Good Deed Remembered

in Actifit9 months ago

Once again, I forgot to photograph yesterday's activities. But you're not going to want pictures of me getting inebriated in Idle village, are you? And as you see from my step count, there wasn't much to photograph. So I'll go back to an earlier August. When I worked on my daughter's long-neglected garden. As she and my son-in-law tackled the long-neglected house.

Brutal Bushwhacking


I had to suppress my natural sloth, and buzz on with some bushwhacking. Because this garden hadn't been touched for years. But I was out in the summer sunshine, enjoying myself. Which is more than I can say for the poor kids who had to virtually rebuild a house that nobody else would consider.

Anyway, I remember feeling a great sense of satisfaction at this stage. Because although I was only about half way, the end was in sight. By the way, before I started, that hedge almost reached the apple tree. But I tackled the hedges before starting on the "lawn".

Autumn Appreciation


Moving forward to Plot Night*, it's time to enjoy the garden. Here, you can see the full extent. But not the pathway leading down to the River Stowe.

When I first went down there, I laughed as my daughter called it a river. I might have understood trickle. Or even stream. But a river? Never! Until later that year, after the rains, and the River Stowe showed itself where the fence meets the privet hedge near the third apple tree.

Apparently, at that time of year, Graham next door goes to town in his kayak!


#### *Plot Night Plot Night aka Bonfire Night is celebrated on 5th November. Though these days, it tends to be a prior or following weekend. I tried to determine if it's a UK or English tradition, but couldn't find anything conclusive. Interestingly, the [Metro](https://metro.co.uk/2022/10/29/is-bonfire-night-only-in-the-uk-17662141/) informed me: >Guy Fawkes Night is celebrated in the UK, South Africa, New Zealand, parts of Northern Ireland and the Canadian providence of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Metro gives no indication about where it thinks Northern Ireland is located.

I've enjoyed Bonfire Night since I was a kid. Especially progging beforehand.

Two questions:

  1. Do you celebrate Plot Night in your locality?

  2. If so, do you go progging for fuel, or chumping, or something else?



This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


02/09/2023
4861
Gardening, Home Improvement

Sort:  

Great post, yes we celebrate 'Guy Fawkes Night' (fireworks night) over here in the UK. I'd never heard the term 'progging for fuel' although, that's exactly what we do, used to be a case of going around the local warehouses looking for used pallets, they make for a nice bonfire! Seems the tradition is dying off a little, not so many bonfires around these days!

I remember, as a teenager, meeting other people from around the country. And having a discussion about the lead-up to 5th November. When we would go progging. Which was usually collecting branches from trimmed or felled trees. But people expected the tradition. So we'd often get asked to clear away discarded furniture etc. So it happened all over the country. But West Yorkshire was the only place I can recall it being called progging. Others said chumping. Yet others merely remembered, like you, no particular term other than "collecting wood".

With modern concerns about health and safety, I can understand why the tradition is dying off. Certainly as far as yard and street fires that were common in my day. I never personally experienced anything other than a minor singe. But the news was always full of disaster stories from badly managed bonfires.