I Haven't Written Anything In A Long Time | That Sucks And Here's What I'm Doing To Fix It

in BDCommunity4 years ago


Image Source

So, today I was looking through my Hive blog and I discovered that it's been almost a month since I published a piece of writing. I haven't exactly been inactive all this while, but I just haven't been able to write. Writing is my first love and being unable to do it totally sucks.

What Exactly Have I Been Doing All This Time?

I've been making some art. For the first time in my life I've been able to share my art with the world, and that has been a fun experience. I learnt a lot from working with pixels and I've been able to reach new creative heights.


Robot Head - Art I Made Recently

I guess I stopped writing because I got into a bit of creative block. I think I know why this happened and I believe talking about it will help me get my head straight.

I Think I Quit Because Of Information Overload


Image Source

I have a bucket load of things I want to write about and honestly it's a bit scary to look at. Some of them are STEM articles which require extensive research and planning, and the last time I tried writing one of those I ended up with a headache.

I also have a bunch of research material from multiple subjects that I have to digest. There are some saved pages on my browser that have been lying there for over a month. I haven't been able to get to them and new material keeps getting added to the pile.

It got to a point where I didn't know where to start, and in situations like that I'd usually dive into art. That's how I found myself with almost a month's worth of a time gap between this piece of writing and my last.

What's A Man Doing To Fix That?

Sometimes the most important step is the first step. This little rant of mine counts as writing and actually feels liberating. Who knew writing about creative block could be a step to getting out of it?.

I'm also going to have to find a way to navigate my workload. I need to review my list and prioritize the important bits. Anything that's not so relevant can get tossed in the can.

I'll have to take things slowly. Better to space out my work and stay refreshed than to go all out and end up with brain freeze and frustration.

Closing Thoughts


Image Source

So, I hope I'll be writing more when I get things cleared up. If I can make one or two articles a week that'd be great. Looking forward to letting my creativity run.

That's all I've got for now. Until later, see you and stay safe out there.


Image credits Pixabay, @jacksondavies


Sort:  

Twitter posh

Hi @jacksondavies, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @simplifylife!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

This post earned a total payout of 1.386$ and 0.693$ worth of author reward that was liquified using @likwid.
Learn more.