Minimalist Mountainscape (Oil Pastel Painting)

in Discovery-it13 days ago

20240406_142314.jpg
"Minimalist Mountainscape"
Oil Pastel / Oil on Paper, 40cm x 30cm

My paintings are based on reference photos from my collection, usually from Pixabay and other free sources, unless otherwise indicated.

Wenn nicht anders vermerkt, basieren meine Bilder auf Referenzfotos aus meiner Sammlung, normalerweise von Pixabay und anderen kostenlosen Quellen.

Sort:  

This is beautiful. I am still practicing painting some mountainscapes but still not confident.

Thank you. 😀 I doubt confidence will ever appear, regardless of practice. Every painting seems to have its "ugly phase", where I want to just toss it in the garbage. The trick is to go past that and trust in the process. The process is just craft, not art, and it improves with knowledge and practice. Craft can be tought and learned,and trusting it is easy, because it's logical and you see it work for other people, e.g. in Youtube tutorials.

I am not confident painting a mountain, rock, and water surfaces or reflections but I need more practice for sure. I agree with the ugly phase. Haha. I did a cliff painting and was doubtful if I did it correctly with the texture.

I noticed you like painting with gouache. If you want an excellent gouache teacher, I can recommend James Gurney. He paints a lot in a small sketchbook and explains things really well:

https://www.youtube.com/@JamesGurney

It's just now I learned about gouache. I never heard of this medium years ago, what a shame. But I enjoy using it. Thanks for the link I heard about James Gurney but haven't check his links. :D

!invest_vote !LUV !PIZZA !wine !WITZ !LOLZ !Hugh

Danke 😀

!BEER

Danke 😀

!BEER

Danke 😀

!BEER

Danke 😀

!invest_vote !LUV !PIZZA !wine !WITZ !LOLZ !Hugh

indextrader24, janasilver sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/5) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

wulff-media, indextrader24 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/5) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

The simplicity of it is a large part of its appeal! A good example that sometimes "less is more."

=^..^=

Indeed. Thank you. 😀