EXCUSES ARE FOR LOSERS

in BDCommunity3 years ago

shield-417826_1920.jpg

Sources

We make excuses when things don't go our way. This way, we neglect taking responsibility for our actions.

Have you ever tried to explain away why you didn’t, couldn’t, shouldn’t or just wouldn’t do something?. This is a sign that you are living a life full of excuses.

But what are excuses, really?
Excuses are mainly a means of placing the blame of an internal problem on an external condition. You shift the blame to other people, events or situations. It prevents you from living to your full potential

Why do we keep making excuses?
There are many reasons why people make excuses. In fact, everyone has a variety of reasons, myself included.

The fear of failure, embarrassment and uncertainty are some of the few out of numerous other reasons for making excuses.

Guess what? Excuses are for losers. Losers are scared, they always want to play safe. Our fears typically emerge due to a lack of understanding, information, resources, experience or perspective.
Anthony Robbins once said that fear is nothing more than “False Evidence Appearing Real.”

Losers have self-made limiting beliefs, a pessimistic outlook on life and have poor judgement when it comes to making critical decisions. They are paralyzed and have a backward movement in every area of their life.

Losers struggle with self-confidence. That is why they tend to make excuses for their life and circumstances in a feeble attempt to boost their self-esteem.

However, all they are really doing is creating the illusion of security. This is like masking pain with pain killers.

Living a life of excuses can have dire and lasting consequences. Not only will excuses prevent you from reaching your full potential, but they will also hold you back from recognizing opportunities, strengths, and skills you might have that could help you overcome your life’s problems.

If you don’t challenge yourself to reach new heights, you will never really know what you’re truly capable of.

New opportunities lie hidden around every corner. However, you will never find them if you riddle your mind with unending excuses.

To overcome your excuses, you must first admit that you’re making them in the first place. This can, of course, be difficult. However, it’s entirely necessary if you want to avoid succumbing to the inevitable consequences. Ask yourself:

What excuses do I tend to make?

What am I settling for?

Why am I making these excuses?

Then list down the consequences that result from making excuses. Ask yourself:

How do these excuses prevent me from moving forward?

How do they cripple my ability to get what I want?

Excuses often lead to stagnation and a life of regrets. Moreover, success in any field of endeavor requires a period of discomfort where we must venture into unfamiliar territories that lead to unexpected scenarios.

Benjamin Franklin once said that:

He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else.

As harsh as that sounds, it’s probably not too far away from the truth. Sometimes we get so absorbed in making excuses about how things didn’t turn out the way we had expected, that we forget to focus on making the best of every situation — no matter the outcome.

Just maybe, from today onward, we will remember Benjamin’s words and take them to heart. Stop making excuses.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fayour! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments.
Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It is true that excuses prevent us moving forward and truly achieving our goals. I have learnt that the only thing stopping me is me, so I don't make excuses I just do what needs to be done.

I have learnt that the only thing stopping me is me.

If only people will accept this truth.

I can't tell you how much I need to read this right now. I've been trying for nearly 4 months now on achieving a goal of mine. It's been a very long time coming... but I'm hoping to achieve it now come Friday. Thank you for this motivational post!!

Hello @fayour your motivational speech sounds just like listening to Tony Robbins. You are a good student of his. I have a suggestion. In the future, when you speak broadly on a topic, it may be a good not to lump every human being in the same boat.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this topic.

This is actually my first time of hearing about Tony Robbins.

In the future, when you speak broadly on a topic, it may be a good not to lump every human being in the same boat.

Well, I don't think I did that. No one should make excuses no matter the situation.

You mention Anthony (Tony) Robbins, a self-proclaimed motivational guru in your post.

Also, when you say this:

Excuses are mainly a means of placing the blame of an internal problem on an external condition. You shift the blame to other people, events or situations. It prevents you from living to your full potential

So if you have back surgery and someone asks you to participate in an activity the doctor has warned you against and you know will cause irreparable damage to your body, are you giving an excuse for not doing the activity because you're placing blame on that other person?

This is why you have to be specific because there are too many situations that are the exception to what you're trying to convince your readers to believe.

Oh, I think I understand you now.
Of course there are some exceptions.
Pardon me if I didn't include that in my post.
Thanks for pointing it out

Thank you for responding and seeing my point of view when it comes to grouping everyone in the same bucket. The example I gave above is my own personal situation. The person who stated to me that I was just making excuses got the full force of my reaction to those words.

Take care.

Hope you have fully recovered?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes. Now my doctor wants me to have a total hip and knee replacement. I'll be in a wheelchair if I do that. At my senior citizen age, I told him "no thanks." I'll just live with the pain.

Take care and have a good rest of your week.