You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Brahms's "Sapphische Ode" Caused Me To Remember and Reconsider the Possibilities of Love

in Q Inspired-by-Music11 months ago (edited)

As is so often the case, I have fallen behind in my Hive reading. Your title stirred a dim memory, and as soon as I began to listen to the music I made a dive for my piano books. Sure enough, Sapphische Ode is in the song anthology I used when I took a voice class in college. Thanks for reminding me about that beautiful song.

My youngest daughter is 31 and a single mother. The baby's father has the personality and lifestyle of a tom cat. Daughter has been on a dating site or two, and has met a few fellows. All they want is sex and somebody to do their laundry, dishes, shopping, and cleaning. What's in it for her? Nothing, not even a modicum of security, because they don't even want to commit to marriage. Are there any decent men left? I wonder. So does she.

Sort:  

Dating sites are not all there is ... encourage your daughter to discover her interests and passions for service, and meet men organically as she is enjoying her life as much as possible, doing positive things with your grandchild. Dating sites corral lazy men ... good men are out enjoying life in positive ways and are in the habit of service.

I am 42, never married, no children. I discovered what your daughter did at about age 16 because of what was going on in the neighborhood, so I focused on my art and my community service (even Hive is just an extension of both). In the years since I have met a lot of good men -- timing just not right for marriage, but most of those still living are still friends who I do portions of life and service with, and who have been good friends to me as well. So, I do not despair -- I enjoy my life and my service, and I tend to meet good people in the process ... you notice that I met you here on Hive. I am not saying that good men are the majority, and that at this moment in history that they are easy to locate, but such men are still out there.

Above all things, if she knows the Lord, tell her to pray that He reveal His will while strengthening her to do it, step by step. The core relationship that gives me stability as a single woman is mine with HIM ... and that would have to be the case for me to be desired for marriage by a man who also puts the Lord first.