From The Neighbours Point Of View : My Journey Through Music.

pexels-any-lane-5727883.jpgimage source

Hi friends

This is my first time here and I'm very grateful to be here at this moment of my emotional instability following a heartbreak from my girlfriend. In moments like this what gives me reassurance, hope and inspiration is music hence i considers myself very privileged to be here this moment to express my experiences in music. My musical experience is filled with ambivalence which i shall convey here through my writing.

pexels-cottonbro-10252152.jpgimage source

Are you a musician or have a neighbour that is a musician?

I was born in a musician family my father being a pastor and a pianist and my mother a good alto singer,uncle Simon that stayed with us during my teen age also learnt piano from my dad (pastor onwukwe) growing up and watching my dad and uncle play piano at home during their rehearsals with the company of my mother giving them voice, it used to be a very interesting and exciting moment to me, hence the enthusiasm sprouts in me.

pexels-marta-wave-6437559.jpgimage source

At age 10, i started playing piano because after Sunday worship each Sunday i would stay back with the leader of the band session to learn, being the pastors son the band leader was happy to have me learn under him, so he painstakingly taught me piano very well. My dad, my uncle and mom usually have their rehearsals every Saturday at 7pm, on this fateful day, haven learnt piano without my dad's knowledge, i went to their rehearsal partition at 6:45pm same Saturday and started playing piano.

Upon hearing the sweet melody, my dad walked in with a smile thinking it was my uncle that was playing, it was so incredible that i could notice his amazement through his countenance, well he was very pleased to have his son being a pianist even without being taught by him, he paused me and asked where i had learnt to play piano and who taught me, with joy i told him how i had watched him and my uncles rehearsals each Saturday until when i approached our church band leader who taught me the A, B, C, D of piano playing and he was very pleased with me, that was the beginning of my journey in music. Our church was secluded kind of from neighboring buildings hence i never had or notice a musician within my neighborhood.

Does someone in your close family play an instruments?

Yes, my Dad pastor onwukwe and uncle Simon plays piano and they are very good at it.

Is it difficult to listen many times the practicing sessions?

Oh No! No!! No!!! Listening to my daddy, mom and uncle Simon's practicing session was what i longed for, like praying for Saturdays to come faster so i can listen to their practicing session,the melody they produce can bring down angels from heaven, its worthy of note that it was during their practicing session that the burning quest for music started in me, so in essence i enjoyed listening to the practicing session.

Is it nice, do you find joy in that?

It is not only nice but sweet and uplifting, the joy is worth it and very satisfying, i get more emotional seeing my audience shading tears at the peak of my piano. Music is life!

Did you have some funny moments?

pexels-antoni-shkraba-production-8040849.jpgimage source

Its undeniable fact that no active musician without a funny moment, i remember in 2011 when a church in Abuja Nigeria invited me to play piano on that year's Christmas day, it was so funny when many girls was just dancing around me, being in the church setting i never showed interest in any of them rather i was focused with my piano while my mind was on one particular lady very tall, slim and fair in complexion infact she was my spec.

Interestingly, after the session the lady in question walked straight to me with her name and mobile number written on a paper she handed it over to me while she walked away she said "please call me for i love you for the well played piano" it was so funny to me that our mind was walking in same direction, another funny part was when other ladies came and begged to have a photograph with me, i felt like a celebrity.

Have someone ever complained to you if you study your musical instrument?

Yes my dad, uncle Simon and our band leader who taught me piano complained a little shortly after i finished learning, there after i became a guru in piano.

Maybe you are not a musician,either have a musician neighbour.. But you like to listen to loud music?

I am a musician but do not have a musician neighbour and never had, yes i love loud music especially when am down in emotions, all that would matters to me would be the sound and lyrics of the music.

8.what was the wildest thing you made in your flat bothering the neighbours.

Well increasing the volume my music in an odd hour, on 25th of this month my girlfriend broke up with me, in that heartbreak, since i don't drink nor smoke all i did was to loud my music, the song i was playing was sang by "Eamon titled Fuck It" i put my system on repeat so the song was just playing repeatedly.

While i slept off until around 11pm my neighbor knocked at my door continuously until i woke up, reduced the music then went to him, he expressed his displeasure over the loud music at that hour, i apologized, narrated my predicament therein he had a paradigm shift.

What is your favourite music you listen to very loudly?

My favourite music i listen often and loud is sang by "CELINE DION titled MY HEART WILL GO ON "it makes me emotional always, i love the song, if am to rate i will classify it as the best of Celine dion.

When I'm missing my girlfriend, i like to play these songs; Time After Time by Cyndi Lauper, Hero by Enrique Iglesias, Wait For Me by Johnny drill, When I Need You, The Power Of Love,If Walls Could Talk by Celine Dion. But when am broken just like now after the recent breakup the only song that makes sense to me is Fuck it by Eamon.

Has someone called the police?

Well, some of the times i loud my music at odd hours actually constitute nuisance that can warrant neighbors calling police, but for the fact that we understand and tolerate each other non of them has called police for me.

What do your neighbors listen to, and do you like it?

My neighbors listen to different kinds of music, ranging from, Country music, Hip-hop, oldies and gospel music basically and i love and enjoy it with them from my room.

Thank you all for listening my musical story.

Sort:  

Congratulations @henry.ndubuisi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It's really awesome to read your experience and how you became a guru in piano. It's seem music runs in the family. Sorry about your heart break, I pray for strength to over come.

I am so sorry you are going through a tough time emotionally. I love that music can speak to us in both the highs and lows of our lives. Things will get better even if it doesn't feel like it at the moment. Until then continue to derive solace in your piano playing and use music as a catharsis for healing the wounds. Just mind the neighbours 😉thank you for sharing your post in Dreemport. I think I would have missed it if you had not as I am not otherwise active in C/Q-Inspired community. All the best and I hope to see more of your writing being shared in Dreemport.

sam.jpg
Upvoted on behalf of the VYB Curation project. thank you for using the community tag for your good content.

It is nice to have something to fall back into when things or times get rough. I am sorry about your breakup with your girlfriend... It's amazing how you started playing piano without anyone actually teaching you. That's brilliance in my opinion, just watching someone play and being able to do it yourself. Amazing!

Found my way here via Dreemport

Music will always be there wherever we need it.
It was so nice reading you musical story.
And about the heartbreak I hope you good now.?
It was nice reading your post.

What a nice story about how you took your first steps learning to play the piano and surprising your dad with your learnings. He must have been very surprised and pleased.

so funny when many girls was just dancing around me

The church is a new kinda real-life Tinder? LOL

It is such a privilege to be part of a family where music is number one and they have passion for it. That alone inspired you to become one which you are doing great. Sorry about the heartbreak and I hope you find the better girl for you. I came via @dreemport

Great that you have this deep love to MUSIC because she will always stay at your side and carry you through all up and downs your life brings :-) wish you get real well soon
@dreemport sent me