দ অনুভূতির তুলনা নাই। ডজনখানেক উৎকৃষ্ট কারণ স্পষ্টতর হলেও আমরা আজ সেই মর্ম বুঝতে পারি না। অন্য কালচার অথবা ভাষা ভালোলাগা বা চর্চায় দোষের কিছু নাই। তবে আমি মনে করি সাংঘর্ষিক ক্ষেত্রেবিশেষে অনেককিছুই এড়িয়ে চলা উত্তম।

এইযে বলছিলাম বাংলাভাষা বৈচিত্রের কথা, অনেকেই ধরতে পারবেন যে বাংলা ভাষায় এই লোকসংগীতের রত্নভান্ডার তৈরী হল কিভাবে? বলি তবে, এইযে ভাষায়, জনপদে, পরম্পরায় আর সুখ-দুঃখ প্রকাশের এত বৈচিত্র থাকলে ভাওয়াইয়া, ভাটিয়ালি, জারী, সারী, কবিগান, পালা আর কতশত গান কবিতা আর গল্প সৃজন না হয়ে যায় কোথায়? রুপকথার পুলক জাগানো গল্পের জাদুকররা গল্পদাদুর ছদ্দবেশে থাকেন গ্রাম বাংলার ঘরে ঘরে। এ যেন এক অন্য অনুভব।

আহা!
বাংলা ভাষা,
এ অহং সাজে;
শুধুই তোমার পরিচয়-
জেনো, আমি সেই চিরচেনা-
এক গর্বিত বাঙালি!

ফেব্রুয়ারী ২১, ২০২২.


-- by @minhajulmredol

"Hey kid, how are you?" I asked him in our native language.
He looked at me and gave no expression while leaving the place with their caretaker.
-a memory from 2019

That kid is my neighbor, their family is quite high profile. His father is a well-known advocate, his mother is also well-educated, has two brothers and both of them are studying abroad. His education is also being structured in such a way that he can be sent abroad; he has been attending an English medium school since the primary level. What is the issue with these? No problem so far.

His elder brothers, who had left the nation for graduation, were extremely nice and helpful to us. Like typical bonding with neighbors, but they are raising this kid in an unsocial way, he doesn't mix with anyone nor does he have the potential to mix. From the beginning, they have kept him into a routine where he was only exposed to English language speakers, even though the English medium schools here are not typically English oriented but that was a preferred choice for them than his home environment, which was a preferable choice. They cut off his ties with usual neighbors just to ensure he only gets to mix with the individuals that will influence him to learn and practice English. Their main priority was to be able to speak using the English language while keeping aside Bengali for good. Therefore, he couldn't speak fluently using Bengali language and he would often fumble with words while getting uncomfortable at it.

I know they have a dream to get him settled in a good country and for that, good command over English is a must, so will you just sacrifice the mother tongue in exchange for that? Rather, they are making him unsocial in this process, where he behaves like a robot. Giving importance to something does not imply that it will rob him of another identity; wherever he goes, he will be a Bangladeshi by birth, and no one can alter that; perhaps this may not matter much at this stage. Nonetheless, we must embrace our own identity, of which speaking in our mother language is a significant part.

{Self captured image}



-- by @tahminasyed

"If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart."
-Nelson Mandela

"If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart."

The role of mother language is one that cannot be fought against any others. I have met with people of different beliefs, "Mother tongue is like any other tongue, there is no specialty in it. It is like any other language." The debate forever grows and fades away, while people come to an understanding of agree-to-disagree.

The fundamental structure of speaking in the native tongue is something that is a deliberate process. True that if children are exposed to other languages they get a grasp over them too but what lies as the product of nature will always be so. So, congratulations to all native speakers all over the HIVE community in celebrating the 22nd International Mother Language Day.

Language is the freedom of identity, it gives the freedom of speech. It gives you recognition of your kind and represents you as your nation. My identity doesn't only comprise of my appearance and personality but my nationality plays a major role. My mother tongue plays a major role. I do not only represent myself alone but the whole Bengali community, Bangladeshis.

My father often reminds me to be able to be fluent in my speech using our mother tongue. Language, in general, is many but our native tongue is only one among the many. Leaving it behind is never a choice. With the 22nd celebration, I vow with you all to be able to acknowledge our language by using it, by talking about it, by translating its prose, poetry and by letting the world know that WE EXIST. Are you in this with me?

আমি বাংলায় গান গাই l Ami Banglai Gaan Gai (1994)

"Ami banglai gan gai, ami banglar gan gai
Ami amar amike chirodin ei banglai khuje pai..
Ami banglai dekhi shopno, ami banglai badhi shur
Ami ei bangla’r maya bhora poth’E hetechhi etota dur..
Bangla amar Jibonanondo, bangla praner shukh
Ami ekbar dekhi, barbar dekhi, dekhi banglar mukh..
Ami banglai kotha koi, ami banglar kotha koi
Ami banglai bhashi, banglai hashi, banglai jege roi..
Ami banglai mati ullashe, kori banglai hahakar
Ami shob dekhe shune khepe giye kori banglai chitkar..
Bangla amar dripto slogan, khipto tin dhonuk
Ami ekbar dekhi, barbar dekhi, dekhi banglar mukh.."

-Putul Mukhopadhyay (Songwriter)

{Image Source}



~Do not forget to join our next weekly hangout on at Friday 10 pm GMT +6~


Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

প্রথমে ভাবছিলাম কোন মতামত না দিই; তবে ব্যাক্তিগত অনুতাপ আর খেদ থেকে দু'ছত্র লিখছি।
মূল ঘটনা হল, এই বিডিকমিউনিটি-তে বহুত লেখক! আছেন যারা প্রতিনিয়ত বাংলায় পোস্ট করে যাচ্ছেন। ওই সকল লেখার মান কিম্বা আবেদন নিয়ে আমার কিছু বলার নাই। তবে, তুর্ণী-র ভাষা দিবসের এই আয়োজনে বাংলা ভাষী লেখক এবং পাঠকবৃন্দ আসলে কোথায়।

আমি বুঝিনা এত সুন্দর কিছু লেখা আর শৈল্পিক আয়োজনের -এ সংখ্যায় আপনাদের মাতৃভাষায় তেমন মন্তব্য দেখি না।

এই খেদ আমি বুঝাই কারে? সারাদিন বাংলা বাংলা করে পিডাপিডি করে আসলে কি লাভ তাইলে?

যাক অতশত লাভ নাই, যাই দুগা বাংলা-ই মেরে দিই গে... কেমন?
মহান আপ্নেরা, আর আমার বাংলার অহং!

না থাক.... অতশত বলে আর কাজ নেই..

যেমনং কর্মং, তেমং ফলং!

Controversies to thakbei, nahole ki jombe? Ekhon bhabchi, controversies niye kichu likhajeto. Bhasho to nijeder, tahole morjadataw rokkha kora nijeder dayitto?

English bhasha to ekta bhashai, kintu eta shotto je ta amader nijeshshona. Hold, ta amader onekeri nijoshshona kintu koikjoner nijeshshoi. Eita bujhar khomota ar common sense amader ache ami bishashi. Amader shobar e nijer nijer bashar proti raag, nijer desher bebostha, shikha, aro onk kichur proti raag, bitishna kaj kore. Egulo shob e shotto. Ei shobkichur majhe eitaw shotti j amrai dhore rakhteparbo, amrai gorte parbo ebong amrai bhangteparbo!

Ekhon shiddhanto amader e. Onkei Bangla bhalo likhteparena, bolteparena, oder nijeshsho karon thakte pare. Kintu, kew ki kokhono uddeg niyechen j asho ami shikhay tmi ki shikhba? Ei uddeg dekhi amra onekei onno bhashar shomoy buk khule shiddhanto nei shikhanor, kintu nijeshsho bhashar proti ei inclination karo temon gore uthena. Onekeri uthe, onekeri uthena. An arguable point.

Our native tongue is only yours and your community, language, on the other hand, is for a large group and international language has a much larger reach. We can't confuse them all. What we can do, is reflect upon our own actions towards our own language.

We all are much smarter ;) Let us together take a leap in growing our grasp in our mother tongue.

Loading...

A perfect amount of good, a dash of bad, and a whole lot of fire in our veins. With that keeping in mind, let nobody ever walk all over you and make you feel insignificant.

One thing about life is that we can never please everyone because not everybody will be happy with you no matter how nice, generous, jovial and the likes some people will still see fault which is why I always appreciate people who live a good and simple life without minding such people because if nobody talks about you then your nobody.

এখন প্রায় নিশুতি, মাথার মধ্যে হাজারটা চিন্তা, চাপা উত্তেজনায় ঘুমাতে পারছি না, কিন্তু ঘুমাতে যে হবে, নিথর শরীররে চোখ বুঝে ছিলাম, হঠাৎই উপলব্ধি করলাম, বাইস গিয়ে তেইশ পরতে চলছে, তারমানে তুর্নি পাবলিশ। কিভাবে বেলার পর বেলা গড়িয়ে গেলো টের'ই পেলাম না। ধাতুমলে ডুবে থাকা মাথায় কিছু নাই, থাকলেও হয়তো চাপা পরে আছে। এই নিশুতিতে বের করে আর কি বা লাভ, তবুও মনে খোড়াক একটুখানি মেটানোর চেষ্টা।

ঘন্টা খানিক আগে সোশ্যাল মিডিয়ায় দেখতে পেলাম, নগরীর সব সাইনবোর্ড উপড়ে ফেললেন মুক্তিযোদ্ধারা আমরা বাংলা ভাষাভাষী প্রিয় বললে ভুল হবে আমাদের রক্তে বাংলা, সাকিব ভাই যেভাবে বললো, ঘুম থেকে উঠে ঘুমাতে যাওয়ার পূর্ব মুহুর্ত পর্যন্ত বাংলায় ঠোঁটের আগায় এনে রাখি। আমরা ভাষার জন্য যুদ্ধ করেছি, কিন্তু দূর্ভাগা আমরা চাকরি পাইনা ইংরেজি ভাষার জন্য, নগরীতে কোন ইংরেজি সাইনবোর্ড রাখবে না, কতটা হতাশ এবং দ্বিধায় থাকলে এমন করে।

তবে বাংলা ভাষা চর্চার দুরবস্থা, তবে এটাও সত্যি যে ভাষার জন্য আত্মোৎসর্গের নজির বিশ্বে একমাত্র আমাদেরই রয়েছে, আর সেটা বুকে চেপেই একুশের চেতনা ধারণ করতে হবে।

ধন্যবাদ লেখকগণ।

bhashar durobosthar jonno dayi amrai, taina @toushik bhaiya? jeitar karon amra, sheta thik korar dayittow amader. 21st century te eshechi jokhon, tokhon bujhenewar dayitto o amader.

Amar bishshar amra egiye jabo, ekjon arekjoner pashe theke, ekhon oporjonke shikhate shikhate. amrai parbo.

ভাষা নিজের কাছে একটি শক্তি বেশি, তাই তারা বলেছিল "কথা বলার শক্তি আছে"। আমরা যা উচ্চারণ করি তা শক্তি দিয়ে তৈরি, ভাষা হল একটি পরিচয়ের শনাক্তকারী, এটি দেখায় যে আমরা কোথা থেকে এসেছি তবে বেশিরভাগ লোকই অন্যদের ভাষা শিখতে পছন্দ করে, ঠিক আমার মতো, অন্যকে জানার জন্য মানুষের ভাষা আমার সবচেয়ে পছন্দের কারণ আমি সবসময় মনে করি, আমার সময়ে অন্য জায়গায় থাকা উচিত, তাই যদি আমি তা নাও পারি, আমি যে ভাষাটি শিখব তার মাধ্যমে, এটি আমার মনকে আমার প্রত্যাশার চেয়ে অনেক দূরে নিয়ে যাবে।

You have expressed it so explicitly. I can relate quite well. Happy INTERNATIONAL Mother Language Day is a day we celebrate not only our own language but also every native tongue. This is why I feel so inclined to celebrate this day. There are many who fought for mother languages and now here we are able to use them so fluently.

This is truly a blessing and we should never forget those for whom this was possible.

"এক সাগর রক্তের বিনিময়ে
বাংলার স্বাধীনতা আনলে যারা
আমরা তোমাদের ভুলবো না
আমরা তোমাদের ভুলবো না"

গীতিকার: গোবিন্দ হালদার

Thank you so much for the enlightenment, honestly, mother's language are worth celebrating, as it holds the origin of every man and pointed out where they comes from.

I'm greatly honored to be mentioned in this week Turni episode

Hello,
Glad to see you here.
21st February was International Mother Language Day and if you dig the history you would see this coming from us, the Bengali who sacrificed themselves for their mother tongue. Keeping that in mind this week's magazine is written, hope you would love to read it and see what does language means to individuals.
Btw Thank you.

 2 years ago  

"If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart."

THIS. Just how I see it. Can't even explain what it is or how it is, it just is haha.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

After a long long time... finally 😜 damn it's good seeing both of you here... and oh look... you two are coordinated in a mismatched way...

@simplifylife

এসব সুখ দুঃখের কথা ওসব ইংরিজি ফিংরিজি দিয়ে হয় না ভাই।

@notacinephile

And I have faced situations where I thought of some expressions in particular situations that can only be expressed in English. And no matter how hard I tried, I couldn't do that in my native tongue.

This is directed to both of you... while I was reading both of your pieces, I realized it's almost like seeing the head and tail of a coin... I know you haven't planned this way but look what a coincidence it is... one explains the comfort and satisfaction of the native language while the other is (even though that's not the entirety of your post) was displaying our changes in behavior when we get too comfortable in a second language (maybe)... sometimes people feel that cuss words in our native language pack a punch and describe our feelings (at the time) the best way... the same way we may find that we can't explain, suppose, how are we feeling doomed or maybe stupid at times...

try saying witch in our language without laughing

I know you haven't planned this way but look what a coincidence it is

Who said it wasn't planned eh @notacinephile Amor bhai?! 😼

I feel so blessed and honoured to be mentioned and supported. I am deeply appreciative of this. Thank you and congratulations to all.

Glad to see you here.
Welcome, I hope that you loved this issue of Turni.

Of course, I do.

At first my eyes got stuck in a line. The line is, a whole lot of fire in our veins. This line has inspired me to read the whole post.
I can't help but admire the writings of some of the authors of this post.

@simplifylife as you say, language is a means of getting closer to people and connecting with people much deeper than the soul. Although the sentence is simple, I think it is the best sentence to express the identity of the language.

@notacinephile --Sapir-Whorf Hypothesis is absolutely science based. It is said that when a person learns a new language, his thoughts change according to that language. It would be nice if I could explain a little bit more about Sapir-Whorf.

@surrealfia You have thought deeply about the fact that when we speak a foreign language to a foreigner, no matter how good our vocabulary is, there is a deep gap. A very nice thought.

@chrysanthemum has brought about a subtle, complex and sensitive subject through you. Are foreign words like Persian, Hindi, Urdu etc. resources of Bengali language? Your quote, Bengali language was born from Indo-European language. So those words must be in Bengali language.

@minhajulmredol Brother, I didn't want to read your article at first. But the description of your writing has started in such a wonderful way that I am compelled to read your entire writing. One thing that makes me feel bad is that the parents of the students of English medium schools in our country are sacrificing their mother tongue or their ethnic identity for the betterment of their children.

Thank you for your feedback. I just want to let you know that Bengali is a beautiful language containing the best linguistic and phonological properties. and, for the question you asked; I must suggest you to read any literature (preferably Novel). I think you will be amazed to find many foreign words and expressions which are not Bengali at all,
Many of them are considered as Bengali words now a days. I guess you've found your answer.

I don't have any problem with English Medium, the problem is putting them in the corner only by focusing on the other identity leaving the real ones. A balance is required otherwise it would be like betrayal.

thank you... yes, I was trying to point it out... over the years I have gotten to know a few people from different countries... sometimes I don't understand what they're saying and sometimes they don't

@simplifylife

Here is a question for you, in which language do you dream? Actual dream. Well when you actually sleep (for you it is probably almost never), when when you eventually sleep and dream, which language do you dream? Also in which language do you think? Really think about and tell me.

You know the sad part?

I have stopped dreaming in Bengali.

Difficult question dada, very very difficult. Never really thought about this. I'd say I still can dream in Bengali, but I can not be entirely sure!

I know I have dreamt in Bengali, I know I have dreamt in English...hard to say which is the dominant one.