You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minimalist Mountainscape (Oil Pastel Painting)

in Discovery-it • last month

Thank you. 😀 I doubt confidence will ever appear, regardless of practice. Every painting seems to have its "ugly phase", where I want to just toss it in the garbage. The trick is to go past that and trust in the process. The process is just craft, not art, and it improves with knowledge and practice. Craft can be tought and learned,and trusting it is easy, because it's logical and you see it work for other people, e.g. in Youtube tutorials.

Sort:  

I am not confident painting a mountain, rock, and water surfaces or reflections but I need more practice for sure. I agree with the ugly phase. Haha. I did a cliff painting and was doubtful if I did it correctly with the texture.

I noticed you like painting with gouache. If you want an excellent gouache teacher, I can recommend James Gurney. He paints a lot in a small sketchbook and explains things really well:

https://www.youtube.com/@JamesGurney

It's just now I learned about gouache. I never heard of this medium years ago, what a shame. But I enjoy using it. Thanks for the link I heard about James Gurney but haven't check his links. :D