Hunt For The Letter Q - An Alphabet Hunt Challenge

in Feel Good4 years ago

The hunt continues fellow Hivers. This time it's for the letter Q. Considered as one of the trickier letters in this Alphabet Hunt Challenge initiated by @barbara-orenya, the letter Q can be a daunting test of one's creativity and imagination. For those who want to know more about this, check on the link here .

And so, without any further fanfare, let's begin with what I have tracked down for this letter.

The first "Q" is for Quilling

image.png

image.png

Quilling or paper filigree is an art form that involves the use of strips of paper that are rolled, shaped, and glued together to create a unified and decorative design. The name quilling is thought to come from the origin of the art; birds' feathers, or quills, were used to coil the strips of paper around. Wikipedia

This is another one of my wife's on-going projects and isn't it quite a coincidence that this one actually starts with the letter Q. She says she's still far from done with this one so I'll make sure to update you with this soon as it is completed.

The second "Q" is for Quintillion.

image.png

quintillion.png

A cardinal number represented in the U.S. by 1 followed by 18 zeros, and in Great Britain by 1 followed by 30 zeros. Wikipedia

In the US a quintillion is also called a billion billion. I had my daughter do an illustration of this number by drawing a big number one and 18 smaller zeroes.

The third "Q" is for Queen

image.png

image.png

In the game of chess, the Queen is the most powerful piece and often considered the equivalent of at least 2 and sometimes 3 officers in terms of strength.

The fourth "Q" is for Queue

image.png

image.png

A line or sequence of people or vehicles awaiting their turn to be attended to or to proceed; a waiting line especially of persons or vehicles.

The first queue photo was taken pre-Covid time in a government office here in our city. The second is post-Covid in a supermarket.

The fifth "Q" is for Quintessential

image.png

image.png

(adj.) Of the pure and essential essence of something: of or relating to the most perfect embodiment of something

Photos show an arch which is quintessentially Chinese. Anywhere one goes and sees this type of arch, it immediately reminds one of China and its people. And indeed this is one of 4 main entrances to Chinatown in my city.

The sixth "Q" is for Quilt

image.png

image.png

(noun): A warm bed covering made of padding enclosed between layers of fabric and kept in place by lines of stitching, typically applied in a decorative design.

These are old quilted covers I found in the house. Perfect for this week's hunt 😀.

And that's it for my Q hunt. I hope you enjoyed this and learned a few things as I have during my hunt for this letter. Thanks for visiting and may you all have a safe and blessed weekend!

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Wonderful word choices and photos for the letter Q! I think Quilling may be unique as I wonder how many have examples of this art form. I do love all of the projects that your wife takes on! And your queen on the chessboard is another great photo for Q.
Nice Hunt! !tip

Thank you @melinda010100. My wife always manages to surprise me with the things she does and it's like her workroom's a cave of pleasant wonders. I liked the queen on the chessboard pics so much I just had to include them :)

🎁 Hi @gems.and.cookies! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Shadow Hunters Contest Round 135- Link Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Greatly done @gems.and.cookies ! 😊
you couldn't miss the quilling of course! 😉 C'est bien de voir la différence entre le premier et le second queue ... J'avoue que je préfère que les gens restent à quelques pas de moi, et ce n'est pas une question de Covid ... LoL .. je ne le fais pas comme les gens d'être à l'intérieur de "ma zone" 😁 Je pense que nous aurions dû penser avant de tels événements qu'il est difficile et irrespectueux d'être coincé sur les gens et de partager les odeurs ensemble..😉

Thank you very much. Actually never even knew about it until my wife told me she had a Q project.

I actually don't read or speak French but it is such a beautiful and romantic language I don't mind receiving comments like this from you. I find it quite endearing. And also, there's always Google translate lol. Yes, those kind of queue pre-Covid is so common here in our country. You can know what the guy beside you had for lunch because you could smell his breath already. At least that's one thing good that has come out of this pandemic. Social distancing.

Thank you once again. Have a great day!

I like all of your words, @gems.and.cookies, but most I like the Quilling - I have never seen such before and it looks very nice 😊

The Q was very hard for me too, but you and I, we both had a successful hunt my friend, now let's relax and think of the R in a couple of days.

Wish you a wonderful week ahead 🌞


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote
!tip

Thank you very much. It wasn't easy but I had help from my wife and daughter - Quilling was a project of my wife and the Quintillion was drawn by my daughter. Now I can breathe a sigh of relief knowing the next 3 weeks will not be so much of a problem.

Have a great week ahead too.

We all need a little bit of help sometimes - you had your family and I had my friend from Canada 😁
I forgot to mention the Quintillion in my comment - great 👍

The next weeks will be a bit easier, but then it will be hard again till the end of the game 😏


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @gems.and.cookies, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @gems.and.cookies! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Fire Behind The Horizon Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @gems.and.cookies, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Quilling is a new word for me and how clever to use the chessboard for the queen. Quintessential is a very good word!
You have great choice of q words.

Thank you very much. Just a bit fortunate my wife had a project like that on-going. I visited your Q hunt too. I think you have some really great Q words in there too. Congrats.

Q is a complicated letter! You did very well! 😆