You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A call from a friend that led me to Glenn Gould ...

Seems like a fair thing to do to ask a colleague for advice while doing something that feels overwhelming. Especially, in the case of music. Having another perspective helps us ease into repertoire that's challenging and also offers important feedback about things to get better. I'll try to listen to some of these interpretations. I like the whole summary and facts about each one of them. Those hands aren't only for piano, but do a great job writing as well. Missed coming to your posts. But it wasn't entirely my fault. 😅

I think one should try to learn to play in a way that pleases oneself. A recognized Cuatro player and composer on Traditional Venezuelan Music once gave me that advice. He said "If you're willing to spend time learning to play, do it in a way you find it interesting. Challenge yourself to become better in your own accord." I guess that's the way it goes around with any genre of music. But I bet in classical music it is sort of a complicated thing to do. I don't know much about how it works, but my educated guess is that there are conventions and other treaties to explain how a player should perform according to the music they are playing.

The closest reference I can use for this is an example of singing Gregorian Chants. One is supposed to make melodic lines flat without any vibrato. Something that is very difficult to do with your voice, but it is the style of that kind of music.

Sort:  

Yes, it is having a feedback, but even if I would not say many things, just being able to play in front of someone who he knows well can help. I don't know if I wrote this well 😅, it's like a good rehearsal before a performance to a lot of people.

Aw, bertrayo, thank you for your nice words 😇 My hands follow some commands that my not so great mind gives them, sometimes successfully, and many times not so successfully 🤣 Great you could come, finally some internet that you have 🤘

You have received a nice advise then, Challenge yourself to become better in your own accord is a great one. 👌

Yes, it is having a feedback, but even if I would not say many things, just being able to play in front of someone who he knows well can help. I don't know if I wrote this well 😅, it's like a good rehearsal before a performance to a lot of people.

Oh, I got this alright. Yes, easing oneself before a concert is also important. I bet there's a lot of stress going on with all the preparation.

Aw, bertrayo, thank you for your nice words 😇 My hands follow some commands that my not so great mind gives them, sometimes successfully, and many times not so successfully 🤣 Great you could come, finally some internet that you have 🤘

Hey, you do some great things. That coordination is a sign of a great mind. And yes, it's good to have internet! 😅

You have received a nice advise then, Challenge yourself to become better in your own accord is a great one. 👌

It is a great thing. Though I must say it's hard to keep up with making instruments and playing them. Both things seem to be a bit on the opposite side of the spectrum, but I also think it's a thing I need to get used to.

Though I must say it's hard to keep up with making instruments and playing them.

I suppose we should hear something from you playing, it has been a long time without that... ;)

I was preparing something before the whole internet deal. A video is up to come, but it isn't anything fancy.

I'll see if I can get something more interesting.