David Lloyd blaze review

in Actifit3 years ago

Outside of art and photography my next love is health. Mind body and spirit, healthy food, working out, meditation and yoga etc. I’ve always believed in a combination.

I used to be an avid gym goer, at least 5 times a week often more. It would help me feel motivated and fresh and get my workout done early. Over the last two years I have been working out at home with a few bits of equipment upstairs. At the beginning I joined in a friends hiit classes and that was amazing, 20 minutes in the morning and I was in the best shape maybe ever, but then when classes started returning they stopped and I was back to self motivation. I definitely could do efficient workouts but I struggle a lot with personal motivation to push myself or get my workouts done at a good time of day. Sometimes I end up working out at 10 pm which, is just not good, for me at least as then I don’t feel tired to sleep till late and it just gets me sucked into a generally bad sleep pattern. Finally after two years or more of not setting foot in a gym or even a yoga studio I am back.

They only really had blaze on today so I gave it a go. I actually know one of the creators of blaze, it was his hiit classes I did over our never ending lockdown but I’ve never done the actual David Lloyd class before.

Blaze or at least the one I did was a virtual class. So you basically work out to a video but it is a LOT more motivating than doing the same at home. The problem with working out at home, at least I find is that you can procrastinate from starting in the first place or just pause midway through for a phone call etc lol. So at least this is live and you are pushed to be fully engaged in the class. I definitely feel I did a good workout, although I definitely would have pushed myself slightly harder with a real teacher. I’m old school I still love actual people to teach my class! But I will say that as a freelancer I often gym in the middle of the day and a lot of places have a real lack of classes on from 11-5 so it is a great filler class to fit in less busy times.

The class is split into three rounds of three rounds, so you are split into groups to do the circuits. Although I was the only one today so I was in my own group of one. I guess sometimes it must be busy lol

The first round is 3 minutes on an incline treadmill, then 3 minutes weights then 3 minutes combat. After 3 minutes you move from your station to the next. Then repeat 3 times.

Is blaze my favourite class? No I think I’ve worked out harder in other classes especially the spin and the weights classes with really good instructors. Would I do it again? Yes I would, I would say it’s better than a lot of classes and if you have really good personal motivation and don’t need someone to push you then it would probably be amazing. Also I think it would be better with more class mates. It definitely lacked a bit of communal spirit and energy just being me.

Over all I definitely feel a good workout, I did do a few bar weights upstairs first so that probably adds to it. Now off to the meditation class :)

8564B634-51E1-4E8F-A4B4-651EFFB6B44C.jpeg

90D3BDC4-CAD8-477C-BA94-7FC66DEACB84.jpeg

0841B644-FCBE-4337-BA41-CE9D916B7D13.jpeg

5D184A4F-FC71-40EF-BBDF-D8077D8BEB6F.jpeg

1F387129-8BF6-420F-A1C2-F693AFE9DBB7.jpeg

1BFB9D7F-0255-45D2-AB9B-27871A1FF64B.jpeg

6D8909DF-BF2E-435B-BF1B-E4B575732A3C.jpeg

8509D1A5-34FC-4667-ACB8-DB1F09FDF4EE.jpeg