You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @dbuzz just sent out a Witness Vote for @hextech. - Main reason for v ...

in DBuzz3 years ago

While I agree that you should own your hardware used to host your Hive Witness full node, I believe that an acceptable alternative for hosting your node on large corporations is to choose a hosting provider that is small yet has a great record, and those not yet used by other Hive nodes. 🤔

Sort:  

Distributing between multiple providers is probably one of the best things we can do right now.

That sounds good ✔️

P.S. Excellent feedback @savvyplayer, if you happen to have a list of small hosting companies with good records, it might help 🙂

Posted via D.Buzz

I know a few small hosting companies with affordable quality hosting (shared and VPS) and very positive feedback from multiple review sites. However, for running a full a Hive node, it is recommended to have at least 20 GB RAM, 350 GB local SSD, among others, and those small companies I know can't support servers that big. 🤔🤓

350 GB is definitely too small to starup a witness node now. The block_log file will shoot past that size probably by April. Thats with 0 growth and hive staying having the exact same transaction size as now. I'm about to order another SSD for my server so I can get more storage on it to not have to worry about the size limitation.

I took it from openhive.network's GitHub page at https://github.com/openhive-network/hive/blob/master/doc/exchangequickstart.md edited 4 months ago. 🤔 Based on your reply, it is already outdated. 😅

@chrisrice

We grow at about a rate of 1 GB every 4-5 days.

Wow 😬

Posted via D.Buzz

Yeah, I think our Witness ran into some issues like this @nathansenn.

  • We'll try to dedicate a lot more time for our Witness before the end of Q1 👍

Ah okay, so #HIVE has some hefty requirements I guess.

  • Too hefty for those companies at least ✔️

    Posted via D.Buzz