Between applause and jeer

IMG_20211223_173830.jpg

How do you receive the compliments and the critiques? Maybe they don't even affect you... or are you the hostage of applause and boos? In the life of musicians, being placed in the spotlight is a normal and very common occurrence. But many times, we experiment that we feel freer when no one is looking at us and saying anything, being free from applauses and jeers. We think that it is better for our life and the life of others. We enjoy and breathe deeply, having our heads high and having our feet on the ground. We like when everything is just smiles and a good mood, being away from concerns and complex issues, but we of course should not forget that life is full of unpleasant aspects too.

When people talk to us, they use words that can provoke some feelings of admiration and applause, but also those words and critiques that we receive as boos. We should not ignore the reality that we live in. It is not about always feeling satisfied and fattening our egos, as once we realise we are not flawless, deep deception takes the domination over our lives. We should somehow know how to balance compliments and critiques to feel really calm.

There are critiques that are said by the others with bad intentions, so we better know (have the intuition and knowledge) to filter them. The critique that serves for improvement is that we should accept with pleasure. With the will to progress. We should not be hypnotized by the applause, nor paralysed by the negative comments. Not wanting to see reality is not something that will benefit us in the long run. However, finding solutions and overcoming the issues is the way to go. In the world of music is the same.

There are some musical pieces, that are so famous now but you would not imagine that once they were very strongly criticised. Refused from the audience. For example, the premiere of the opera The Barber of Seville by Gioachino Rossini was ruined. The fans of another composer, Giovanni Paisiello who had written an opera using the same libretto came to the premiere of Rossini's piece and booed. There were shouting the name of Paisello, with was a total disaster for the concert that night.

source of the video on YouTube

And not just this opera had a bad first performance (well, acceptance from the audience). For example, The Marriage of Figaro by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was not received well either on the world premiere. But if you press the play button on the video you will immediately recognize the tune. It is so famous nowadays that it is hard to believe it was not accompanied by applause in the beginning. Maybe Mozart had to leave his composing after it? Of course, not.

source of the video on YouTube

If we continue with operas, Giacomo Puccini is a name that is very present in the world of that genre. One of the beautiful operas, Madama Butterfly had a similar fate. The rehearsals for the world premiere of the opera started in January of 1904 and were held behind closed doors, the music stayed in absolute secrecy. The singers were not allowed to take the music scores home. Two weeks before the premiere the tickets were sold out and everyone was waiting for a great success. However, when the day came, the attitude of the listeners was very hostile. The premiere became a flop that has never been seen before in an opera world premiere.

Some of the singers were very upset, cried and promised that will never sing this opera in Italy. The composer was very angry and annoyed but was convinced that the root of this bad experience was an enemy who decided to ruin his work. Anyway, Puccini accepted some of the critiques and arranged and changed some of the parts of the opera. The second performance, with the changed version, was a great success. Here comes one of the most famous arias from the opera, in performace of Maria Callas:

source of the video on YouTube

One night in Paris, in 1913 brought a complete deception to the Russian composer Igor Stravinsky. The premiere of his The Rite of Spring was an absolute disaster. The public was divided into two camps. Some shouted and whistled, laughed at the music and others protested and tried to ask for silence from others in order to hear something. As this was ballet, the dancers could not listen to the music, to the uproar that came from the audience. The work could not be finished, and Igor Stravinsky left with tears in his eyes. However, the very next year, the same work was received with a lot of success, in solo concert version.

source of the video on YouTube

One century later, this opening can still be considered a weird one. If you have patience and time, listen and watch the whole video (hint, from 3:45 there is a surprise compared to the mystical beginning). If you want to be honest, let me know how would you react if you had been in the audience at the theatre in 1913?

Although our feelings rely many times on the reaction of other people, maybe they are not always right. We receive complaints and bad critiques, who knows for what reason. Is someone being jealous? Does someone want to ruin your work for its own benefit? Or just want to help us and guide us, and we improve? We better turn on our radars and learn how to filter them, the applause and boos and learn from them to have peace in mind.

The cover photo is a detail from a painting I saw in one exibition. The artist is Belén Quintana, and the title of the painting Liberation.

Slide3.png

Sort:  

Ok this post has been an incredible experience at the audiovisual level 🙌😀💛, I must start with the last play, that was insane, but it is the most spectacular thing I've seen at the level of dance, theatricality and symphonic music; no doubt if I had been there I would have applauded madly, I remember the first time I went to see a play of this style, I was small, I was amazed despite the complexity of what I saw 💞!!!

I was also able to see the first two works when I was a child, performed by the Venezuelan Symphony Orchestra in a huge theater, there were many people there that night and the applause echoed the place 🔥🔥🔥!

I loved Puccini's Opera and even more the voice of the interpreter, I had never heard that work, I found it beautiful 😍!!!!

The videos are very cool and I like the story behind each piece and author with respect to the central theme of your post. We are never prepared for criticism, because the problem is that people don't know how to criticize, even with good intentions; words should be well used and thought out so as not to damage the integrity of the person being criticized, but not everyone is aware of that.

I accept them, that is the key to our growth, but I have learned to read them mainly from the emotion of the person who issues the criticism, I know who is telling me something from his heart or from his egolatry.

If I'm honest, I don't know how I would react if I get booed in public, it must be the most frustrating experience a musician can live, in fact it has happened to many artists in modern music, some fight, others leave the stage and a few finish their show as it really should be; but it must be something that marks the career and projection of someone who is completely dedicated to it.

I recently read a phrase so true that said: flatter in public, criticize in private, I consider this something ethical and prudent and applies to everything we do in life ✅

My dear @mipiano this post has fascinated me, it was a fascinating reading and melody for my ears, I needed to hear something like that without a doubt... by the way, the painting is great, the green looks like the silhouette of a shark and seems caged, but the cage is cracked, that's why she called it that way, you could tell she was anguished to get out of a situation that overwhelmed her and she succeeded, apparently that cage gave her the key to grow and prosper.... psychoanalysis came to the surface 😅.

Thank you for this class on music history and the impact of music on listeners, it was great, congratulations 💖!!!!

I send you a big hug... You Classical 😁, I mean.... You Rockkkkkk!!!! 👍😉🔥🎙️🎸🎹🥁🎻🎶❤️🌟🥂💥💫💯

I am really grateful and amazed you went through my whole post, with all the videos and listened to them 🙌🙌

I have the feeling that I can not even write a reply to this comment that will be any close to your detailed comment :D

We are never prepared for criticism, because the problem is that people don't know how to criticize, even with good intentions; words should be well used and thought out so as not to damage the integrity of the person being criticized, but not everyone is aware of that.

Coming from you and knowing your profession, I can't agree more with this. Many times people indeed do not know how to give a critique, so it comes out awkward and sometimes hurts the person who is receiving it. Even if it had good intentions.

And the painting, oh, I didn't realize it looks like a shark. Indeed, it resembles a bit. But it is just a small part of the painting, it is not the whole image :D
The lines are like a cage, a broken one, that is how I also see it :)) and the silhouette walking away from it...

Haha, yes, in this post I Classical and not Rock 😆
100% true :D

Thanks so much for this amazing comment @fernanblog 🙌

I remember that a long time ago, I would care what others thought. Good reviews, bad reviews... Colleagues and audience. It was hard, and it was always impossible to please everyone.

At some point, I just did whatever I wanted. I feel more free in my playing, I have more fun... And my colleagues appear to enjoy playing with me. So, maybe that was the trick all along? Just screw around and enjoy myself, and don't care about what others thought... Because, all of us wanted to do the same!

As to how I react to other performances... Well, I only know too well how tricky it can be when you are getting a horrific reaction or a piece going off the rails. In any other situation, it could be me up there... So, I'm quite sympathetic, regardless of whether the interpretation or composition appeals to me or not. There usually is something in there that will be interesting to me...

I find that those who are most judgemental are the ones that fear judgement in return. One doesn't get ahead by hoping that others fail... Well, that is an unhealthy way to live!

PS, I hate talking with the audience and colleagues after a performance... Unless they are talking about anything that isn't the concert!

One doesn't get ahead by hoping that others fail... Well, that is an unhealthy way to live!

Absolutely agree with this. Also, judging your college, you are not becoming better.
Many times we see people comparing themselves with others that did not achieve great results, so they could shine more. But it is not the way to go.

Hahaha, I understand that you don't like talking about the performance once it is done. Maybe it is good just in a constructive way, to improve some things next time. I have a friend who is a pianist. We don't attend each other's concerts or performances as an audience, it's like an internal agreement 😂

Thanks for introducing me to an area of the musoc-verse I normally do not visit. And gladly accepted the The Rite of Spring challenge, the Beltane ritual was indeed a mystical event for many young people in ancient times. Probably the biggest festivity of the year, and dating back to well to we probably don't know when.
But how would a person from 1913 see this? Hard to say if they would know their mystic classics they would be static, if they were from the modern upper class that tried to explain everything with sense and logic...this would be a dramatic disturbing piece.
But I enjoyed it a lot with my Sunday morning coffee😋

The Rite of Spring came to your home to accompany your Sunday morning coffee time.
Cool, and even better as we are not anymore in 1913 :D

Indeed if only this wasnt the hottest spring in 20 years it would have been close to perfect😁

off-topic, if I am not mistaken, I read in one of your personal story posts that you moved to Spain. You are still here around?
We had so much rain this spring on the Mediterranean coast, one of the rainiest springs as people remember ( though, I am not sure how their memory thing is working lol)

Yes I am still here, but over here the rain was not too crazy....you know how Spanish people always exaggerate about the weather. But it was colder than the last couple of years and all of a sudden this Ola de calor making it the hottest spring in 20 years.
I thought I was safe here, but even Andalusia is not out of the reach of the climate change monster we created.

Oh yes, now we are all melting... Still better than in Andalusia, but warm it is.

Chocolate is melting in the house... I have to take care and make it disappear as soon as possible not to go to waste 😂

Stravinsky's Rite of Spring will always and forever be the object of my nightmares lol.

No wonder it started a riot. How bizzare

Anyway, that piece alongside with Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique, are significantly the most terrifying pieces of music I have ever heard.

You are absolutely right though, we shouldn't let the pessimism and scrutiny of other people bring us down. We should instead: ignore them, rise above it all, appreciate ourselves for what we are and what we have achieved, and then be the best versions of ourselves.

You know all these failures reminds me of the time Rachmaninoff let those horrible debut remarks of his first Piano Concerto put him into depression. A shame because I actually really liked that piece! Almost, as much as I adore the second one, if not even more!

You are right about Berlioz, haha, the fourth and fifth movements are interesting :D

The fourth is thought to be written while he had a trip taking opium, oh and the fifth when the Dies Irae motif appears is epic. So, an object of your nightmares is well said :D

Yeah, we should not let the negative critique discourage us, but it is not that easy, right? I mean, it's a constant fight, not to forget that and if we can learn from it, take it as a lesson. If it is not meant as a constructive critique, let it go (but again, not always easy)

Rachmaninoff - the same adoration for the second piano concerto 🙌

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation post with a share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.



The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at Hive Vote!

Hmmm I've never really thought there were music or musicians who faced such criticism, how did they really handle them?

The movies I've seen where such happened, the managers would find ways for the musicians don't get to see or hear about some of the criticism 😅 I guess it really does happen in reality.

I don't really know how I'll react to such critics from people but I'm very sure that most critics happen for improvements and most of them are false.

This was a good read for me and those songs aren't so bad to me though 😊 thank goodness they overcame the critics.

Hmmm I've never really thought there were music or musicians who faced such criticism, how did they really handle them?

You see, they handled it somehow and overcame the bad reception from the premieres. Though it is huge pressure on a composer or a musician, as we are constantly under "critiques". Positive ones included.

There is also a number of artists that can not handle well the bad reception of their works. Plenty of cases where it ends in leaving the profession, depression, and even suicide. As they (we all) are always expected something, and the bigger artist you are, bigger the expectations are.
Even self-expectations!

Hmm that is true, too bad that some end up committing suicide... That is so not the solution.

Self expectations! How does that go with critics from public? 🤔

Wow.

The timing of this is uncanny. I JUST wrote a post with similar sentiment.

https://ecency.com/mentalhealth/@clairemobey/mommy-s-mental-health-chapter-de21d7fe58b5a

Sometimes people just aren't ready or project their own emotions of inadequacy onto performers. We're soft targets.

I've read a lot of Brene Brown and worked a lot on dealing with my own shame, and to quote her briefly:

"If you're not also in the arena, getting your ass kicked, then frankly, I'm not interested in your feedback."

The quote comes from a Theodore Roosevelt speech:

"It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."

To add to your list, Producers hated " Bohemian Rhapsody" too.

What a coincidence @clairemobey !!!

"If you're not also in the arena, getting your ass kicked, then frankly, I'm not interested in your feedback."

Hmm, I should use sometimes this quote and apply it before any performance :D Thanks for bringing it 😇

And yes, I know that Bohemian Rhapsody was not that accepted by the producers in the beginning. At least, if I remember well from the movie :D

(sorry for this delayed reply)

They're brave words but it takes more than just saying them. I battle every time I perform but every time it has been with it. The good, the bad and the ugly. And yes I've totally watched that movie at least 9 times 🤣

it takes more than just saying them

It does, but once we have at last consciousness of what we have to focus on, it is easier to work on ourselves :))

Because of bad criticism I tend to hide my words sometimes and this affects me for I’d rather be anonymous and express my true thoughts and emotions, So I won’t be judged, laughed at or be seen in a different light because of my views

But you should not always hide your thoughts. It depends of course on the situation too, the key is probably to find the balance in when and to what extent to express your thoughts and emotions.

Those stories of the famous composers being booed and heckled are crazy. I wonder if some people actually didn't like the music or if there were politics involved at the time - like grudges between people in the industry or competition or something like that?

Interesting stories nonetheless

I think it is more the second reason... Although we can have different opinions and musical tastes, some of these compositions just could not be that bad in the ears of some people?
Anyway, they were successful later and entered the history :))🎶

Fans of another composer, Giovanni Paisiello, who had written an opera with the same libretto, came to the premiere of Rossini's piece and booed. They were shouting Paisello's name, with total disaster for that evening's concert.

These are the most vindictive fans and audience 😂😂. It really is amazing and interesting to be able to appreciate those stumbling moments of those great classics of amazing music.
What will be left for musicians like me ? 😥😂🎼🎆💯🎵

These are the most vindictive fans and audience

Yeah, but how interesting that this even exists. Why people are doing this? If you have a favourite musician, why do you undervalue the other musicians? Your favourite one will not become better and more valued if you ruin others. And this is not the case just for the musicians, I mean you can apply the same formula to many other situations. One will not become better and bigger if he belittles others.

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 14500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 15000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day

Wow...i think I have been enlightened, I barely know most of these classical musicians but Mozart is a popular name and he faced that too..Wow..Even in modern day musical world it still happens often done on twitter amd turned into musical war..A trend that has become a norm

Oh yeah, it was not happening just in the past, you are right. It is the same nowadays too