A Purposeful Life and Hustle? Maybe...

in BDCommunity2 years ago (edited)

February 2020, quite the month it was. A lot of travelling inside of Dhaka and a bit more in Chittagong and its outskirts. From the last few months of 2019 to the first few months of 2020, quite a lot of distance had to be covered. Tiring distances and journeys, which were all worth the time and money I would say, even though most of it was actually work related. However, being on the move 24/7 made the term "work" carry a different and additional meaning for me. Work-ation is what I call it, a chance to get a lot of work done along with a generous amount of "vacay-ing" where it would roughly be about 75% work and 25% vacation. Yet, that 25% was MORE than enough for me, a chance to get work done and also take in the sights and relax? YES PLEASE.

Back then I was just getting the hang of everything at the office. Now, whenever we hear the terms such as "office" "work" the word fun usually just walks out the door for most of us. Well, for me ALL of it was quite an enjoyable experience back then. Getting started with my so called "official" work life and also getting the chance to visit different places, experience new things, a VERY pleasant way to start off your career I would say. I can't even remember one day where I felt tired and exhausted, not even caring much about a day off or having some time to myself. Even waking up at 7AM wasn't an issue back then. There were days where I would go work 12 hours straight(no joke) I don't know what was fueling such dedication and energy, a type of fuel that never ran out. I would say it was all simply because of the way my life and work was setup, which included a lot of travelling, meeting new people, learning new things, the balance that was present overall. It was clearly an example to how a lot of people say and believe that "when work in enjoyable, it doesn't feel like work anymore" I began to realize it was all quite true.

Fast forward towards the end of February 2020, probably my last day of so called "purposeful work/life" it was just before the lockdown hit us all. I had to be at the office by 10AM, but I also asked for an early leave before lunch for personal reasons. Luckily, there wasn't much work to be done that day, so I left at around 1:30PM I guess. The reason for which I had to leave early was because I was visiting a friend who had just gotten a new PC setup and a new set of peripherals. It was some quite heavy and latest tech for that time and for those of you who have read my previous posts or know me well, then you surely have noticed my interest towards technology.

Now, the problem, yet also the "solution" was that he lived in Bongshal, a place where I had last visited maybe around 15 years ago. Thankfully though, Google Maps and quite an experienced Pathao rider made the journey quite effortless. Yet, it did take quite a while to get to the exact location, the streets were very similar looking and surprisingly narrow(I didn't know such narrow streets existed in Dhaka in present times) I have surely seen some narrow streets in my life, having a lot of relatives who live around Gandaria Puran Dhaka, it wasn't something uncommon for me. EVEN THEN, these streets were just absolutely UNREAL, like something out of a Maze Runner movie. Just imagine a normal 150CC bike finding it tough to ride through most of the streets, sometimes it even felt like the walls were actually closing in on us as we advanced ahead. I really wish could've stopped to take some pictures, some areas held HUGE potential for photography and some amazing shots(It was quite an experience honestly, I will surely be going back for some sight seeing and amateur mobile photography LOL)

I really have to say that this truly was the highlight of the day, seeing such structures which were maybe close to a 100 years old and some surely more, almost like they were stacked one on top of each other. Some streets so narrow that even one person found it tough to walk through it. That day it wasn't the high tech PC which made the day memorable, nothing at the office either, they don't even come close. What made the day memorable was simply these older structures, narrow streets and also the people, who were very helpful and kind the whole way. It was surely a day to remember. A day where I went in just to check some new tech and ended up bringing back memories and many questions which I still keep on asking to this day. Maybe I will get my answers only after a second and very thorough visit back to those closed yet ajar streets.

IMG_20200311_165905_899~2.jpg

IMG_20200311_150236_450~2.jpg

Bongshal Puran Dhaka
Device: HTC 10

Sort:  

Congratulations @riz611! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!