What Goes On in This Big Head of Mine.

in BDCommunity4 years ago (edited)

images (10).jpeg

You know how you sit and some random thoughts just pass through your mind without you knowing why, some of this thoughts ends up coming weird and strange. Well I had one of those thoughts today.

Whenever everyone gathers at home after a long time of not seeing each other probably due to academic reasons or our various jobs, our dad would always make sure to sit us down in the living room and tell us stories that he felt we should know about, things that had happened to him at some point of his life that he felt held great lessons in it. After narrating his story to us, he would take his time to explain it, making sure we get whatever message he was trying to pass across.

I always saw times like this as a great family time where we get to bond as a family. So today I sat down and thought about what stories I will tell my kids and what lesson they would get from it when the time comes, unfortunately I came up with nothing. You see, I stay in one of the most populous state in Nigeria (Lagos) and just like every other place, Lagos had it's rich and poor areas.

Before we moved to a move comfortable place, me and my family lived in an environment which could easily be described as a ghetto where the luxury of life wasn't that very much available. Living in a ghetto had it's advantages and disadvantages, unfortunately the disadvantages were much more than the advantages.

You see here in Nigeria, it is never a good idea to live close to a university or any academic institution because the students sometimes turn violent whenever things aren't going their way and they end up taking their angers on the innocent residents of the area. Sometimes they turn their riot into robbery and the likes.

Remembering things like this made me ponder on what kind of story my kids would get from me. Luckily, I still have many years ahead of me to solve that problem (if it is indeed a problem). Who knows, maybe telling them about my childhood might in some way but I think it's best I shut up now and end this weird thoughts of mine.


source


signature5f0f260ae4c74.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @prayzz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs

This post earned a total payout of 0.790$ and 0.395$ worth of author reward that was liquified using @likwid.
Learn more.