BDC Contest - My Favorite Books from my Childhood

in BDCommunity2 years ago

Reading has been my favorite hobby since childhood, then and now I am still very fond of reading, the only thing changed is the type of books that I used to read.

As a child I was very fond of reading fairytales and my all time favorite story book was Cinderella. At one point of time in my life I would always believe that these magic happen in real too and I would always wish for these magic to happen in my life as well. I still love this story very much and now there has been a movie also. I did watch the movie too. It is one of my favorite. I enjoyed reading these fairytales Little Red Riding Hood, Jack and the Beanstalk, Snow White, Goldilocks...... I was fascinated with these stories, where the little girl is saved by her prince charming and then happily ever after. I would really believe into these prince charming things then....hehehe. I still love to read these kind of books. That happy ending sparks up my heart, it makes me smile.

image.png
Source

The other books that I enjoyed reading were the Tinkle and Amar Chitra Katha. These are not one story but there were series of short stories. Amar Chitra Katha had short stories based on Mythology, Religion, Folktales and Cultural stories all presented in comic forms. They always had some motivational outcome at the end, a good lesson to teach. Tinkle was another comic book with different characters. Supandi and Shikari Shambhu were my favorite characters. Especially Supandi who was a simple village man and always was in some or the other mess and then with his wittiness would get out of the situation.

This brings back a lot of old memories. In a very very long time I have not read these books but yes as a Child I thoroughly enjoyed reading them. There was a monthly publication and I would look forward to getting my copy every month. In our libraries also we would get these books.

I also enjoyed reading story books with pop outs; somehow in those I felt the story coming to life more than the normal story books. As I grew up my preferences changed and then there were different types of books. Later in life I started to enjoy reading autobiographies and on places. I also enjoyed reading books on the Universe; I had lot of curiosity of what is up there in the space, about the stars, moon, sun, planets, the emptiness of space and everything. This is one thing that I still enjoy reading about the Universe.

image.png
Source

I was never fond of reading crime, detective and romance novels. As a child I believed in all these fantasies and lived in a dreamy world. I still enjoy that part of me. Nowadays I enjoy reading esoteric books. Sometime back I had made a post in which I had shared some pictures of my library, which is overflowing with all sorts of books. These days my reading time has reduced a lot, but I still make sure that I remove some time for it.

I will like to invite @sugandhaseth to participate in the contest.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL

Thank you for the curation

Mine was and is Charlotte's Web.

Good to know that

Myth, Folklore and Fables were like the most favourite stories those days. I mostly enjoyed the pictures of these books. They seemed real to me.
Anyway, Nice write-up. I like it..

True, when I was small it was an internet free era and all we had was books and books and more books to spend our leisure time

I loved Cinderella story too. All those magical moment and the happy ever after used to really get to me and I'll imagine when my prince charming will come sweep me off my feet hehehe. Childhood days were fun though.

Childhood memories are very precious, they always bring a smile on our face

Yeah! That's true.

Thanks for this very cool post, inspiring me to write my own in this challenge. 😀

That's awesome that you could get back to your childhood fond memories. I will check it out. Thank you

img_0.6229619684178638.jpg