[A Picture Speaks a Thousand Words] The struggle of a poor widow to survive.

in BDCommunity3 years ago (edited)

Life is sometimes colorful, sometimes black and white. And Life continues on its own terms.

In this picture we see a widow, a gentlewoman from the village next to us. She is around 90 years old. She lives alone in a small hut. She has no one of his own in this world. The husband died in a road accident 3 years ago. She has no children, she lives alone. In a deserted forest on the side of the road, his house is not visible in the dark of night because there are no lampposts. Her house also has no electricity connection.

As deep as the night she is lost in the darkness, by day the shine of the sun again brings his house to the face of the cruel earth. The woman is so old that she can't stand straight, she can walk properly. If any of her neighbors give her food/meal, then she will have chance to eat otherwise will not have to eat. Cooking is also a difficult task for her. Yet in the corner of his room I saw a clay stove, maybe she cooks if there is something to cook in the house.

When the corona outbreak occurred in Bangladesh, there was panic among the people of our village. Mixed with right news and wrong news. Lack of awareness was observed. Seeing all this, I formed a team on my own initiative. Corona awareness in the village and for the advance preparation of the epidemic. Suddenly I saw this widow's house. We entered her house and saw that there was no one. I called softly,

Me: Is anyone at home?

Widow: Who?

Me: We are boys from the next village. Can you go out your own.

Window: Yes, i can, I'm coming.

When I first saw her, I was shocked. How she lives in such an uninhabitable place. Damp place, dark. Slowly the widow came out. She asked who are you sons. What are you coming for? I started telling him about the Corona virus awareness, she suddenly stopped me in the middle and said,
Corona can't do anything to me. I have survived a lot of struggles. I am still alive without eating 3 times a day. It is much easier for me to die than to live. My husband was a rickshaw puller, I have been living here alone since his death. No one ever inquires. To me night and day are equal. And how can I be aware of Corona. How to wash my hands with soap again and again. When I am sick, no one comes to see me, I have to suffer on my own, I get well without any medicine. What will the virus do to me?

Me: We still have to try to be careful. And we will give you some soap to wash your hands with which you will wash your hands regularly


We help her with some hand washing soap and a small amount of money. She is very happy. I felt very happy to be able to put a smile on her face. From then on, I occasionally went to her house to inquire and help as much as I could. She may have no one in the world to speak for herself, but we can help her to live in peace for the rest of his life.


BDCommunity is running a contest this week. This week's topic is Write A Fiction on a Picture


I would like to invite @wasiulafif to participate in the contest.