You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Between applause and jeer

in Q Inspired-by-Music2 years ago (edited)

I remember that a long time ago, I would care what others thought. Good reviews, bad reviews... Colleagues and audience. It was hard, and it was always impossible to please everyone.

At some point, I just did whatever I wanted. I feel more free in my playing, I have more fun... And my colleagues appear to enjoy playing with me. So, maybe that was the trick all along? Just screw around and enjoy myself, and don't care about what others thought... Because, all of us wanted to do the same!

As to how I react to other performances... Well, I only know too well how tricky it can be when you are getting a horrific reaction or a piece going off the rails. In any other situation, it could be me up there... So, I'm quite sympathetic, regardless of whether the interpretation or composition appeals to me or not. There usually is something in there that will be interesting to me...

I find that those who are most judgemental are the ones that fear judgement in return. One doesn't get ahead by hoping that others fail... Well, that is an unhealthy way to live!

PS, I hate talking with the audience and colleagues after a performance... Unless they are talking about anything that isn't the concert!

Sort:  

One doesn't get ahead by hoping that others fail... Well, that is an unhealthy way to live!

Absolutely agree with this. Also, judging your college, you are not becoming better.
Many times we see people comparing themselves with others that did not achieve great results, so they could shine more. But it is not the way to go.

Hahaha, I understand that you don't like talking about the performance once it is done. Maybe it is good just in a constructive way, to improve some things next time. I have a friend who is a pianist. We don't attend each other's concerts or performances as an audience, it's like an internal agreement 😂