Postcards from Thailand #41: I've Only Just Begun...

in Actifit9 months ago

...trying to keep on top of the gardening and having a full day free today, it was time to fight back!

Time to get out the wheelbarrow, the strimmer and the binbags and at least make an effort to get the grass down to a reasonable height.

Now when I say 'grass', what I actually mean is five-thousand varieties of assorted weeds, chopped down to an inch high, thus giving the impression of grass from a distance.

I also picked up three barrows full of bloody coconuts, one barrow full of rocks, bricks and various rubble the builders left behind and collected a whole pile of half rusted corrugated iron they'd hidden in the undergrowth right at the back of the land. No idea how I'm going to get rid of that.

The sad thing is though, I can hardly see any difference! And whats even worse than that is as soon as it rains, everything grows a foot overnight. Gardening? It's rubbish. I'd be happy with concrete or wilderness. It's all pain and no gain!

One person was happy though. The pyromanical MiL who now has a massive pile of cuttings, clippings, branches and twigs to burn.

As for me. Sadly, I've become old and slightly more respectable. Why? I now have 'gardening clothes'. Seriously. An old pair of ripped jeans, a 2020/2021 Leeds shirt that the lettering has washed off and a pair of Sports Direct boots with chaffed laces and a missing insole.

I've turned into my Grandad 😢

Gardening. Good for the step count and nothing else!

I hope everyone is having an amazing weekend and I send best wishes to you and your loved ones.

@nathen007

This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


28/07/2023
11265
Gardening, Walking

Sort:  

LOL! I have gardening shoes! And a pair of old buggered jeans I put on when doing some proper dirty stuff.

Age creeps up on you with all sorts of surprises. On saying that, I really need to get a wheel barrow. How handy would that be. I have been lugging stuff about all this time!

Wheelbarrows. Marvellous. Makes you look industrious. So many uses. Mixing concrete in, carrying stuff you didn't even know you needed carrying and the kids will love it as Daddy pushes them all around the garden.....hope your shoulder is better first though!
Have a great weekend :-)

Haha, yeah, the kids hopping in it was the first thing I thought 🤣🤣

Hey grandpa, the garden is looking fab, and staying in MIL good books is probably a wise idea 😉

I just mowed my overgrown lawn for the first time since we moved in, the smell of freshly cut grass is so refreshing.

Now you can put your feet up for the rest of the weekend with a nice cold beer

Now you can put your feet up for the rest of the weekend with a nice cold beer

Don't know the wife, do you? lol....but you're right about the smell. Its even better here actually as there are some really fragrant weeds that when they get slashed down, smell lovely!

Hope you're settling in well :-)

Gardening can be fun… I know what you mean with it looks like grass.
We have a meadow on the back yard that resembles grass when cut. Also millions of wildflowers and nasty prickly things !LOL
Hope to find the right property to buy and start gardening properly and grow some food.
Happy weekend 👋🏻😊

I have to dig the nasty prickly things out by hand as the kids all play in the garden barefoot but you've given me a great idea. I'll just call it a 'meadow' and leave it alone! Around the back is a jungle anyway and I haven't even been to the back of the 'garden' so no idea whats hiding down there!

I also managed to start my tiny first veg plot too but that's for another post ;-)

You have a great weekend too and thank you as always :-)

There you go…. A meadow it will be. The butterflies and other insects will love it.
We even found 2 frogs 🐸 in our meadow now. Hehehe 🤭

Oh there could be a lot of things in the back garden at yours… you never know 🐍

Great, looking forward to reading all about it.
Thanks a lot, you are welcome… always 👋🏻😊

I always try to use the word mucho around my Spanish-speaking friends.
It means a lot to them.

Credit: reddit
@nathen007, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of littlebee4

(2/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Loading...