My Hive Story... What's Yours?

in HIVE India2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Yesterday, I read a My Hive Story... What's Yours? from @acesontop and commented on his post. When I was reading the post I was thinking to myself that I could actually write a book about my Hive and Steem journey. This morning I woke up a comment from @snook asking me to participate. So I'm writing this post straight after responding to her comment because this initiative is worth it. So let me start.

From what I read on the post of Adrian and the comments, it seems that @snook, @shadowspub and @whatsup are "the trend leaders" so I'll say a big thank you to them for making this happen.

Screenshot 20211213 at 10.39.07.png

This was probably the pivotal moment of my journey with our community. I was happily developing a community called DtubeFamily777 with Dtube voluntarily. Steemit inc laying off 70% of the workforce made me pivot what I was doing with Steem. I even offered to work for Ned for free to help Steemit.inc and I got no response. So started #Seven77 challenge on Twitter to hunt investors and partnership for Steem. However, during this Twitter movement, I completely got burned out and I even forget the main reason we started this challenge in the first place.

You can't connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future.

1. How long have you been on the Blockchain?

First signed up to Steem in June 2017 and add Steem to my investment portfolio. Only in January 2018 started writing blogs with steemit as a hobby. So the answer is 4 plus years ago.

2. What was your background in cryptocurrency when you first came to the Blockchain?

I went all-in with Crypto in early 2017 as a long term investor. So since starting my Steem hobby, I was travelling full time while educating myself about the fundamentals of cryptocurrency. Fortunately, I had the opportunity to teach/explain to most of the people I met during my solo backpacking. I even gifted free $BTC and $ETH for a few people, so they can get started with crypto. So I would say when I started with Steem, My plan was to continue learning crypto through reading.

3. What was your background in writing when you first came to the Blockchain?

I had never blogged prior to joining Steem, However, I had vlogging some experience with YouTube. I never liked writing since I was a kid and I always loved maths and problem-solving. English not being my first language, made it even more challenging, Thanks to Hive and my writing skills have become much much better. I want to say my creativity has improved a lot because of Hive.

4. How many people did you know when you first came to the Blockchain?

Absolutely no one. I earned my place and name by contributing to others and different projects within our community.

5. How did you meet people when you first came to the Blockchain?

Of course, by engaging on-chain and building genuine relationships. Watching vlogs of people made it easier to connect with them.

6. Who did you look up to when you first came to the Blockchain?

Almost everyone in our community.

7. How would you describe your first three months on the Blockchain?

The first three months were so slow, I almost don't remember that much. However, I wrote a few blogs and engaged with others' content. Even got into some arguments with people who used bid bots to comment. Gradually I was able to connect with a few people via upvotes and comments.

8. Has being a part of the Blockchain changed you in any way for the good?

Hell yes. I have experienced some extreme challenges because I took extreme ownership. I would say I become stronger and wiser because of Hive. I certainly feel rich being part of our creative community. I feel blessed to have the opportunity to empower fellow creators.

9. What is your favorite memory from your time on the Blockchain?

Of course, It will be steem festival 3 in Poland!

Nothing can replace meeting people in real life. Can't wait for the next real-life Hive Festival.

10. If you could advise a new person signing up to Hive, what would it be?

Start slow and gradually find your way into your tribe. Be consistent. Create consistently. Engage and build relationships with others. Always be yourself and find a way to add value to the Hive network.

Saying hello doesn't have an ROI. It's about building relationships.

That was about it. What's your story?

Thank you for reading.

Hive: leofinance.io/@nathanmars
Twitter: Twitter.com/NathanMars7
Telegram: nathanmars7


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I like this initiative and will try to share my experience in the following days!

So started #Seven77 challenge on Twitter to hunt investors and partnership for Steem.

I remember that in the time when you stopped doing it, then I have started with my deeper HIVE involvement...

Nothing can replace meeting people in real life. Can't wait for the next real-life Hive Festival.

I hope that will happen next year! There is no better way to connect people than in the real-life...

Thanks for sharing your story, Nathan! Nice to meet you! 😀

 2 years ago  

There is no better way to connect people than in the real-life.

Can't wait to meet you in person dude!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice work. Even though the system is getting more streamlined. People being onboarded with an improve thought for user experience, nothing will replace that early, finding your way experience.

Hopefully it helps newbies to read these posts and realize, we all had that to go through. There is another side they just have to work toward it.

 2 years ago  

Everyone is different and every hive newbie will have a different perspective. #MyHiveStory initiative will certainly give them an opportunity to learn from our wider community.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

sure will.. it can be less lonely for a newbie to see these stories and know we went where they are and it got better because we worked through it instead of throwing in the towel.

Thank you for telling your story!!

You have been down a very long road and each time you turn a corner you get stronger and stronger!!

I am so happy to have met you and to be able to call you my friend!!

SO proud of all you have done and all you have accomplished in life.

HUGS!

 2 years ago  

Thanks a million Snook!

Next few years will be key for our community.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I agree!! but never forget we are never alone on this journey.

Be consistent. Create consistently. Engage and build relationships with others. Always be yourself and find a way to add value to the Hive network.

I think this is something a lot of people don't really do and I agree that it is definitely the best way to add value to the HIVE network. I do plan on doing a post about my own experience about the questions eventually but I might find myself delaying that post.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

I do plan on doing a post about my own experience about the questions eventually but I might find myself delaying that post.

Take your time!

I'm looking forward to reading your Hive story!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I completely got burned out and I even forget the main reason we started this challenge in the first place.

😃😃😃 I had to laugh at this one bro.
Nice story there!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

I gotta write a little book about my Hive journey when Hive hits $10

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great story bro. You've been around quite a while and have surely earned the respect that you now hold.

 2 years ago  

Thanks dude :)

We are not entitled to success we have to earn it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Always be yourself

Tres importante (in a French accent)... Unless you're a piece of shit, Hive doesn't accept pieces of shit... In this case, you might have to pretend... Just saying.

We're currently trying to plan a mini Hive Festival in Nigeria. It'll be divided into like 3 or 4 locations but it'll still be dope seeing everyone in person and linking up for a beer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

We're currently trying to plan a mini Hive Festival in Nigeria

This is one of the best Hive news I read recently

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This type of story from people like you motivates people like us to do even better

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

I'm so glad to hear.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Although i'm a new user of HIVE (joined at August), this post of yours inspired me to make a post titled "My HIVE story". I will publish it this week for sure. :)

 2 years ago  

Looking forward to your Hive story my friend!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That is quite the Q and A session. Really enjoyed it! So many cross overs and similarities we have but by far the best one was.....

"9. What is your favorite memory from your time on the Blockchain?

Of course, It will be steem festival 3 in Poland!"

Couldn't agree more with you on that!

With all the travel restrictions lifted you know Hivefest would be on another level. Can't wait for that day!

Great post! Looking forward to the next one!

 2 years ago  

Looking forward to reading your Hive story Dan!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks buddy. I'll add it to my writing list. :)

I wrote about my HIVE story, too. It is nice to see each other's story.

I am finding number 10 to be very true for me. I find the more I create, and the more I engage, the better my luck seems to be. Who does not like receiving daily crypto?

 2 years ago  

Engagement is key to building relationships!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That is true, sometimes I get a little over-excited about the rewards and forget that is the real reason we are here to build relationships and have some fun 👍

I’ll make a point to write a post on this before the end of the week. The questions you answered are the ones I need to as well?

 2 years ago  

The questions you answered are the ones I need to as well?

I think so.

Just make sure you use #Myhivestory tag

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Got it

Thank you. I will try to get it done this week.

Wow a great story!

I would tell people to find their voice. Just write about their own truth and interest and keep at it. You did!

 2 years ago  

Thank you for your positive words!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Actually I have to thank you. People like you keep me going on HIVE and making new music to post!

glad i checked my feed and saw this, thanks for bringing this to awareness, i am definitely participating too

 2 years ago  

Let’s go

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I still remember that family777 thing. I got to appreciate your efforts though :)

Great to read your story too, mate. You're an example of community member.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

Thank you Adrian!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's good there's a positive change now. Keep up the good work.

 2 years ago  

Thinking positive brings positivity results!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Knowing about your hive journey looked pretty good. Nice to know your all about Ethereum, from Steem, Hive, YouTube to Bitcoin.

 2 years ago  

Thank you my friend!

Looking forward to reading your Hive Story :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.