You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alphabet Hunt- F

in Feel Good4 years ago

These are very nice F finds, @melinda010100 🙂

I like this family photo - we have such old photos too, but nobody knows all relatives on these. The fountain shot is really cool - I had to look more than twice to realize that the water is coming from the outside ;)
And most I like this fence of which I first thought it was only painted on a photo, but then I saw it is real - this art is fun and looks great, although I couldn't imagine having such a fence around my house, but I have no own house anyway ;) lol

Have a great Sunday, Melinda 😀


Cheers and !BEER
!tip

Sort:  

I sat down with my grandparents and asked the questions and wrote the names and the stories on the back of each photo. Today it is valuable family info to have.

Yeah, that fountain was pretty cool. We had gone to the pier to take sunrise photos and since it was so early we had the fountain and the park all to ourselves.

I think it would be fun to have a fence like that, but it would look out of place here in the woods!

That is true, and there are also some names written on our photos, but these names were written many, many years ago and some of the names are not readable anymore or we just have no idea of who they were anyway, even with knowing their names ;)

In the woods you would either have some animals looking over the fence instead of these funny guys 😉

Have a great day and week, @melinda010100 🙂


Cheers and !BEER

I came to realize that many of the old photos were of my grandparents friends. Back then, before you could just send someone a photo electronically, they used to mail pictures back and forth across distances to share with each other. It was the only way to keep in touch with friends who had moved across the country or family that had remained in Europe.

Found another photo of the fence for you...
43njx9.jpg

Good morning Melinda,

our family is mostly in Austria and some in Germany, so the distances are not that far ;)

This fence does look cool and reminds me on hydrants in our capital Klagenfurt, which have been painted like these fence posts.

Have a great day and take care 🙂


Cheers and !BEER

Oh how fun! You could do a hydrant post! I'd love to see them!

This photo was taken before most families owned automobiles and rural families were still traveling by horse and wagon. Distance was different then than it is today, that's for sure. Poor roads and farm chores kept them close to home.

!BEER

These hydrants were painted quite a few years ago and don't look that good anymore, but if I don't forget I'll take a few photos.

Yes, I know what you mean. My father's family originates from the next valley to the south, and to get to the village where where my parents house is, was more than only a daytrip. Nowadays it would be about half an hours drive ;)

Have a great day Melinda 🙂


Cheers and !BEER

Our lives are so different from those of our not very distant ancestors.

I'll bet the hydrants will make an interesting photo collection! ❤️


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.