How Far are you Going? 😊 My Actifit Report Card: July 19 2024

in Actifit2 months ago (edited)

How far are you going my friend ?😊
Silvertop had lots of chores to do today, and they were forecasting another hot day!🥵
That’s when I got the idea to go hike the “Gold Mine Trail” first thing this morning, in the cool Mountain air, and then work on my chores afterwards!😇
I arrived just after 9 AM at the trailhead…
One car was already parked…………….
Someone had the same idea to start early and beat the heat!😊
Today was going to be a quick hike up to Hayden Creek, about thirty minutes uphill if you hike briskly!
I rounded the last bend in the trail just before the trail crossed Hayden Creek.
I saw a man coming downhill……….
He stopped and asked how far I was going today?
“ I’m only going around the bend to the creek, today I have work to accomplish back home. “😊
“ Silvertop, I just hiked up to the cabin, I was going to do the complete loop but I’ve heard there’s been bear sightings and I’m hiking alone today! “😮
We had a nice conversation about testing out our bear spray, to see how far it can shoot Lol,…….just in case of a close encounter!😳
“ Silvertop you might catch up with me on the downhill hike I’m 82 years old! “ 😇
I snapped a few photos and within five minutes I headed downhill.
I should have asked him if I could snap his photo, he is very inspiring hiking at his age.
The “cabin” he spoke of, is several miles STRAIGHT uphill! Several years ago, Liz and I took some friends up to this cabin.
One of them had to stop and rest at five to six spots along the very steep uphill trail!😅
The “full loop” he spoke of, but skipped today, is 6.2 miles of similar difficulty!
Paparazzi Silvertop, started hiking fast going downhill, I was going to snap a photo of this very spry octogenarian!😊
Halfway down the Mountain he was nowhere in sight…………….
Maybe he took a side trail………
As I approached the entrance trailhead, I saw this not so elderly man drive away!
“ That man was so very impressive Liz, I hope I’m in as good of condition at 82 years old! “ ☺️
One more reason to keep hiking my friends!👍
Till tomorrow Silvertop Mike 😊
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


18053
Daily Activity,Hiking,House Chores

Sort:  

I have a question in my head for you for some time. What do you get with you when you go hiking?
Backpack? How big? Water? How many? Other things? How you dress up?

Thanks if you want to share my friend!

Backpack always, with water, with bear spray, and a raincoat, just in case!😇

Loading...