Shipley To Thackley Walk

in Actifit8 months ago

Yesterday's weather was far too wet for photography. So I got soaked to the skin taking my grandsons to school. But I had good memories of last week's walk to the nearby village of Thackley.

Setting off from the Windhill area of Shipley, a familiar loud noise draws my attention to the railway line below. As a train pulls wagons of aggregate mined from the hills of upper Airedale. But there's only around 20 wagons. Compared to the 50 or so that we counted as kids.

But as I turn to climb the path into the trees, I hear a second train. And I realise that the engines currently in service probably lack the pulling power of earlier engines. Very much like me!

Woodland Walkway

Turning from the view across the valley of my old hometown, Baildon, I continued to follow the path of the old railway line. Long since closed during the Beeching era, this is now a haven for nature. With an easy uphill walk.

This is one of my favourite local places. And it's hard to imagine that a few hundred yards away lies one of the busiest roads in the area. As I watch birds and squirrels. While eating freshly foraged blackberries.

Monumental Engineering

This is primarily a woodland walk. But there are still occasional reminders of the heroic manual efforts of earlier generations. Intent on driving railways through endless tunnels. And along precarious hills.

Until now, it has been hard to recognise the pathways as an old rail track. But now the route widens and it's easier to imagine trains pulling up this hill.

Thackley

On reaching Thackley, the footpath ends. And though traces of the old railway continue, they are mostly inaccessible. So I continue along urban footways until I suddenly meet...

The Thackley Gnomes

After the quick pause for a photo, I'm back walking for the main event - a refreshing pint of Tetleys in the garden of The Commercial Inn.



_This report was published via Actifit app ([Android](https://bit.ly/actifit-app) | [iOS](https://bit.ly/actifit-ios)). Check out the original version [here on actifit.io](https://actifit.io/@keithtaylor/actifit-keithtaylor-20230920t073422545z)_


19/09/2023
6632
Daily Activity, House Chores, Moving Around Office, Photowalking, Walking
Sort:  

Hello. Nice that you are investing in the Lucoin token, I am sending you 0,5Lu from my private wallet 🙂 There is currently a pre-sale, if you transfer a minimum of 10 HIVE (in a one-time transaction) to the @hive-lu account, it will be converted into Lu according to the current daily distribution rate. Additionally, you will receive a bonus, doubling the Lucoin token (today for transferring 10HIVE you will receive 8.96Lu and a bonus of 8.96Lu - a total of 17.92Lu).

That's a great offer, and I wish you every success with your Lucoin project. Your daily update reports have been interesting. So I've transferred all my liquid HIVE.
!CTP

!hbit

Success! You mined 1.0 HBIT on Wusang: Isle of Blaq. | tools | wallet | discord | community | daily <><

And, you found a BLAQ pearl (BLAQ)!



You can see your random number generated in the Discord server, #hbit-wusang-log channel. Check your bonus treasure tokens by entering your username at an H-E explorer or take a look at your wallet.

Read about Hivebits (HBIT) or read the story of Wusang: Isle of Blaq.

Thank you for your appreciation and congratulations on your investment, pre-sale is a good time to invest! Maybe one day you will be able to achieve King Lucoin 🤴 Thank you very much, thanks to you @hive-lu has been boosted by 11,589 HP ☺️

Loading...

Congratulations @keithtaylor! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP