A Tale Of A 1000 Hive: How My Drink Business Can Be saved From Collapsing

in BDCommunity4 years ago (edited)

It was a beautiful thursday morning, when I woke up and thought of how to put money in my empty pocket and A-ha! I had an idea which today is my little business.

I started a home made drink business to sell to consumers. This drink is popular known as "zobo drink" in Nigerian culture, it simply a hibiscus drink which is actually very nutritious.

I officially started on the 20th of February,2020.

IMG_3197-Recovered.jpg
my gallery

As I started the business with some few bottles to test the demand for it, surprisingly, I literally saw people consuming more than just a bottle right in my presence. I became more encouraged to do more, and that choice to-do more has resulted a little business for me. At least everyday, I could boast of some cash in my formerly depressed pocket.

Little did I know, it grew bigger where I had few orders from people and this made me to increase my quantities.

How a thousand "Hive" will expand my business

How My Business started to decline

images (7).jpg
source

On April 3rd, the Corona Virus entered into our country. I thought I should not be bothered about that since no measures where made to stop activities but suddenly, it was a blast on my face. The total shutdown was not just enough to kill this business because even after the total lockdown, sales tremendously declined.

Why? :(

Contraint
The use of reusable bottles: I don't have my branded pet sealed bottles. I use reusable bottles that are not sealed. This actually discouraged people from purchasing due to the fear of the virus been spread through previous users of that bottle. They are not even convinced enough that these bottles are thoroughly washed. My drink was rather substituted with other sealed branded drinks for safety known best to customers.

IMG_3202-Recovered.jpg
my gallery

Currently, sales have been really slow which drives me more in getting this drink well packaged and branded.

How can I use a thousand Hives

With the use of 1000Hives( over 90,000naira in Nigerian currency-$230), I will be able to extend my business through the below budget;

1000hives = 90000naira in Nigeria

A rough budget(in naira)

1)Registration of my brand "Zobo Time"(drinks need to be registered before being sealed) --------------------------- #20,000

2)Purchases of pet bottles (50cl×200unit) which will cost--------------------#10,000

3)A Logo design on e-fliers and drinks which will cost -------------------#20,000

4)1/2 bag of zobo leaf, 1/2 basket of ginger and a pack of flavour---------- #30,000

Total cost = 80,000naira (888units of hive)
The remaining 112 hives will be used for other unseen expenses for expansion.

Brand benefits of this expansion

➡️With these improvement, I will gain more trust with customers purchasing my product without the fear of having symptoms of those clan of viruses.

➡️More confident in marketing my product wider than my community.

Societal benefits

➡️Affordable and sweeteened sealed zobo drink @50 naira

It is very rare to see a sealed "zobo drink" which has made it scarse, but just imagine how unique mine will be? Can you see it? Well, I can : )

➡️Nutritrous and healthy drink. The fresh ginger will boost your immune system, and that is what we all need during this trying times of this unfortunate virus. check out health benefits

IMG_3193.JPG
my gallery

Well, I believe in one principle in life which is, you have to offer a value to constantly give back to the society. I need to do this to help more people I can in the future which could be tomorrow depending on how popular this product might become : )

Thank you for this opportunity BD community. Am Honoured.

To partake in this context bdcommunity contest