You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's time to only vote for #HIVE Witnesses who run their full node on ...

in DBuzz3 years ago (edited)

I'm running my witness nodes on mainstream hardware (in the PC cases connected to the screen) - that's the whole point.

The point is that a suitably speced "desktop PC" can be a "witness server" or even API Node server.

The top box & right screen is my brand new backup witness CPU Intel i5 8400 6 core, 24Gb RAM (bought extra 16Gb this afternoon) and 450 GB of SSD (250Gb NVME + 3 x 60Gb SATA). Running Ubuntu 20.04.

The bottom box and left screen is currently my primary witness but planned to become API node.
It is CPU Intel 6800k 6/12 core 128Gb RAM, 3TB SSD (2 x 1TB NVMe RAID0 + 500 GB NVMe + 500GB SATA)
Running Windows 10 Home with witness running in Ubuntu 20.04 in Windows Subsystem for Linux 2 (WSL2).

I built both these machines myself with my bare hands.

Only by owning and being able to build and upgrade the physical hardware can we ensure independence from service providers that may ban us.

Also its far cheaper than renting servers. You can buy parts and build for less than 9 months rent in most cases.

Here are some pics from inside.
img_2900.jpg

Backup

img_2903.jpg

Primary

Sort:  
  • Wow, I bookmarked this! 😀

And I will run your post by @nathansenn the next time I talk to him.

Just repackage the comment.. we can start a campaign for using personal hardware for Witnesses 😎👋🎉

Posted via D.Buzz

Thanks for the spruiking my witness, Chris.
I'm going to do a witness update shortly which will include the above.
I just got the script to automatically fail-over to my backup witness working.

Awesome, and yes, we need more people running their own Witness Hardware.

  • Like You ✔️

Good job 🙂👍

Posted via D.Buzz

nice! hive needs this.

Yes, and badly, before it is too late ✔️

Posted via D.Buzz

So far..

  1. @apshamilton
  2. @someguy123

Are the two Witnesses to step forward with evidence of owning their Witness Server Hardware.

A #NotYourHardwareNotYourWitness would be a good campaign on #HIVE imo @theycallmedan ✔️

https://d.buzz/#/@privex/c/re-chrisrice-qmxzwe

Posted via D.Buzz